Closeout

Regular: $39.95

Closeout
$19.95

+ wishlist

  • Helps improve underwater vision safety
  • Easy to install
  • Fits X-Vision and Liquidskin masks
  • Positive bi-focal diopter lens

In Stock

Mares Bi-Focal Corrective Lens for X-Vision 2013 and before Customer Reviews

Review Summary

 
4.3

(based on 8 reviews)

75%

of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Ratings Distribution

  • 5 Stars

     

    (6)

  • 4 Stars

     

    (0)

  • 3 Stars

     

    (1)

  • 2 Stars

     

    (0)

  • 1 Stars

     

    (1)

Most Liked Positive Review

 

Great product

I’ve been looking for a good mask with cheaters to help me see up close. I fix swimming pools and this mask with 3+ lens have saved me! Thanks Mares and Leisure Pro!

VS

Most Liked Negative Review

 

Great Mask! Bi-Focal - Not so much

I love the fit of the mask but, The Bi-Focal lenses have a big flaw. The edge of the bi-focal leaves about 1/4 inch gap between the bi-focal and the nose cover. Thus my eyes lined up exactly with the edge of the bi-focal making it even harder to see the gauge. If they could take the bi-focal all the way to the edge this would be the perfect solution for those of us over 40.

Reviewed by 8 customers

Sort by

Displaying reviews 1-8

Back to top

 

Great product

By KEITH I.

from Egremont , MA, US

I’ve been looking for a good mask with cheaters to help me see up close. I fix swimming pools and this mask with 3+ lens have saved me! Thanks Mares and Leisure Pro!

 

excellent

By michael m.

from Allendale, NJ, US

Last season I used one of those stick-on soft plastic lenses, but they quickly developed air pockets at the edges and eventually came off. This lens is great - took me less than 5 minutes to install with the included prying tool. There's a video on youtube that shows the whole process - just search youtube for "mares lens replacement". The magnifying portion is out of the way when looking ahead and right where you need it when looking down on the instruments/computer/camera menu. Hoping to get away with installing just the right one as it should be sufficient.

 

I can see again

By Richard K.

from San Diego, CA, US

An easy way for near-sighted people to b e able to read gauges again. This was a relatively simple replacement that took maybe 10 minutes to complete. Best of all, it doesn't leak.

 

Good product

By JORGE C.

from San Juan, Puerto Rico, PR

Help a lot in my night dive vision. The lenses are pretty easy to install in my mares vision mask.

 

Worked like a charm

By Blue

YouTube has an excellent installation video. No instructions for installation came with the lenses.

 

Short sighted? you need this item.

By Zack

If you can't read your instruments or have poor vision you should buy this acording to you doctors precription.

 

Bifocal Lens

By DALE D.

from Harpers Ferry, WV, US

Overall very good. The line is a bit high for my personal preference, but I imagine I will get used to that. My gauges and macro view of the reef are crystal clear now.

 

Great Mask! Bi-Focal - Not so much

By mfg

I love the fit of the mask but, The Bi-Focal lenses have a big flaw. The edge of the bi-focal leaves about 1/4 inch gap between the bi-focal and the nose cover. Thus my eyes lined up exactly with the edge of the bi-focal making it even harder to see the gauge. If they could take the bi-focal all the way to the edge this would be the perfect solution for those of us over 40.

Displaying reviews 1-8

Back to top

Questions & Answers

Start typing your question and we'll check if it was already asked and answered. Learn More
Browse 10 questions Browse 10 questions and 34 answers
Why did you choose this?
Leisure Pro Store
I have a Mares X-Vision mask, black, which I purchased last year with corrective lenses. A 1.5+ on the right and a 3.0+ on the left to see which power works best for my UW photography. Now I'm getting a 3.0+ corrective lens for the right so I can best work with settings on my camera. This Mares X-Vision MID mask will allow me to practice my photography profession underwater as well as I do on dry land.<br />Thank you very much.<br />Gary
Gary S on Jan 23, 2015
I have a Mares X-Vision mask, black, which I purchased last year with corrective lenses. A 1.5+ on the right and a 3.0+ on the left to see which power works best for my UW photography. Now I'm getting a 3.0+ corrective lens for the right so I can best work with settings on my camera. This Mares X-Vision MID mask will allow me to practice my photography profession underwater as well as I do on dry land.<br />Thank you very much.<br />Gary
Gary S on Jan 23, 2015
I bought the lens but it came without any instructions how to install it.
Where can i get such instructions?
Roman S on May 24, 2012
BEST ANSWER: Hi,

My wife and I both have these masks - it's relatively easy to remove and separate the plastic mask skirt that holds in the lenses (there are about 8 small plastic tabs holding it together), then insert the new lens glass and snap back together. I think Leisure-Pro will also do it for you for a small fee (like $10) if you are uncomfortable taking mask apart yourself. I do recommend you get a squish resistant plastic box to hold mask while travelling in order to prevent damage during travel. I also recommend that when diving, you hold the mask with you instead of letting it go onto boat with tank and BCD and getting stepped on - better safe than sorry. We love our masks (and lenses).

- Wayne
858-756-9759 - feel free to call if you have any questions
DO these lenses fit the "mid" size also?
Laura on Feb 7, 2014
BEST ANSWER: Laura,
I can't answer this. I have the X-Vision mask but it is not a mid-size. I would ask Mares directly.
Does Mares Bi-Focal Corrective Lens for X-Vision 2013 fit into X-Vision 2017 SKU:MRSXCLP?
Darius P on Aug 4, 2017
BEST ANSWER: I cannot answer this question because I do not have X-Vision 2017. I have much earlier version of Mares X-Vision Liquid Skin mask, one from 2005 I think. I do not think that mask changed from earlier version but I would suggest to ask this question from Mares rep. I believe Mares has office in Florida. You can find its phone and email by googling Mares USA
use with wich goggle?
A shopper on Jan 17, 2014
BEST ANSWER: I used these in a Mares X vision liquidskin and I could not be happier. I have a large face and the mask fits perfectly. I also put them in a Mid for her and they worked a treat on her medium sized face. The install will go smoothly if you are careful and slow - use the little plastic lever that is supplied : )
Does this lens fit for 2013 version X-Vision Liquidskin SKU: MRSMXLN ?
i5555 on Aug 13, 2014
BEST ANSWER: Yes, I had them installed in my mask when I bought it last year.
What about lenses for myopia?
A shopper on Aug 19, 2015
BEST ANSWER: Myopia or near-sightedness is a condition of the eye where the light that comes in does not directly focus on the retina but in front of it, causing the image that one sees when looking at a distant object to be out of focus, but in focus when looking at a close object. My vision is hyperopia, the opposite of myopia so I need plus value lenses to see close up under water. My prescription land lens is a variable providing suitable corection for distant and near subjects. I have a Mares mask with +2.5 lenses for close vision and I use stick on lenses for the upper part of the vision area not covered by the Mares lens for more distant vision. As an underwater photographer I really need to see well to operate my camera equipment up close and more distant to be able to spot the critters I am in search of to capture images. This combination I have, over several years come to, works well for me. Not perfect as my vision once was in my earlier years, but certainly a workable solution as opposed to total fuzziness. Due to the refraction of vision underwater finding a suitable solution to your particular vision needs it is a somewhat experimental process and will undoubtedly take time to come to a solution that works for you.
Mares X-Vision Two Window Mask
Mares X-Vision Two Window Mask
looking to put a prescription into my mask. I am near sighted. I wear bifocals with no prescription below and prescription for distance on top. Cost. Availability?
Brady T on Jan 21, 2019
BEST ANSWER: Thank you for your question. Although the title of that lens states bifocal, those are just far sighted on the bottom and no prescription on top. The link below will take you to the near sighted lenses for the same mask, however those are no bifocals the are entire lens with a negative diopter. The price is $24.95 per lens as of today. There are companies out there specialized in making special lenses for scuba mask that they bond to the existing lenses on your mask, is a more expensive route but you can customize the lenses as you please.
Mares Negative Diopters Lens for X-vision 2013 and before
Mares Negative Diopters Lens for X-vision 2013 and before
If I buy both the liquid skin mask and the corrective lenses, will you install them?
A shopper on May 24, 2011
BEST ANSWER: Yes, simply leave specific directions as to what you would like in the 'special shipping instructions' box of the check out procedure and we would be happy to help you out :)
I'd like some clarification on this. Do you replace the existing lenses or does this attach or glue to the existing? If it replaces, is this something I could do?
A shopper on May 24, 2011
BEST ANSWER: It replaces the exsisting lens, it can be done by yourself, it just requires some "do-it-yourself" skills
top