Top Rated Gear

List: $73.00

Your Price
$64.95

+ wishlist

  • 5mm Trilastic dive boot for colder waters
  • Comfortable hard sole for control and power
  • Rubber sole ensures sure grip
  • Zipper dam prevents water seepage
  • Toe & heel reinforced with vulcanized rubber

In Stock Free Shipping

Mares Trilastic 5mm Dive Boots Customer Reviews

Review Summary

 
4.4

(based on 93 reviews)

89%

of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Ratings Distribution

Most Liked Positive Review

 

great boots

Would order them again in a heartbeat. Both my wife and I use them and I've had mine for many years and lots of dives and they are holding up well...

VS

Most Liked Negative Review

 

Solid, but runs big and heavy.

I bought these mail order without trying them on, and wish I had. They're very well-constructed with a thick outsole and a surprising amount of foot support. The heel cup really makes your foot feel more secure. They almost feel like hiking boots, these would be perfect for walking across lava fields in Hawaii. However, because of their rugged construction and thick sole, they don't fit into my Apollo Biofins. Unfortunately I have to send them back. The sizing is very large - I wear a s...

View full Review

Reviewed by 93 customers

Sort by

Displaying reviews 1-15

Back to top

Previous | Next »

 

Very comfortable and durable

By Barb L.

from Seattle , WA, US

These booties are very comfortable and sturdy. I have had them for a few years and they are not tearing and falling apart like other boots I have seen.

 

Great Boots!

By Matthew A.

from Surrey, BC, CA

Boots are great. I’ve used them in the cold water off BC in Canada. Warm, comfortable to wear, great for walking on rocks. Be even better if they dried quicker!

 

Heavy duty soles

By William R.

from Oak Harbor, OH, US

These soles are great for shore entries when walking on rocks. I've used them for a month now. We will have to see how they hold up. I ordered a my normal size and they work great for my dry suit.

 

Best dive boots I've ever owned

By Rodrigo P.

from Boston, MA, US

Great boots, very solid base but if you plan on wearing socks under it you might want to consider getting a size up. I wear wool socks on cold dives and the boots get a little tight.

 

Mares 5mm Dive Boots

By Joe W.

from Austin, TX, US

They are a great fit and very comfortable. I like the heal ridge which holds the fin strap in place.

 

Fits the bill !

By MARTIN L.

from Sarasota, FL, US

These booties work great for use with Jetfins. The hard sole makes them easy to walk even on slippery or uneven surfaces. They definitely keep my feet warm. Highly recommended !

 

great boots

By sgravesmedical

from Toronto, ON, CA

Would order them again in a heartbeat. Both my wife and I use them and I've had mine for many years and lots of dives and they are holding up well...

 

Mares Trilastic 5mm boots

By Bubbales

I've used these boots on 5 dives, with water temps of 48*F. My feet stayed warm the entire time. The fit is spot on and the heavy sole is great for rocky shore entries. The only negative thing is that my fins are now to small so I just ordered some new ones.

 

The Perfect Boot!

By RustyGold

These are the most comfortable dive boots for Metal Detecting the beach and shallow water that I've experienced. They are very well made and easy to slip into with the zippered side. In the water the snug fit seemed so perfect with lots of side to side control and forward walking motion. Never too tight or loose! On the sand they felt natural and comfortable with plenty of control. Sizing is an issue with these boots! You may have to go down one size than you normally wear. I wear a 9.5/10 Tennis shoe depending on the brand but my foot measures slightly under a 9. The size 8 was/is perfect. No slop! The snug fit I equate with better control. There was no soreness after a 2 hour hunt , in or out of the water! I would recommend these boots to anyone needing a well made Dive Boot or as the perfect platform for the Beach and Shallow water MD'r!

 

I would buy again

By roadrider

I like the hard soles of these boots. I can put these on and walk to the boat and don't need another pair of shoes. I did have to buy another set of fins because the boots would not fit in my old pair.

 

Awesome boot!

By dancingfunkymonkey

I wear a 9 1/2W military boot, a 9 1/2W western boot, and 10W New Balance/ASICS running shoes. The Vortex V-16 regular sized fins, Mares Tri 5 boot (size 9), and Mares 1.5mm sock (size 8/9) are a perfect fit together. The boots are new and a little tight across the top of the foot but not painfully tight. The boots fit perfectly in the fins! There is no play, and they did not have to be forced in. I read other people's feedback and went a size smaller than my sneakers on the Mares boots and socks; I did not have to send anything back. Walking in these boots is as comfortable as walking in sneakers. I have also ridden my bicycle in these boots; no issues. I put 'poor fit' as a CON, because the boot is sized different. I adjusted sizing according to other's feedback and ended up with boots that fit the first time. I'm very happy with everyone's feedback; it saved me time! Thank you!

 

All the features I needed!

By cooper d.

fast delivery. As I ordered a size too small, it was very easy to call and have the next size sent. I just had to fill out the return form and they even sent me the return shipping label...no extra cost to me!

 

Just what I was looking for!

By TKriz

I wear a size 12 and ordered a size 11 because I heard they ran big. The 11's fit perfectly. These boots are comfortable, well made, and really warm. They have a really great sole which makes walking across rocky terrain easy. I would definitely buy these again and would recommend them to anyone looking for a great set of boots.

 

Great Boots

By Mayday

I really like these boots. They look sharp, are well built and it feels like you're wearing regular walking boots. The heel tab is also nice to keep your fin strap from riding up. I haven't dove with them in cold water yet, but they're really warm so adding a fin sock would probably be enough to keep you comfortable in colder conditions. Definitely make sure that you go a size down as these run large. I wear a Men's 8-8.5 and the 7 fits me well. I have the 2MM Mares Equator boot as well and knew from experience that theirs run big. Also, the sole on these are pretty thick so if you already have a snug fit with regular booties then these might not fit all the way into your fins.

 

Amazing!

By Naterdi

The customer service of leisure pro is amazing! I was able to exchange for the next size down with ease.

Displaying reviews 1-15

Back to top

Previous | Next »

Questions & Answers

Start typing your question and we'll check if it was already asked and answered. Learn More
Browse 21 questions Browse 21 questions and 69 answers
Why did you choose this?
Leisure Pro Store
best boots you can buy! had a pair for 1000+ dives and this will be the second pair. comfortable and great for any terrain, plus great grip on slippery surfaces
LUIS T on Jul 31, 2019
The only ones available with my style that I like
Bill W on Jun 16, 2017
best boots you can buy! had a pair for 1000+ dives and this will be the second pair. comfortable and great for any terrain, plus great grip on slippery surfaces
LUIS T on Jul 31, 2019
A great boots
FERNANDO G on May 5, 2019
The only ones available with my style that I like
Bill W on Jun 16, 2017
Mares has consistently been a quality brand of dive gear and I've had several suits (all great); I am picky about my boots - and can't wait to try these. I'm sure Mares will not disappoint. The proof is in the details/craftsmanship. The little fin in the back will keep my fin straps from sliding off (awesome!)
Marieanne L on May 21, 2015
GREAT BOOTS! LITTLE WIDE... wish they had narrow for women...need to really kick into my apollos
JENNY H on Jan 26, 2015
I've been using these boots for the past two years and really like them especially the hard sole. In addition, the high top boot works better for me as it supports my ankle. While my current boots are still in good shape, I decided to get a second pair and use them for whenever I travel. This way, I have a set for the pool/local lakes and one for travel. Hope this helps.
NICOLE K on Sep 12, 2014
I needed a hard sole boot and like the thought put in to the explanation of the functional concept in this boot. 5 mm for colder water I get into some times and Mares is a quality company.
joshua w on Aug 18, 2014
Best price found, free shipping, very helpful staff.
Chris M on Aug 6, 2014
For my son
BOYD J on Apr 3, 2012
Like the hard sole
MAURICE P on Apr 3, 2012
hard sole, good grip, I love tham
LAUREN S on Jan 18, 2012
good sturdy boot at a good price. both my daughters and I dive these booties.
DON K on Sep 11, 2011
WARM! Good fit.
JANET S on Aug 22, 2011
A great boots
FERNANDO G on May 5, 2019
Mares has consistently been a quality brand of dive gear and I've had several suits (all great); I am picky about my boots - and can't wait to try these. I'm sure Mares will not disappoint. The proof is in the details/craftsmanship. The little fin in the back will keep my fin straps from sliding off (awesome!)
Marieanne L on May 21, 2015
Are these really a full size bigger? I usually wear a men's 8-8.5 (normal width) so should I order a 7 instead? I don't want to have to wear neoprene socks to make them fit.
May D on Feb 21, 2014
BEST ANSWER: Hi May,
We just ordered two pair of these dive boots. I usually wear a men's 8-8.5 also, and my wife usually wears a men's size 5. After reading reviews here at Leisure Pro we ordered a pair size 7 and a pair size 4 just like you are thinking. Both pair were too small for us. We exchanged them with Leisure pro with no problems for a size 8 and a size 5 and the fit was nearly perfect. We dove 25 dives in Bonaire with these boots this month and as some reviews have noted they do loosen up just a little when wet so my size 8's were just the slightest bit loose after the dive but not enough for a sock and not enough to really notice at all if I was not thinking about it specifically. The boots were great and the sizing is accurate at least in the smaller sizes such as 8 and 5. Hope this helps.
Does anyone wear these with a foot pocket fin instead of an open heel strapped one? I'm not sure if they'll work because of the heel.
Laird B on Jan 15, 2012
BEST ANSWER: Hi,

I would really doubt it because the boot is pretty thick. They fit very snug with my open heel Aeris velocity fins. They are great boots, but I think open heel fins would be the way to go with these.

Hope this helps,
I am a male who wears a 10.5 shoe size. Would a size 10 be the best fit? Has anyone used these boots with the Apollo split fin? Do they fit inside the foot pocket okay?
Kevin L on Jul 5, 2012
BEST ANSWER: Same shoe size, but I bought mine a few years ago. I originally bought a 10 and actually had to exchange them for a size 9! Love these compared to my other boots and a 9 fits perfect (no toe rub either). Not sure if Mares has made any sizing adjustments from my (older) purchase time frame, but I believe many other users were complaining about them running quite big.

As far as Apollo's, I use Jet fins and had to go up considerably in size so these boots would fit. The larger fins (i.e. added travel weight) remains my ONLY negative. These boot's soles are THICK, which I personally rate as one of the highest requirements for my diverse trips.

All around many pluses, the main being they're amazing for comfort and I've used them all over the world in many terrains without a single worry about discomfort or puncture. But you'll probably need to go up a size in fins (at least one, maybe two depending on brand/style).
Female (regular shoe size 9)
What size boot should I get?
Melissa W on Dec 3, 2011
BEST ANSWER: My girlfriend and I both purchased Mares Trilastic 5 mm Dive Boots in October and dove with them in Bonaire in November. We love them. My girlfriend's shoe size is 7-1/2 to 8 and she purchased a size 6. She said they fit her perfectly. For a women's size 9, I think I would go with a 7. You don't want them too tight, and a little loose won't hurt. Make sure your fins are open heel and will accomodate the boots. Have fun!
I'm shoe size 10 but after reading all comments about this boot being too big will it be good to get the number 9? Also will they fit on my fins Mares Avanti Quattro size regular? the sole seems to be too thick and i want to make sure they will fit inside my fins.
A shopper on Oct 5, 2011
BEST ANSWER: I'm a 10.5, so I ordered an 11 and they are a little big. A 10 would have fit way better. I ended up getting some neo socks and that did the trick. I actually perfer wearing them with the socks now. If you're on a boat, you can dive with just the socks, as I find it to be a little more comforntable. With shore dives however, the boots are a must. I used them a lot in the Caribbean (lived on St. Kitts two years) and they have held-up quite well. Still being used with no problems. Take care of them! Soak in a bucket of fresh water after every use so that the zipper doesn't salt-up. Allow to fully dry. They can get a bit smelly if you put them up damp.

I have Avanti Quattro, size large, fins and they are a tight fit. It takes some effort to get them on and off.

Hope this helps everyone!
I wear regular booties size 9 but since these booties run big I guess I would order size 8, my biggest concern is they fit inside the foot pocket of my Mares Avanti Superchannel. Any suggestion?
goyo a on Feb 12, 2013
BEST ANSWER: Goyo, you are correct in that they run a bit big - I wear a 10 1/2 shoe and ordered size 10 in the bootie. They fit well. Unfortunately the soles of the bootie are quite thick. I have a pair of Mares Raptors, regular and the Mares booties are difficult to get in and out. While getting the fins on are not a problem it can be a challenge when taking them off in preparation to climbing a non-fins- on ladder. If you are a big shore diver it probably wouldn't matter (the thick soles are great if walking on a rocky beach) but for me (lots of boat diving) it became a deal breaker. They are well constructed and comfortable but just realize they will be a tight fit with most normal fins. Hope this helps !! Safe diving to you !!
The wife needs a pair. Normally wears a 6.5 woman. Will a size 4 be adequate?
MICHAEL Z on Oct 29, 2013
BEST ANSWER: these boots are great for shore diving...I am a woman who wears size 9 women's, I ordered a size 7 in these boots which fit great, but in your case I think I would recommend a size 5 since I think they only come in whole sizes.
I am a true size 6, medium width, in women's shoes. What size would I need to order in these dive boots?

My husband wears a men's 8 1/2. What size should we order for him?
Brandi W on Apr 3, 2012
BEST ANSWER: I think their sizes are men's sizes. I wear a womans size 9 shoe and I got these in a size 8 and they fit great! I love these boots, they are the bomb when it comes to shore diving. The sole are fantastic to climb over rocks with, you will not be disappointed.

I would probably get yourself a size 5 and your husband a size 9. Hope this helps.

Shauna
I wear shoes 35-36 european. which size should I order? problem is that it doesn't specify if it is for women or men when you select the size
A shopper on Dec 28, 2015
BEST ANSWER: I brought a 8 for my wife and it was equivalent to a european 40-41, so I guess is men size. I end up using them for a while because they are too big for my wife, but I don't like them because they give me too much bouyancy on the legs. I hope it helps.
I wear a 12.5 and my wife using a 10 shoes.
What would be the best fit for us for this dive boot?
A shopper on Sep 6, 2012
BEST ANSWER: I also wear a 12 - 13 depending on the shoe. The size 11 fit me perfect. These booties run at least 1 size larger. I have a friend that wears a size 14 shoe, and we purchased a size 12 for him. It fits him great.
i am 10.5 shoe size, i suppose i have to buy a size 10 boot. will a size 10 boot fit in a mares avanti x3 regular size fin?
A shopper on Jun 19, 2012
BEST ANSWER: In my opinion these are the greatest booties ever. They run big. I wear a size 12 or 13 shoe, depending on the maker. I wear a size 11, in these. I have a buddy that is the same. He wears a size 14, and he wears a size 12 in these booties.
I am European size 41, and my wife is European size 37, what sizes should we order? Thank you!
A shopper on Nov 17, 2011
BEST ANSWER: Hello,
I wear an European size 42 and got the boots in a size 9 and they fit great for dive boots.
My wife is a European size 36.5 and got the boots in a size 5 and loves them. Hope this helps.
I ware a womens size 8 shoe. What size boot and fin should I purchase?
Crissy C on Nov 28, 2015
Mares Trilastic 5mm Dive Boots
Mares Trilastic 5mm Dive Boots
Mares Plana Avanti X3 Open Heel Fins
Mares Plana Avanti X3 Open Heel Fins
BEST ANSWER: Most likely a size 6 boot and an XS fin. We have the PFF Guarantee if they do not fit, so no worries.
I wear a mens 9, what size should I order?
A shopper on May 24, 2011
BEST ANSWER: I would recommend the size 9.
I wear a women's 5 1/2, what size should i order?
A shopper on May 24, 2011
BEST ANSWER: I would recommend a size four.
I wear a women's 7 1/2-8 normally. Should I get the 6 or 7?
A shopper on May 24, 2011
BEST ANSWER: I would recommend the 6.
I wear a Men's size 10-10 1/2 size shoe, what size boot should i order?
A shopper on May 24, 2011
BEST ANSWER: I would recommend a 10.
I wear a womens size 9-9 1/2. What size should I order and what size fins would I need? (Fins would be the Mares Superchannel open heel).
A shopper on May 24, 2011
BEST ANSWER: I would get a size 8 in the boots and a small for the fins.
I am a European size 36, what size boot should I order?
A shopper on May 24, 2011
BEST ANSWER: Size 6 if a woman, size 4 if a man.
i am a womens size 8-81/2 what size should i order
A shopper on May 24, 2011
BEST ANSWER: Size 6.
top