Closeout

Regular: $62.95

Closeout
$27.95

+ wishlist

  • Improves safety and comfort
  • High visibility orange/yellow color
  • Easy to use oral inflator
  • Adjustable waist and crotch straps

In Stock Free Shipping

Available in 3 colors

Blue Reef Snorkeling Vest Customer Reviews

Review Summary

 
4.6

(based on 86 reviews)

90%

of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Ratings Distribution

Most Liked Positive Review

 

very good product

It took the worry out of my beginner 7 yr old snorkeling in 25 feet of water and made all the kids easily visible. My 12 year old could easliy deflate it and dive to the bottom if he wanted to. I wore one when snorkeling with the 7 yr old because he would frequently grab onto me and this helped me to be able to float better when with him. Great product and great price!!

VS

Most Liked Negative Review

 

small is very small, orange is ancient

The small size doesn't really provide enough flotation for someone of 85lbs. The yellow color was a good modern design, but the orange one had an ancient valve that needs to be poked by something smaller than my fingers to empty.

Reviewed by 86 customers

Sort by

Displaying reviews 1-15

Back to top

Previous | Next »

 

Nice product, we used them in children and adults.

By L U.

from Mahahual, Quintana Roo, MX

I would recommend this product, I like very much in black, although yellow or orange are more visible i jst love how elegant they look in black. Materials looks very good. All products arrived in great condition and in proper time.

 

Worked fine.

By MITCHELL C.

Worked fine. No problems. Easy to use.

 

Very helpfull

By Ricardo C.

Great for assist in long swim snorkeling,

 

Visibility

By JAMES W.

I would highly recommend this vest. It likely saved me during a Caribbean trip in December; not by using the inflation but by wearing the orange color. I was swimming back from a reef and had a near miss with a boat after they saw me close in. I think the color was the difference in avoiding being run over.

 

Snorkle vest....As advertised

By DAVID C.

works fine

 

Great Product!

By Brian G.

from Los Angeles, CA, US

Wife loved it when she used it in Fiji for snorkeling. Helped her a great deal in keeping afloat and feeling relaxed. Did exactly what it was advertised to do.

 

great vest

By Ben P.

from Sugarloaf, CA, US

i weight 310 lbs and this vest fit me great and supported my weight n the water fine.

 

snorkling

By jaime a.

excellent , will recommend

 

Snorkel Vest for a Big Guy

By Michael H.

from OWINGS MILLS, MD, US

I would highly recommend this vest for any larger person. I am 6'2" and weigh 330 lbs and I felt comfortable and relaxed wearing this vest.

 

Very Good

By Joseph M.

Worked perfectly. It makes snorkeling much less tiring. Great value for the money. Great online advise from Alexander when choosing snorkel gear.

 

Good deal

By Winn E.

from Placitas, NM, US

I bought 2 vests for a planned trip to Hawaii in the fall. The price was not much more than vests we rented in Cayman so I consider them to be a great deal at $19.95 apiece. We haven't had a chance to use them yet but they seem perfect for what we need.

 

Helpful to non swimmer

By Jean S.

from Medford , OR, US

This will be helpful when we go to the South Pacific soon.

 

Does the job

By Stephen D.

from Toms River, NJ, US

Great Value priced vest. Adequate lift, overal good snorkel vest. I would recommend this vest to all safety conscience snorkelers

 

Blue Reef Snorkel Vest A+++

By Kim J.

from Roy, UT, US

This snorkel vest is of good quality. Leisure Pro provided easy checkout and SUPER FAST shipping. I definitely would purchase from them again.

 

Snorkeling Vest

By Alan L.

from Katonah, NY, US

The snorkeling vest works well and is offered for a fair price.

Displaying reviews 1-15

Back to top

Previous | Next »

Questions & Answers

Start typing your question and we'll check if it was already asked and answered. Learn More
Browse 58 questions Browse 58 questions and 142 answers
Why did you choose this?
Leisure Pro Store
Good reviews
Jay A on Aug 10, 2019
Good value for limited use
Greg C on May 26, 2019
Good reviews
Jay A on Aug 10, 2019
great reviews for all ages
David G on Jul 18, 2019
Good value for limited use
Greg C on May 26, 2019
Chose this for a cruise we are going on. Our daughter is 8 and hope this will work for her while we are snorkeling from the beach.
Richard H on Apr 20, 2019
We bought two for snorkeling on trips. They are light weight and safe for air travel. We really like them.
WILLIS R C on Apr 19, 2015
I am going on my first cruise. Wanted to snorkel, while in the Grand Caymans. Read the reviews and decided this was the vest for me. I used the chat with diver option, He was helpful with sizing. Looking forward to receiving my purchase in the mail.
Leslie H on Feb 2, 2015
Can't beat the value of discounted price!
Debra G on Dec 4, 2014
We purchased here because we needed recreational type snorkeling vests but didn't want to spend a fortune. Then, I had questions regarding sizes and threw out a question on their "chat line". It was so slick and the person answered faster than I could type. Customer service was great (so far) so didn't want to spend my time on another site. Thanks much!! And, thanks to whoever helped me in California on the chat line. I didn't catch your name - but thanks!
Joni J on Nov 25, 2014
good value
richard c on Sep 12, 2014
GREAT PRICE AND GOOD QUALITY.
RICHARD M on Mar 28, 2012
cruise operators make you take these to wear, just wanted to have my own set.
JASON H on Feb 13, 2012
cruise operators make you take these to wear, just wanted to have my own set.
JASON H on Feb 13, 2012
Just to have
BRUCE G on Feb 10, 2012
I purchased these for my son and wife to use snorkeling on vacation. They do not have a plastic feel to them and seem durable.
KEN L on Jan 11, 2012
I purchaced this to assist my wife while snorkeling.
RUSSELL G on Dec 25, 2011
I was trained to believe in safety first. Accomplished diver and snorkeler but you never know.
HOWARD B on Nov 20, 2011
I had ordered one for my son and it fit me, and I could get it in yellow, to go with my snorkel set, which was black and yellow.
LINDA P on Sep 22, 2011
great reviews for all ages
David G on Jul 18, 2019
Chose this for a cruise we are going on. Our daughter is 8 and hope this will work for her while we are snorkeling from the beach.
Richard H on Apr 20, 2019
I am 5'1" and weigh 120 lbs. What size do you suggest?
Husband is 5'10" and weighs 178lb. what size do you suggest?
We're both good swimmers.
Marilynn K on Jan 19, 2014
BEST ANSWER: someone else asked this question last year so I'll copy/paste my response from then.

"As a guy, I guessed it would be like buying a Tshirt. The XL was perfect for my 5'11" 215lb frame. As for it's use I did utilize it during a scallop trip due to rough surface conditions. When properly attached (use the crotch strap) it doesn't get in your way. For my wife who is petite 5ft (i'll leave it there), I guessed medium and it fit nicely."
How do I choose a size?
C.M. C on Mar 20, 2014
BEST ANSWER: THERE ARE 4 SIZES

SMALL - UNDER 100 LBS - CHILDREN
MEDIUM - 100 - 150 LBS
LARGE - 150 - 200 LBS
X-LARGE - OVER 200 LBS

THIS IS NOT A BODY HUGGING WET SUIT - YOU JUST NEED IT BIG ENOUGH TO FIT OVER YOUR HEAD AND HAVE THE STRAPS REACH AROUND YOUR BODY - WITHOUT FALLING OUT OF IT.
Is this rated for a 260# person ?
A shopper on Jul 24, 2013
BEST ANSWER: I'm 210 lbs and it worked great. I didn't have it fully inflated so would think it should work for you at 260# You couls also take a small kick board with you for extra buoyancy if you're worried.
Does this vest have quick release buckles on the two straps? I, buying it for myself and my wife.
Michael R on Mar 9, 2014
BEST ANSWER: Mike
Yes, there are two straps with snap type clips. Onethe goes around your weist and one the goes between your legs. I have 5 of these for my family and have been using them since 2010. They have been to mexico, the keys, grand cayman and st martin. They teavel well rolled up in a suit case. I wouldent snorkle without them. The smallest amount of air works but the most important reason is the. Visability. Good luck happy snorkleing.
Scott
For someone who does not swim but is willing to get in the water to snorkel, will this vest be appropriate? We are about to head to the Whit Sundays and my wife wants to snorkel...is this a reasonable accessory to allow her to float?
Gary L on Aug 26, 2013
BEST ANSWER: Works great - - no issues after 3 years of use. When you get tired of snorkeling, you can easily float on your back with your head held out of the water.
Does the valve on this vest release the air just by pushing it down or does it require you do do something else? Basically does it inflate and deflate the same way? I know to inflate you blow in and and to deflate you press against it. Has anyone had an issue with water getting inside it?
A shopper on Jul 10, 2013
BEST ANSWER: Yes, you inflate and deflate the same way. Pushing the end of the inflater tube down opens the springloaded valve. Releasing the end closes the valve.

Yes, you can expect to have a small amount of water enter the vest via the inflator tube if you depress the valve under water with no air in the vest. But it will be minimal and you will not notice it while in the water. To drain the water after exiting the water, inflate the vest and then while holding the vest with the inflator tube down, depress the valve and allow the air to push the water out.

Don't forget to rinse it thoroughly with clean fresh water after use - and you may even want to put some rinsing water inside it and slosh it around to rinse the inside if you see that you have moisture inside.

I recommend you store the vest with a littl air in it.
Hi-- I am a complete idiot. I inflated it to try it on, now cannot figure out how to deflate the darned thing! (Of course there were no instructions, but I cannot help but notice that in the comments people mentioned that their 12 year old had no problem deflating. I am considerably older than that...) So -- how do you deflate it?
Michael M on Jul 28, 2011
BEST ANSWER: By the looks of the picture my vest is totally different. Mine is made by Blue Reef but I got it in 2006. It has a piece that screws to allow the spring loaded valve to be pushed down for inflation/deflation. If yours has something like this, make sure the valve can be pushed down and hold it down while you squish (that's a technical term by the way) all the air out.

My only other thought, not being able to blow the picture up enough to get detail of the valve, is that your valve is spring loaded in a closed positon that allows for inflation. Try pulling up on the valve gently and see if it gives a little and lets the air out. Good luck.
what is the best fit for a large busted woman? 42 DDD
A shopper on Feb 24, 2014
BEST ANSWER: I would choose large........when you look at the head hole and length dimensions, (and consider the noted breast size and the assistance of buoyancy with regard to same), I believe large would be your best bet!
How do I know what size is appropriate?
A shopper on Feb 19, 2014
BEST ANSWER: A snorkeling vest is almost always "one size fits all". You put your head through and adjust the straps so as not to come off. But, when you are gliding through the water and the vest is deflated you will not want it to be a "wet blanket". My suggestion would be that you contact Leisure Pro with your personal size, get their recommendation, then opt for the smallest vest that will fit you. Vests are safety measures but do little to enhance your hydrodynamics, which makes snorkeling so "freeing". I keep my vest on my "follow-up" dive flag float in case I get a cramp. Inflated, the vest can actually follow behind you on a line as a kind of signal to boaters while being close enough to grab if you need it!
PS: I've never seen a fish wear one!
is this for an adult?
A shopper on Feb 11, 2012
BEST ANSWER: Certainly - in the larger sizes. This type of vest is for emergency flotation when snorkeing or swimming. Its basicly an orally inflatable life vest. It is not for use with SCUBA as a buoyancy compensator because it does not have an over-inflation release valve.
what size for a 5'5" 150 pounds, 5'8" 170 pounds, 5,2" 100 pounds?
A shopper on Mar 26, 2017
BEST ANSWER: I am 5"6" 148 and wear the medium comfortably. I weighed a little more when I bought this.
Spouse is 5"10 and took a medium
the 5'2' person I would think a small!
It mentions 2 adjustible straps, would those be waist and crotch, what size for 5'5 140 lbs?
Richard C on Jan 5, 2016
BEST ANSWER: One strap goes around your waist. Not sure if there is a second strap as we haven't used it in a few years. It was for my wife, 5'-2" 100lbs and she found it quite satisfactory. Note that this item does not wrap around your upper body as other snorkel "vests" do.
is the cap over the inflatable valve the only thing that keeps water out or do you have to push down on the valve in order to inflate or deflate? is the valve plastic or brass?
A shopper on Jun 24, 2014
BEST ANSWER: There is no cap over the valve. The valve is a push-down valve that you use your teeth or mouth to push down. There is a plastic lock ring to prevent it from dumping air. There are no metal parts; they are all plastic. My wife & I both have one, and we like them.
I'm 5'1" feet tall and petite. I size small ideal?
A shopper on Jun 1, 2014
BEST ANSWER: I bought this for my wife, she is 5'2" and weighs about 115#. It works perfect for her. Could hold more weight easily.
Husband is 6 foot 210 pounds and I am 5’4 120 pounds. What size should we buy?
Rita H on Feb 6, 2019
BEST ANSWER: I bought an XS for my son, who was smaller than you at the time, so I think a S would be about right for you. I’m a 6-01 and 220 and I wear an XL. These fit loosely, and the important thing is to have the straps long enough to allow the collar and sides to stretch out flat, so that when you deflate it, you don’t get air stuck behind folds that you have trouble emptying. I rarely inflate mine at all, and just wear it for insurance (and to keep my son in his).
Will the jr small size fit a 3 year old?
Leeann T on Aug 26, 2017
BEST ANSWER: Yes. Long straps enable use for may sixes. My 7yr old had been using it since he was 2, and still uses his on occasion
I bought a snorkel vest and wore it on a trip and really enjoyed just being able to float for hours and not work hard to float. I was wondering though if people had suggestions on how the crotch strap should be adjusted. I changed it a lot during my 5 days of snorkeling. If it was loose at all the vest would rise up and still end up causing a wedgie. If I tightened it to cause this before even getting in the water it then it didn't rise up and the underneath strap didn't move. I was happy with the jacket and fit, but didn't know if others dealt with this and if I was wearing it correctly or it should be tighter or looser? Thanks. Also, I have read on sites people say snug and I guess I don't know how tight that means. Thanks
A shopper on May 1, 2013
BEST ANSWER: Think about a belt you would wear around your waist. it's generally snug but not squeezing you.

Ideally, you want the vest to "fit" you, but obstruct your movement. Best way I've found is to fully inflate the vest on land then adjust the straps to fit comfortably. What this prevents is squeezing yourself when you are in the water and try to inflate. I tend to wear mine deflated in the water and use it for safety if I get tired.
Is the inflation tube on this vest stiff or flexable?
John H on Mar 14, 2013
BEST ANSWER: Its flexible. Its flat until you blow some air into it. As it fills with air it becomes more rigid.
What size should I get, husband 5'7 215 lbs and son 6'1 185 lbs?
Patty B on Jul 29, 2012
BEST ANSWER: Get one large and one XL

You do not full inflate. These help when you are in open water and are not comfortable clearing mask and need some rest. Note that the more air you put in, the less you have dive to the bottom.
how do i determine size to order?
A shopper on Feb 1, 2012
BEST ANSWER: As a guy, I guessed it would be like buying a Tshirt. The XL was perfect for my 5'11" 215lb frame. As for it's use I did utilize it last year during a scallop trip due to rough surface conditions. When properly attached (use the crotch strap) it doesn't get in your way. For my wife who is petite 5ft (i'll leave it there), I guessed medium and it fit nicely.
I want to get 3 of these for me(5'2 110 lb), my husband (5'10 150 lb) and my son (4', 50 lb). Can you please recommend sizes?
Janet C on Nov 6, 2011
BEST ANSWER: We ordered these but to date have not used them. Sorry I can't help you out.
What size for 5-2 woman at 105 pounds?
A shopper on Nov 27, 2018
BEST ANSWER: I'm about that size and bought a small. It's a bit shorter than I'd prefer, though otherwise fits well. I have a long torso for my size, so maybe that won't be an issue for someone else.
I am 6'1" and 220 lbs, is a large big enough?
A shopper on Oct 24, 2017
BEST ANSWER: I am 6footand about 205, and it fit me fine.
Size recommendations for 6' and 190 pound guy and 5'6" 105 pound woman?
Dudley B on Sep 24, 2016
BEST ANSWER: I'm 5'10", 205 and wife is 5'7" 110. We bought large and medium size. The work great. Even loaned mine to neighbor 6'7 & 230. Better to large than small. Straps allow for adjustment.
I'm wondering what sizes to buy for my family? My husband is about 170 and 5-10, my kids are 12 and 9 at about 100 pounds, and myself at 5-5 at 130lbs.
Veronica T on Jun 8, 2016
BEST ANSWER: I am 5'10" and 165 lbs and the Large fits just right. Sorry, I can't say about the other sizes.
What color would look good with blue and pink snorkeling fins?
A shopper on Feb 22, 2015
BEST ANSWER: :Yellow would be fine, but any color would do. It's all about safety. It's not like you are going to be prancing around the beach in it. You want it off as soon as you are in a safe area.
What are the weight limits of a large vest and a xl vest?
A shopper on Jan 11, 2015
BEST ANSWER: I can't find the specs for my vests but my xl is used by my father in law who weighs 230 and the large is used by my husband who is 180. Hope this helps some.
Our son is 6' and weighs 300 lbs, would the XL fit him?
John H on Jul 26, 2014
BEST ANSWER: I am 6' 216 lbs and use the xl.
The weight is not really a factor because your son and i are still boyant even with 75# difference.
The waste strap may be lone enough if not you can rig up an extender.
I have a 45 lb girl and a 70 lb boy...what sizes should I get?
Signal Mom on Dec 18, 2012
BEST ANSWER: Girl medium, boy large.
I'm trying to decide what to get. Why did you pick this one?
A shopper on Apr 28, 2012
BEST ANSWER: We chose this one mainly by price, but really just needed something to give our very young boys, who were just becoming confident as swimmers at the time, a little added safety and support (buoyancy) while snorkeling.
top