Top Rated Gear
Your Price
$330.95

+ wishlist

  • Lightweight back inflator system
  • Low profile single bladder
  • 1000 denier nylon/internal urethane laminate
  • Rear mounted weight pockets
  • Bx power inflator

In Stock Free Shipping

Zeagle Scout BC Customer Reviews

Review Summary

 
4.4

(based on 39 reviews)

90%

of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Ratings Distribution

Most Liked Positive Review

 

Great fit, great BC

Fits great, works wonders. has all the right features that you need, none of the features that you don't. -back inflate that works very well, great control. among the best back inflate that I've used. -rear weight pouches for moving some weight off the belt to BC. what could be better? this is major when cold water diving. weight was wonderful and I was very well balanced. weight integration is the way to go do yourself a favor and get this one for travel. I can fit this BC, a mask and my...

View full Review

VS

Most Liked Negative Review

 

Could hold you back as a diver

I bought this because I was a new diver buying all my gear & this was cheap. Since it was the only one I ever used, I didn't know it was holding me back as a diver. The biggest problem is that there is no way to keep the tank from shifting its weight side to side on your back, so you need to swim with your hands to keep from rolling in whichever direction the tank shifts. The cummerbund is awkward, always getting wedged behind your back when you put the BCD on, and with the weight of your ...

View full Review

Reviewed by 39 customers

Sort by

Displaying reviews 1-15

Back to top

Previous | Next »

 

Store Demo - Brand new at a discounted price

By Michael S.

After deciding on the Zeagle Scout, I found one at Leisure Pro for $100 below retail price. It was a store demo model, so heavily discounted, but in perfect condition! I love this BC and would reccomend it to a friend.

 

Great BC!!!!

By Stuart E.

from LAS VEGAS, NV, US

I enjoyed using this BC so much I wore it out. I bought another BC thinking it would be an upgrade and what a mistake!!! As soon as I got home I bought another Scout and look forward to wearing this one out as well. I like the longer inflator hose on this newer version.

 

Great BCD, Good Value

By Shiphigh A.

I'm 5'9" bcd size M it works great for me This is a light weight BCD. for traveling.

 

Great setup!

By Matthew P.

from Biloxi, MS, US

Great BC, everything I need and nothing I don’t. Perfect for spear fishing, just make sure to get the right size.

 

Just a great rec BCD

By PHIL K.

from Chicago, IL, US

This is my favorite recreational BC. I do a lot of pool work and it is just perfect. The rear weights keep the wing from pushing you forward in the water and the pockets are awesome. I went to the express thinking I could improve on a good thing and quickly went back to my Scout. Great for travel. Light weight but with all the comfort and flexibility of many models running twice as much.

 

Versatile

By Brad W.

from Huntington Beach, CA, US

This is an excellent BC. It is compact and easy to travel with, yet can accomplish any dive. I use it in cold water as well as warm water. A great alternative to a large tech style BC. Very functional. Everyone in the family uses a Zeagle Scout and loves it.

 

Sturdy! Light! Compact! Dependable! Simple!

By dancingfunkymonkey

from Gainesville, GA, US

Sturdy. Light. Compact. Easy to clean. Vents on top and two on the bottom; I like the vent on the bottom, because I can decend while inverted (fun!). This is a very simple BCD; there is NOT much room for expanding this BCD into a tech BC or anything else. I wanted a BCD that would take me just beyond snorkling, and this does it perfectly. I feel very safe and secure in the BCD.

 

Great Starter Gear

By Bryan P.

from Lebanon, IL, US

This BC fits great and is minimalist. I have over 40 dives with it and its still basically brand new. Two small issues. First, as others have said the pockets are not super easy to access but do the job for storing a small flashlight. Second, the Tank straps are a bit short. They are fine for 12L aluminium tanks, but the velcro barely fastens with a 12L steel tank.

 

Great entry level bc

By Dan

Awesome first BC. Can't complain the price is great. Easy to modify for any diving style. Don't let the 24 lbs of lift fool you. Its plenty

 

great BCD. durable and reliable

By Papa

great adjustable BCD. you can change the wing if it's necessary, but it works great for me (warm and recreational diving). the product fits me just fine (I'm 5'11", 65KG). Weight pockets can fit up to 8KG. Overall it's an awesome product.

 

Very good BC.

By Chris

This is a very good BC was trained on this BC in school loved it so much I got my own.

 

GREAT FIT, VERY WELL BUILT

By SCUBBI

MOST CONFORTABLE WARM WATER BC I'VE EVER USED. PERFECT FOR TRAVEL

 

Great Value/ Performance/ Comfort

By zniffinz

For a entry level model this BC has all you need. Plenty of ditchable weight capacity for most recreational diving, plenty of D-ring points & 24 # of lift. I've been diving for 18 years & always had jacket BCs; I'll never switch back after having this back inflate. The quality of the Zeagle line is obvious when put side-by-side to the other manufacturers. You cannot go wrong with this [$]- Great Value!

 

"Great look and perfect compact fit"

By ric

i just purchased on of these and used it last weekend on a drift dive to 90 feet, and i loved it. feels great and the back inflate bladder allows you to maintain a good streamline swim. plenty of metal ring to clip all necessary equipment. simple weight system, just drop a couple of weights in the rear mount pouch and you're ready to go. overall great bc.

 

Great Travel BCD

By Reegtlaw

This is a light weight BCD. Great as a second BC that I use for traveling. However, it's not so good for cold water diving since it only has a 24 lbs lift capacity. Most people who dive cold water need more than 20 lbs of weight. So I don't recommend use for cold water. Anyone looking for a light weight BC for warm water diving or for traveling to dive tropical water, this is the BC for you. Take up less space in your suit case and weight a little over 5 lbs.

Displaying reviews 1-15

Back to top

Previous | Next »

Questions & Answers

Start typing your question and we'll check if it was already asked and answered. Learn More
Browse 19 questions Browse 19 questions and 65 answers
Why did you choose this?
Leisure Pro Store
I have owned a Zeagle Ranger for many years and it is a great BC but I need now something simpler and lighter
D D on Jul 12, 2019
Good manufacturer, was what I was looking for, price.
BRIAN C on Aug 11, 2014
I have owned a Zeagle Ranger for many years and it is a great BC but I need now something simpler and lighter
D D on Jul 12, 2019
My last Zeagle BC lasted for 15 years of hard use. Can't recommend them enough.
TIMOTHY P on Sep 20, 2017
Good manufacturer, was what I was looking for, price.
BRIAN C on Aug 11, 2014
Excellent Zeagle quality. Lighter weight than Ranger, so easier to travel with.
Marshall S on Dec 12, 2011
My last Zeagle BC lasted for 15 years of hard use. Can't recommend them enough.
TIMOTHY P on Sep 20, 2017
Excellent Zeagle quality. Lighter weight than Ranger, so easier to travel with.
Marshall S on Dec 12, 2011
Hey there, I understand the Scout doesn't have a weight release system, though the info says the rear weights are dumpable through a fastener release. So, are the weights really dupable? Thanks.
Pablo A on Dec 8, 2013
BEST ANSWER: Yes , The releases are red handles located right next to the tank band . They are hard to reach but it can be done . When the red handles are pulled , the velcro tabs at the bottom of the weight pouches are opened and the weights drop. I would not hesitate to buy this BC , it is great fitting and lightweight for travel.
Already own and love Zeagle Ranger...looking for light weight warm water travel BC...any idea what BC weighs ? DF
A shopper on Mar 14, 2013
BEST ANSWER: According to Zeagle it weighs 6.7lbs. It's a great BC. I got mine as an alternative to my DiveRite to lighten the travel load. I've had mine for about 4 years and use it in the pool at least once a week (I'm an instructor) and it has held up well - especially since I don't do anything special to rinse it after being in pool water. I've also had it on a bunch of trips to the Pacific where weight is getting to be a real issue.
I wish it was even lighter weight, but there is definitely a trade-off between construction that lasts awhile and getting the weight down. I think it's a good product. It has lots of flexibility for how you set it up and it's held up well for me. I bought it mainly for travel but it's become my primary bc. Hope this helps.
where are the weight pockets? How much weight can BCD hold?
Michael S on Aug 26, 2019
BEST ANSWER: There are no weight pockets except for the trim weights in the back (6 pounds each).However, the BC has two large cargo pockets in the front that can hold about 8 pounds of soft lead each. I use them as my primary weight pockets. They have zippers with extensions on the ends that can be used to open them quickly if the need to ditch weights arises. Unless you need to carry more than 28 pounds of lead total, I actually prefer this arrangement over the more bulky quick release pull handles used on many BCDs.
if i am 6'1" 182lbs with a 33 waist should i get size medium?
A shopper on Jun 10, 2019
BEST ANSWER: You will be on the top end of the size. I am the same as you and went with the medium. I wish I would have picked up the large instead. Zeagle states that you can switch out the cumberbund to the large size but I’ve tried and haven’t been able to get it from Zeagle.
Will 24lb of lift be adequate enough for me? I rec dive California with a 7mm suit and generally 16 lbs and steel tank... I weigh about 165 at 5'6''.
A shopper on Jan 3, 2013
BEST ANSWER: The Zeagle Scout BC works great for me because it has very little obstruction in the front of the BC. I use it for spearfishing and wreck diving (as in sunken boats). I use 20 lbs and aluminum tanks, my weight is 186 lbs. The only reason to inflate a BC is for buoyancy control under water. As you ascend you want very little air if any inside your BC because you need to control how fast you go up and the Zeagle Scout I have only has release pulls in the rear-bottom and the inflator hose (which is harder to use when releasing the air). I rather use my fins to go up slowly or use a line attached to the boat stern or the anchor line. The great thing about the Scout is that I can lay comfortably flat at the bottom and have less drag when chasing fish mid-water. It's great for spearfishing. Hope this helps.
Is this an integrated BCD wherein weights can be placed within the vest?
Dudz N on Feb 3, 2014
BEST ANSWER: Hey Dudz. Yes, there are two weight pockets at the back of the vest that are integrated in the lower tank strap. They have a quick release feature that just dumps the weights, not a weight pouch or weight holder. Nice design, has two tank bands, weights are out of the way, and has two front pockets to hold anything you want, including extra weights if needed. I wear mine with a weight belt and use the rear pouches for trim weights, usually six pounds each. I'm a Divemaster and find this a great design. Good luck!
I'm light thin person 5'6" 54kg, would this be nice for lift and weight capacities?
Perch E on Sep 15, 2015
BEST ANSWER: I've owned this BCD for about 3.5 years and I will highly recommend it if you are looking for a compact and durable BCD. It comes with two weight pouches which is plenty for me. I typically use about 12 pounds weight and can easily fit 14 if I need it. They sell additional weight pouches if you need them.
Is the Scout BCD part of Zeagle's "modular" line? My fit requirements have me in a Medium shoulder, but a Small waist. I cannot determine if this particular BCD supports customized sizing.
Stefano D on May 11, 2014
BEST ANSWER: No, the Scout you can not change out the shoulder section.
does the lumbar pad fit the zeagle scout?
A shopper on Dec 11, 2011
BEST ANSWER: I own a Zeagle Scout BC but I've never tried to add an additional lumbar pad. The web site, which you've probably seen, seems to imply that it will fit any Zeagle BC but it doesn't actually come out and say that. The lumbar pad that comes with the BC is more than enough for me and I think the Scout is very comfortable as is. Sorry I couldn't answer your question more directly.
i'm a petite women waist ard 27''. Anyone knows if the waist strap fit?
A shopper on Jul 10, 2013
BEST ANSWER: That is about the limit of the waist strap. If you are using a wetsuit you will probably be okay. Without a wetsuit you are right at the limit of the cummerbund. You can't really tuck the overlap anyplace. The buckle that goes over the cummerbund will also be at the limit. You won't be able to get it any tighter. For the price it is a great BC though.
What size would you recommend? I am 6', 185 lbs, 32 in waist, 42 in chest. I normally dive in warmer waters with a 3mm wetsuit or less.
Elias M on Sep 5, 2019
BEST ANSWER: it would have to be the large just by looking at the size chart.... however i would order both L and M to try it on.. this bc is highly customizable and may be able to make work the M... also bare in mind suit thickness.. not sure what you use.. if dry suit most likely L.
I prefer a tighter fit, and I know there's typically a good but of play in a BC, so I am wondering if a medium will be ok. I'm 5-11"? I'm a little over 200# with about a 35" waist. According to the fitting chart, I'd be ok but for the weight/height.
Marcos on Jan 15, 2018
BEST ANSWER: google Zeagle scout. Go to Zeagle’s website and Look under fitting. I tried to post a link for you but leisure pro does not allow. Good luck
I need more lift than the scout's default 24lb bladder can offer. Can I order one with a larger bladder from leisurepro?
A shopper on Jun 9, 2013
BEST ANSWER: You might be interested in the Zeagle Covert BC: http://www.leisurepro.com/Prod/ZGLC.html (32 lbs of lift) OR the Zeagle Stiletto: http://www.leisurepro.com/Prod/ZGLST.html (35 lbs of lift).
We currently do not carry a replacement bladder for the Scout.
What is the integrated weight system like? Is there a release system?
A shopper on May 24, 2011
BEST ANSWER: The rear pouches can hold up to 20 pounds of weight, but they are not ditchable. There are not releaseable weight pockets built into the BCD. A weight belt is needed for use with this BCD, so you can release the weights, but the back pockets make a nice options for shifting at least some of the weight you would use off the belt.
Does the BC have any of the quick dump valves ? Rear or shoulder ?
A shopper on May 24, 2011
BEST ANSWER: The Scout BCD has one remote shoulder dump on the left shoulder, and two lower dumps on the bottom of the bladder.
is this bc made for cold water diving? is there a depth limit?
A shopper on May 24, 2011
BEST ANSWER: More for warm water travel and no limit. The ranger is the cold water model.
How much does this BC weigh? I am looking for a fully functional light weight BC for travelling
A shopper on May 24, 2011
BEST ANSWER: I have 6.9Lbs for size med.
How many tank straps?
A shopper on May 24, 2011
BEST ANSWER: This has two tank straps.
top