Sale

Regular: $369.95

Sale
$329.99

+ wishlist

  • Designed for any level of diving
  • Custom presets catered to divers needs
  • LCD segmented display with backlight
  • Uses RGBM to reduce micro bubbles formation
  • 36 hrs memory capacity

In Stock Free 2 Day Shipping

Available in 6 colors

Mares Smart Wrist Computer Customer Reviews

Review Summary

 
4.5

(based on 26 reviews)

92%

of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Ratings Distribution

Most Liked Positive Review

 

Solid Performer

I have used this watch/computer so far on dive trips to Key Largo and a liveaboard trip. Easily fit over my 3mm wetsuit. Very reliable, good looking and easy to use. I would recommend this computer to anyone looking for a value-priced watch-style dive computer.

VS

Most Liked Negative Review

 

Not for Cold Water Divers - Tropical Only

This has a small band, small face, and small buttons. This won't fit around a wetsuit and you not able to operate buttons with 3mm gloves on. Tropical dive computer only.

Reviewed by 26 customers

Sort by

Displaying reviews 1-15

Back to top

Previous | Next »

 

for the price - excellent value

By EDWARD M.

from Bali, Labuan Bajo, Raja Ampat, R4, ID

I bought 2 of these (one for a friend). I have used many DCs since they first came out back in the 80s. This one is a decent solid, EZ to use wrist DC. Sturdy, reliable, cost effective. I work as a traveling DM, Instructor and compressor/watermaker/Nitrox engineer/tech and do a ton of diving. Even If you want to hang one of these on your BC as a backup to a console that have become popular. All good. It has everything needed ( less Tech diving) for sport diving through DM and instructor. EM / PADI 384938

 

Perfect buy

By Brandon

from Roatan, Bay Islands, HN

Shipping was fast, came in perfect condition, works great, I recommend this to anyone who wants a dive computer. Works good for beginners or advanced divers.

 

Really useful, works well and looks like a big watch.

By Guest L.

from RIO DE JANEIRO, RIO DE JANEIRO, BR

It was my first time using a computer after about 12 dives. I really liked It. I could see clearly underwater all the info It had during the dive. I chose this model because It looks like a watch and It doen't disappoint. It can be used as a watch no problem.

 

Great dive computer!

By RYAN W.

Love the watch and love the freediving settings I worked on a lot of different ships and this one worked the best. Only downside is I’m trying to find replacement parts and having issues with the band and few screws for battery and band

 

Great product!!!

By Eduardo T.

Great product. I was just perfect to buy from Leisure Pro. Highly recommend.

 

Great computer

By DANIEL M.

from Austin, TX, US

Great computer. Very sleek. Functional and has never failed me. I like how you can change the battery and set various tables depending on how liberal of a diver you are.

 

Good overall computer.

By Stephanie K.

from Arlington, VA, US

This was my first dive computer. It was very easy to use and I like that it is smaller in size.

 

Best computer for scuba/freedive

By brent b.

from Kansas City, KS, IT

Let me clarify, best starter computer with a great price for Scuba and freediving. You can buy an additional cable for PC linking. The dive computer seems tough, has a sleep mode, is a great size for a watch, and does what it needs to do. Ive made 40 dives with it and its great.

 

Great dive computer! Great price!

By Tania H.

from Missoula, MT, US

Love it! Needed a dive computer for awhile now but didn't want to spend a ridiculous amount of money to get a good one. This one is small (easy to wear) and has all the functions I need without being crazy expensive. I use it diving in tropical oceans and even back home in Montana for high altitude dives!

 

Very Happy

By Clay G.

from Lockney, TX, US

I have been diving with a Suunto Viper for years, I wanted to go to the watch style computer. Dove in Mexico in January and was very happy. It was small enough to wear on the entire trip, even when not diving, which was very handy because I didn't carry my phone around with me out of country. It was simple enough to set up and use. Still very easy to see all important information when under water. Did the job I needed it to and more. I get to dive on one or two trips a year so I am not looking for anything fancy. Fore the price I would definitely buy it again.

 

Solid Performer

By Kurt W.

from Etters, PA, US

I have used this watch/computer so far on dive trips to Key Largo and a liveaboard trip. Easily fit over my 3mm wetsuit. Very reliable, good looking and easy to use. I would recommend this computer to anyone looking for a value-priced watch-style dive computer.

 

Perfect for my first dive computer

By harlequeen

from Singapore, Singapore, SG

Spent a lot of time deciding on my first dive computer. These things usually blow up a wallet, but i found the Mares Smart very economical for both the functionality and aesthetics. Design-wise, this is a watch-style dive computer and is super sporty looking and comes in a variety of colors. The dive computer itself is extremely user-friendly and I found myself being able to navigate through the functions quite easily at first without prior reading the dive manual. After reading the manual, i felt like i knew my new dive computer from the inside-out. I used the dive computer on a recent tropical dive trip on both day and night dives and did not report any difficulty using this computer. The stats also gave me everything i needed to log dives.

 

Great Deal!

By BFSalama

Great computer, so happy to deal with LP

 

simple and efficient

By SHERMAN R.

Got this to replace an older mares nemo. Easy to use 2 button design. Log gives you dive time plus start and stop times. Band fits over thicker wetsuits. Easy to read at depth. Also has a free dive mode

 

Took me a really long time to decide on a dive watch

By Dan

Great delivery as always!

Displaying reviews 1-15

Back to top

Previous | Next »

Questions & Answers

Start typing your question and we'll check if it was already asked and answered. Learn More
Browse 28 questions Browse 28 questions and 62 answers
Why did you choose this?
Leisure Pro Store
Looks sleek, good brand
HEATHER S on Aug 28, 2019
Looks sleek, good brand
HEATHER S on Aug 28, 2019
I've been wanting a new dive computer and I've researched this to be the best for me.
Sara B on Apr 25, 2019
I've been wanting a new dive computer and I've researched this to be the best for me.
Sara B on Apr 25, 2019
what are the relative advantages/disadvantages of a suunto 4di novo versus a mares smart dive computer?
jofish on May 12, 2015
BEST ANSWER: I researched many (non integrated) brands and was 1 inch from getting the Suunto. In fact you see the Suunto and the Scuba Pro everywhere, especially among DMs. However at $100 savings plus some additional features beyond the 4di, I selected the Mares. In fact bought 2 (a backup is highly suggested).

Tested for 5 weeks training in Malaysia, multiple dives daily. Functionally flawless, no complaints. Time will tell as for durability. The Suunto styling is a touch sleeker and if you are into brand recognition and flash, the Suunto has that aesthetic and prof sex appeal.
Nowhere are the watch dimensions published....How big and thick is this item?
A shopper on Oct 6, 2015
BEST ANSWER: About 2 inches in diameter and just under 3/4 inch thick.
Is the Mares Smart showing minutes and seconds in free dive mode?
Gunnar B on Jul 11, 2017
BEST ANSWER: Yes it will show depth, minutes, seconds and surface interval time countdowns. Oh and temp
In the freedive mode, how frequent is the sampling rate?
A shopper on Jan 26, 2016
BEST ANSWER: I have never used the computer in the free dive mode!
What is the warranty on this?
Steve K on Jun 3, 2015
BEST ANSWER: 24 month warranty from the Manufacturer.
The dive mode starts automatically when we submerge?
Reinaldo B on Apr 20, 2016
BEST ANSWER: Yes. If the dive computer is on when you start to descend it starts to record the dive almost immediately. If it is off it starts recording the dive within 20 seconds of descending.
does this have a compass?
jeffrey S on Mar 3, 2018
BEST ANSWER: No. However I purchased a sunnto watch band compass to place on the wristband. They're inexpensive and work great
Does it also show the time/date?
A shopper on Sep 22, 2016
BEST ANSWER: Not while diving. But when in surface mode it sure does. You can cycle through the second time you have set up, the date, or seconds. Even back to surface interval after diving on the same screne. Not to mention you can also get the temperature as well. I highly recommend this computer. Also used as a watch.
Where can I get the o-ring for replacement battery? or Can I get the size of o-ring to find it on ebay?
Jaeyoung L on May 10, 2016
BEST ANSWER: I would suggest having a certified tech do the battery replacement - warranty is void if not done by CT and changing the battery is not as simple and straight forward as with other computer. The CT will also perform a pressure test to insure the ring is seated and all waterproof.
How big is the watch face? Measurements please.
Chelsea on Aug 13, 2015
BEST ANSWER: The entire watch face with bezel measures 1 3/4" across. The working window is about 1 inch across.
Can you toggle the conservatism of the algorithm?
Jeff J on Sep 12, 2019
BEST ANSWER: About "conservatism." I assume you refer to user adjustments to the calculations of depth(=pressure), time, SIT credit, stop times. I know of no such user adjustments nor would I recommend making any. The liability & rism management associated with this type of action would be prohibitive. Always use your best judgement and err on the side of being a SAFE, conservative diver. Budget EXTRA air reserve, reduce BTs, slow the ascents, add time to the deco and safety stops. Know your limits, know your health and condition, state of energy, hydration, level of ability, time, temperature, depth, current, stress level, equipment condition and status, dive buddy/team status wrt these factors as well. The one setting that IS user adjustable is in the EAN mode. You are telling the computer what EAN mix value you are using for THIS dive as well as the partial pressure values. AGAIN. This is not to be taken lightly. ALWAYS plan & dive conservatively. Live to dive again. Eddie M / PADI 384938
Will this switch between primary gas and my deco gas?
Michael on Dec 23, 2016
BEST ANSWER: Yes you can program 2 gases for a dive.
Is this computer also a stopwatch?
Filipe B on Sep 5, 2016
BEST ANSWER: Yes. It has a Chrono mode that acts a a stopwatch with a split timer as well.
Does the computer have a gauge mode?
Ashley B on May 16, 2016
BEST ANSWER: NOt sure what you mean by GAUGE mode. Depth? Of course. Water temp, EAN, Deep stop, auto safety stop, bottom timer - yes. TAnk pressure NO. Mixed gas/tech - NO.
EM PADI 384938
Any way to extend the band to fit cold water suit w/ gloves?
A shopper on Apr 18, 2016
BEST ANSWER: When I ordered my computer it came with an extension strap, which simply hooks into the attached strap to give you the extra length you need. Unfortunately I wasn't able to find any separately sold extension straps through Leisurepro, so you may have to outsource for any additional.
Is this computer -NOT- air-integrated?
A shopper on Jul 14, 2015
BEST ANSWER: It is NOT air intergrated.
Is this dive computer Mac compatible?
CLARK N on May 26, 2015
BEST ANSWER: Yes it is. Download the software on www.mares.com. You would also need the interface: http://www.leisurepro.com/p-mrspcdl/iris-pc-interface-for-mares-dive-link.
Does the computer link require a specific computer program for upgrades and to download dive profiles?
Seth S on May 18, 2015
BEST ANSWER: Yes, it does. And you need the download cable: http://www.leisurepro.com/p-mrspcdl/iris-pc-interface-for-mares-dive-link. Software available thru Mares' website.
Mares Smart vs Puck Pro: Besides slight improvement such as two buttons and better appearance, does Mares Smart got any significant improvement from the Puck Pro?
Kenneth Y on Apr 22, 2015
Mares Smart Wrist Computer
Mares Smart Wrist Computer
Mares Puck Pro Wrist Computer
Mares Puck Pro Wrist Computer
BEST ANSWER: The smart has a lower profile. The smart also has a scratch resistant crystal lense that makes it easier to see under water. No glare. You can wear it as a watch without it being cumbersome.
How deep do i need to go with MARES SMART, that DEEP STOP is activated?
Tiin Arwen on Jan 15, 2019
BEST ANSWER: Not used mine in awhile but normally my dive would start around 15 -20ft and will do a deco stop timer when you come back up to 15ft
Can I set the alarm in freedive mode? Like does it beep it in every 20 m?
A shopper on Aug 4, 2017
BEST ANSWER: If you want Freediving alarm options you should get the Apnea version.
http://www.leisurepro.com/p-mrssawc/mares-smart-apnea-free-dive-computer?searchinfo=mares+apnea&searchredirect=true
does is have free-diving mode?
Weidond on Feb 3, 2017
BEST ANSWER: Yes
How many dives this watch can store and save? & how cold temp. can it manage to tolerate underwater as there was a review (older) that it not for cold water dive? thanks
A shopper on Jan 8, 2017
BEST ANSWER: The Smart can record the profiles of approximately
35 hours of diving, at a sampling rate of 5
seconds.
Operating temperature: -10 °C to +50 °C /
14 °F to 122 °F
Storage temperature: -20 to 70 °C / -4 to 158 °F
daylight saving time... How do I change the time on it?? haha
A shopper on Nov 7, 2016
BEST ANSWER: Use top right (up/enter) button . Scroll to "SET" hold button 3 sec. dive first appears pressing button 2nd time brings up time. Hold button for 3 sec this brings up 24hr vs 12hr mode . Use bottom (down/escape) button to scroll to time and date. Hold top button 3 sec to change time. Once in this mode you can use up and down buttons to increase or decrease time. When done press and hold escape button.
I bought this computer not long time ago , and when I am setting a freedive mode and after Im coming back from my trip and trying to change the mode back to Air it even doesnt show me the option to change mode , what should I do??
A shopper on Aug 27, 2016
BEST ANSWER: The Smart exits the Freediving mode automatically 10 minutes after the last immersion.
What are the watch straps fit this watch?
BING L on Oct 27, 2015
BEST ANSWER: If you mean after-market straps, you can't. You'll have to buy get an OEM strap from Mares.
Can the dive log be cleared manually at anytime?
Chris O on Jul 2, 2015
BEST ANSWER: No.
top