List: $169.00

Your Price
$129.95

+ wishlist

  • Lightweight with a minimalist compact design
  • Ambidextrous design for ease of use
  • Reliable 2nd stage downstream demand valve
  • Durable with superior resistance to abrasion
  • Low pressure center area for easy breathing

In Stock Free Shipping

Mares MV Octopus Customer Reviews

Review Summary

 
4.2

(based on 58 reviews)

91%

of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Ratings Distribution

Most Liked Positive Review

 

Great Octopus at a Great Price

Mares took over the Dacor line and continue to make this Viper design type octopus. Functional for a great price. It is not a primary regulator, but a good low profile octopus that is low weight which is important with all the weight restrictions in travel now.

VS

Most Liked Negative Review

 

Only in extreme emergency

So if Tom Petty wrote a song about this it'd be called Free Flowin. My wife has the rebel as a primary and it has random free flow issues also. The only real benefit to this is low profile. I'd only use this if there was no other regulator available - even to rent.

Reviewed by 58 customers

Sort by

Displaying reviews 1-15

Back to top

Previous | Next »

 

????????????

By Bazsi I.

from Orange , CA, US

Great Octopus! Cheap and does it’s job!

 

Mares MV

By Sherwood T.

from Phoenix , AZ, US

I needed to replace my old octo with a newer more serviceable unit. After doing complete consideration of my needs and where and how I will be using it, I decided this was the one for me. i am a warm water reef diver.The unit came with a light weight hose attached and it is also light weight both are hi visible yellow and the price was right (on sale). I have completed a number of dives with and it worked well at depth with nitrox. Sherwood Thornton Phoenix Arizona .

 

Great Octo at a fantastic price point

By Andrew W.

Found this octo to be perfect for my pony bottle. Easy to use, nice weight and size, I ended up ordering a second one for by backup reg set as well.

 

Sleek Compact Octo

By John P.

from Concord, CA, US

Mares quality in a compact package, certainly not a primary 2nd stage but breaths well as a back up. With the bright yellow hose you can stick it in a pocket and still locate it quickly. Also can lay flat against your BC with elastic keepers. Great bargain from Leisure Pro.

 

Good octopus

By Paulo L.

from Rio de Janeiro, RJ, BR

I've acquired this Mares MV octopus some days ago and I am really enjoying it. Good price and this onto gets its job done!

 

Excellent Octo!

By ROGER R.

from Nederland, TX, US

This is an excellent low profile octopus. Breathes easy and comes with an excellent holder to help streamline your gear.

 

Good

By JOONGYU K.

from SEOUL, Dongjack, KR

It is easy to use because you do not have to worry about the bottom or top left and right when you wear it in your mouth.

 

Amazing octopus love it more than the 300 dollar primary

By Melvin O.

from Pensacola , FL, US

Got this for my first dive trip works amazing way better than my s12 primary easy air flow and light

 

The Octopus MV is outstanding...

By Papa

well designed octo that is very reliable and can be counted on when needed.

 

Slimline, easy to use does what it says

By Scogar

This is a simple slim line octo. It is comfortable and easy to retrieve and the 180 degree positioning makes it a super simple loaner for air emergencies. It doesnt free flow and the purge is easy to use in my experience. I added the Blue reef yellow flex hose and it was a great addition as removed a tone of weight from the rig. The mouth piece plug it comes with is perfect! the plug secures the reg and has loop for attaching to my BCD the octo remains secure and easily deploy-able. It isnt the easiest breather but it is an Octo and performs well as one but the features make it an amazing choice.

 

nice, cheap, simple

By Caco G.

attached this to my old aqua lung atlantis first stage (that´s right! rocking the old school) as an alternate second stage. slim, light, visible, foolproof and cheap!. hasn´t free flowed yet (took it on a 4 day diving trip on new years) breathes effortlessly. little warning though: it is bigger than it looks in the photographs. attached the mouthpiece cover to a quick release buckle with a zip tie, lost the cover on the first back entry. (ergo, avoid using zip ties)

 

A good second reg

By Ian

I do technical giving using independent cylinders & regs. This is a great left hand reg with good performance down to 50m. Ideal for a twin set.

 

Great octo

By Foundationer

It replaced my old Dacor octo on my Zeagle regs. Tested it on 10 dives,love it.

 

Mares MV Octopus by Mares

By Divemaster

The Mares MV Octopus is the perfect compliment to the Dacor Viper regulator made several years ago. It is slim, light, and perfect for use as a safe second. It is also very esthetically pleasing; a nice change from the old round units currently available.

 

Compact Octo

By Scuba C.

Slim design is unobtrusive and helps maintain streamline in water. Easily identifiable. Had full-size mouth piece despite compact size. No issues wit free flowing

Displaying reviews 1-15

Back to top

Previous | Next »

Questions & Answers

Start typing your question and we'll check if it was already asked and answered. Learn More
Browse 21 questions Browse 21 questions and 74 answers
Why did you choose this?
Leisure Pro Store
Seems like a good choice as I am creating my own Regulator kit, Low profile and easy to use as it can be use on either side of the mouth as an emergency I believe is efficient
Frederic G on Jul 18, 2019
the price was right it also had solid reviews for what it will be used for
Sherwood T on May 10, 2019
Seems like a good choice as I am creating my own Regulator kit, Low profile and easy to use as it can be use on either side of the mouth as an emergency I believe is efficient
Frederic G on Jul 18, 2019
Recommendation from salesman, (Very Trustworthy)
Kevin M on Jul 9, 2019
the price was right it also had solid reviews for what it will be used for
Sherwood T on May 10, 2019
simple and gets the job done.
sebastian m on Aug 19, 2017
for a reasonably priced octo
WILLIAM G on Jan 5, 2015
Terrific octo. Great Leisure Pro price. Would recommend highly, especially for instructors.
NEAL R G on Jan 4, 2015
I wanted a streamlined octo and the MV fits the bill. I also like that fact that it does not matter how I hand it off as well.
zachary a on Nov 18, 2014
This purchase was to match up with a Mares regulator that I had purchased earlier.
BARNEY C on Aug 7, 2014
Chosen for its compact design and visible styling as a backup on trips and for teaching purposes.
Stefano D on Jun 2, 2014
Great reg for backup or your buddy because it just as comfy upside down unlike other backups where you and your buddy pretty much have to be hugging so you both can breathe.
CRAIG C on Jun 13, 2012
Not good. The idea was good but it's poor in construction and after couple of months got broken. I've bought it two times because I loved it but get damaged soon if you dive everyday as I do.
VALERIANO B on Jan 29, 2012
Good reliable Octo.
GERALD O on Jan 12, 2012
Good reliable Octo.
GERALD O on Jan 12, 2012
Awesome lowpro octo. Good for diving in kelp forests and in other overhead environs.
STEVE S on Dec 20, 2011
Works fine and is very compact. I like the fact that it can be used either way. I routinely switch to my octo to make sure it is up to snuff and I noticed that this model breathes wet, something I don't feel is a problem for its intended life saving purpose. I think it is an excellent value for the money.
Felix on Dec 8, 2011
Compact, uni-directional, price, quality.
WILSON O on Jul 16, 2011
Recommendation from salesman, (Very Trustworthy)
Kevin M on Jul 9, 2019
simple and gets the job done.
sebastian m on Aug 19, 2017
Can Mares MV octopus be used with Scubapro's MK25 first stage??
A shopper on Aug 5, 2011
BEST ANSWER: I use my MV with an unbalanced OMS first stage on a pony bottle back up,and have tested it at 110 feet with no problems.This is my experience with this product, and I must say,I really do like the compact shape of the reg as it has a natural tendency to lay flat on my B.C.However, nobody will tell you it is O.K. to use these products together due to liability issues. I have never had any problems with my combo.
will the octo fit on the oceanic delta 4.1 reg?
A shopper on Sep 21, 2011
BEST ANSWER: I have it on a cressi reg so i cant answer your question but i can recommend it as a good octo. Ive had it for about 25 dives. Used it once during a freeflow issue. worked great while i fixed the cressi. Good price and travels well.
Can Mares MV octopus be used with Scubapro's MK17 first stage????
Dan E on Jun 27, 2011
BEST ANSWER: Hi Dan,

Of course, no doubt, because the thread of output in the second stage of Scubapro's MK17 first stage (female) is the standard for European manufacturers and the hose of octopus by Mares MV has the same thread of input (male)

Best,
Val
I see a yellow hose in the photo. Does it come with the yellow hose? How long is the hose?
A shopper on Sep 24, 2012
BEST ANSWER: Yes it does come with the yellow hose which is right around 42" long.
Is this packaged with the clip piece that fits into the mouth guard and can be hooked to a BC?
Chase A on Jan 19, 2012
BEST ANSWER: Yes, I am a PADI instructor and the MV octopus is my favorite octopus that I use with my students because it can be used from either side. Typically most octopuses are attached with a snorkel keeper, but I use the included mouth gaurd as the attachment because it protects that octopus as well as making a great attaching mechanism. I just attach the mouth gaurd with a nylon zip tie to an appropriate BC ring
is this octopus ok for ice diving ??
Frederic L on Jun 29, 2011
BEST ANSWER: Hey Frederic, my answer to you is "no" this reg will not perform in the extreme conditions of ice diving, I bought it strictly as a back-up reg (alternate) and for tropical type diving to which it works really very well. Mares makes a couple of models for ice diving try looking into them... good luck hope this answers your question.
Is this octo rates for Nitrox?
A shopper on May 21, 2013
BEST ANSWER: You can use this octo for nitrox up to 40%. It nice and compact and I've never had any issues with it. I dive in colder water and have never had it freeflow.
Can the Mares MV octo be used with an Aqualung Titan first stage?
A shopper on May 5, 2013
BEST ANSWER: It COULD be used, but differences in intermediate pressure might make it operate at less than peak efficiency. Make things easier: stick with the same brand on regulator stages.
Can this be used with a MK25 first stage?
Carl K on Feb 8, 2013
BEST ANSWER: Hi Carl,
The Mares octopus is just fine for my rec diving needs. I can't answer your question though. You need technical advice.

Leni
Is the hose a braided miflex?
Mitchell R on Jul 20, 2019
BEST ANSWER: yes it is a flex hose.
Can this be fitted with LeisurePro's yellow flex hose, or is the Octo's swivel feature part of the original Mares hose?
Stefano D on May 8, 2014
BEST ANSWER: Yes, flex hose will fit on here. There is no swivel on this second stage.
If I use Aqua Lung Mikron Regulator, does this Octo work well with the pressure? is this a balanced 2nd stage octopus?
Desmond L on Jan 27, 2014
BEST ANSWER: Yes, it will work fine. It is not balanced.
where can I find serial number?
Michelle B on Nov 15, 2013
BEST ANSWER: It is printed on the box that mine came in. Also, it is printed on the mouthpiece, NOT the part that you put into your mouth, but the part that is actually part of the swcond stage.
does this octopus come with the mares flex hose?
A shopper on May 24, 2011
BEST ANSWER: Sorry, the MV octo does not come with the flex hose. Check out the Prestige Octopus which comes with the Flex hose.
Is it Nitrox compatible?
A shopper on May 24, 2011
BEST ANSWER: Yes, to 40%.
This Octo appears to be the old Dacor Viper are the parts interchangeable?
A shopper on May 24, 2011
BEST ANSWER: Yes, this the same as the old Dacor Viper
Does this price ($74.95) include the hose?
A shopper on May 24, 2011
BEST ANSWER: Yes
Does the Mares MV octopus come with the hose?
A shopper on May 24, 2011
BEST ANSWER: Yes
Can Mares MV octopus be used with Apeks ATX50 DST first stage?
A shopper on May 24, 2011
BEST ANSWER: This octo can be used with the ATX50 first stage, though due to the first stage design it may freeflow slightly at depth. An alternative to the mares octo will be the Apeks Egrees Octopus which is balanced and should work very well.
top