Sale

Regular: $369.95

Sale
$299.90

+ wishlist

  • Back mounted BCD style
  • Low weight, compact, and foldable
  • MRS plus system for easy weight management
  • Suspension system separate back from the tank
  • Ergo inflator for intuitive and ease of use

In Stock Free Shipping

Mares Hybrid Pure BCD with MRS Plus Weight Pockets Customer Reviews

Review Summary

 
4.3

(based on 26 reviews)

88%

of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Ratings Distribution

Most Liked Positive Review

 

Great All Around BC!

Purchased these for myself, my wife and daughter last March 2016. We do warm water diving and have had more than 20 dives with it. Great all around BC - great fit, stable underwater and on the surface. Starting to customize it by taking away MRS and attaching aftermarket D-rings. Works great in either set-up. Recommended not just as your travel BC, but as your primary one!

VS

Most Liked Negative Review

 

Lousy workmanship or I am just unlucky..

I am disappointed with the workmanship of the BCD, the zipper was torn the minute I try to unzip the pouch. I wonder if this is the reason why it is on sale.

Reviewed by 26 customers

Sort by

Displaying reviews 1-15

Back to top

Previous | Next »

 

Mares Rocks!

By Josh B.

from Golden, CO, US

It is perfect for my diving habits of 3-4 dives a year. I have had for years with no issues none so whatever.

 

great minimalist bcd

By B M.

from Tampa, FL, US

Has functioned very well for the past 3 years while also taking it as a travel bc. Not much as far as storage but I prefer less bulk. They trim pockets also are in a great position. Overall can't really find any issues. This BC has been on around 75 dives

 

Love it

By Jeffrey M.

Great BCD. Well made

 

I like it.

By Gary R.

from Ankeny, IA, US

I've had 40 dives so far with it and like it a lot. Recently I took a quick Caribbean trip, and traveled very light so decided not to bring it with. Of course, the first rental BC I used leaked in two places... Lesson learned: bring my own.

 

Best Buy

By HAL S.

from Milkburn, NJ, US

Fantastic BCD. Great value. This BC is lightweight and folds. Yet it has all features you need and high quality. Two trips so far and no problems at all

 

Great BCs, great price!

By GREG M.

from Centerville , UT, US

I have 2 of these BCs that I use for training my larger students and they work great. Very happy with the purchase. Thx again Leisure Pro!

 

Great!

By James G.

from Port St. Joe, FL, US

I love this bcd!! I have over 120 dives on it from North and Central Florida springs, Key Largo's reefs, to Panama City Beach wrecks. This bcd performs flawlessly. I have made a few adjustments to the bungee for the bladder but that's about it, no damage or problems so far.

 

Great All Around BC!

By Romeo R.

from Makati City, NCR, PH

Purchased these for myself, my wife and daughter last March 2016. We do warm water diving and have had more than 20 dives with it. Great all around BC - great fit, stable underwater and on the surface. Starting to customize it by taking away MRS and attaching aftermarket D-rings. Works great in either set-up. Recommended not just as your travel BC, but as your primary one!

 

Great BCD for recreational and travel

By Paul M.

from Mesa, AZ, US

I purchased this BCD after my Open Water class I have about 25 Dives on it now. Being a back inflate it does have a tendency to kick you forward if you over inflate it on the surface. Once you learn not to over inflate and keep your legs in front of you it's just fine. I immediately replaced the power inflator with an atomic ss1 so I cannot say how well it works. My wife used it to get her Open Water cert and immediately fell in love with it and we bought her one too. It folds up real nice and fits in a suitcase just great. It is lightweight and doesn't add much to the bag.

 

Good

By henry

GOOD

 

Comfortable and made well

By Angus a.

It's very freeing around the body so if you hate the compression of a jacket BC, this is for you. Plenty of lift for me from the XS/S (I'm 5'10", 148lbs with a 31inch waist).

 

Underrated BCD

By Jaccol

This BCD is good example of underrated product. I've just made first 10 dives using this BCD in warm water. It is very easy to use, very easy to balance and comfortable to wear. After folding I packed this BCD, regulators, mask, snorkel and boots to the plane on board case.

 

Comfortable travel BCD even for everyday

By Kae T.

Wonderful service!

 

Mares Hybrid Pure - comfort & streamline

By Lulka111

I love this BCD - I did not want anything bulky and this is perfect - I actually took off the integrated weight pockets and use weight belt. It is also very comfortable and light. It folds up nicely - perfect for traveling.

 

Good for right needs

By JUSTIN H.

Nice BCD. Be mindful that this is a back inflated bcd so not the best bcd for floating on the surface as you are pushed to your stomach. Can be very compact if needed for travel.

Displaying reviews 1-15

Back to top

Previous | Next »

Questions & Answers

Start typing your question and we'll check if it was already asked and answered. Learn More
Browse 46 questions Browse 46 questions and 158 answers
Why did you choose this?
Leisure Pro Store
I needed a travel BC and based off of the previous reviews I decided this fit the bill. I enjoy back inflation and this seemed perfect. I cant wait to use it in PR this winter! <br /><br />I'll provide an update after use.
Ashley B on Sep 13, 2019
Looks like a good value.
Darin P on Jun 29, 2019
I needed a travel BC and based off of the previous reviews I decided this fit the bill. I enjoy back inflation and this seemed perfect. I cant wait to use it in PR this winter! <br /><br />I'll provide an update after use.
Ashley B on Sep 13, 2019
We own a Mares BCD and love it. After looking at this one, with more features and a great price, seemed a no-brainer.
WILLIAM R on Aug 26, 2019
Looks like a good value.
Darin P on Jun 29, 2019
Travel friendly. Outgrew my other MARES BCD. I was very happy with my prior choice.
JAMES K on Jun 23, 2019
excellent price and reviews. light weight and foldable
Michael J on Jun 12, 2019
For the size
Yasmin D on Jun 11, 2019
Good value
Nathan S on Jun 11, 2019
Wife needs a new BCD had a garage sale and instead of selling her old one I sold her brand new one for $20...have another one
Hatchterd on Jun 5, 2019
Best price, great features!
Chris W on May 19, 2019
Very well recommended.
Tatiana P on Apr 26, 2019
Best Price.
Matthew R on Apr 23, 2019
Hell of a good price.
DEL W on Apr 23, 2019
Features and price along with reviews
William N on Mar 26, 2019
due to the weight is integrated into the BCD
Patrick V on Feb 27, 2019
I feel that these BCs offer excellent benefits at a really great price. I am a scuba instructor and want my students to have a BC that's easy to use but also makes them comfortable and safe.
GREG M on Dec 26, 2016
We own a Mares BCD and love it. After looking at this one, with more features and a great price, seemed a no-brainer.
WILLIAM R on Aug 26, 2019
Travel friendly. Outgrew my other MARES BCD. I was very happy with my prior choice.
JAMES K on Jun 23, 2019
Does this BC come with a low pressure inflator hose?
Tabor T on May 15, 2017
BEST ANSWER: I'm not sure I understand what you are asking? There is the standard snap on connector where the low pressure hose from the regulator attaches. This connector is part of the power inflator/manual inflator - deflator assembly.
Im 6'1 and weigh 230. Currently I have a Mares Vector Origin size L . I like a snug but not tight fit. What size should I order?
SCOTT F on Apr 7, 2016
BEST ANSWER: Scott, I recommend the Mares Hybrid Pure with MRS Plus Weight Pockets size XL. I am 6 ft 215 lbs with 38 in waist and 45 in chest. I have dove in the Florida Keys with this BCD and the XL is a perfect fit and a light and comfortable BCD It performs very well. it also packs well for flight travel.. Bill Grego
What size is good for a person that is a height of 5'7 and weighs 155lbs?
Joey N on Feb 19, 2013
BEST ANSWER: M or L. The big factor is always how the back padding hits each persons body.
i am 180 cm tall and 75kg. Will the small size fit with me?
A shopper on Nov 22, 2017
BEST ANSWER: You'll most likely need Medium/Large
Does the bcd come assemble?
Brandon D on Jul 8, 2018
BEST ANSWER: I think so- mine was ready to go out of the box - or out of the bag I should say :)
Does the BCD comes assemble?
Brandon D on Jul 8, 2018
BEST ANSWER: Yes and no. What I mean is it is ready to go but you do need to attach the inflater hose. Easy to screw on. I love this bcd. Lightweight and very comfortable.
Does this BCD have a cummerbund?
Jonathan K on Mar 4, 2014
BEST ANSWER: It has belt that is integrated thru the weight pockets. It's not a cummerbund like my other mares BCD's? It's a really comfortable jacket and great for traveling! Hope this helps?

Mike
If you remove the weight pockets, can you use a standard weight belt with this BC?
Walter R on Oct 13, 2016
BEST ANSWER: Yes, you can do that. I actually used it this way while training dive students.
Hello,
I wonder if you can help me choose the ideal size of the Mares Hybrid Pure BCD with MRS Plus Pockets?

I am 1.77m tall, 69kg, 102cm chest and 82cm waist.
Bruno C on Oct 26, 2017
BEST ANSWER: I live in the States, so I'm not as versed in Metric. But I'm 5'10 and weigh 150lbs and mine is a small/medium. Fits great and still has room on the straps if I put on some weight.
I've been reading lots of negative reviews on the MRS weight system. Lots of problems with weights falling out. Anyone had this problem? Has MARES addressed this issue?
Dyan L on Nov 5, 2018
BEST ANSWER: No problem with weights "falling out" (assuming the weight pockets are "clicked" appropriately and the weight limit is respected - 2lbs per pocket).

That said the zipper of one of the weight pockets has broken after a month of use, making the pocket hardly usable (but easily fixable).

I think this BCD is a great bang for your buck!
I'm 6' 250lbs what size do I need?
A shopper on Aug 5, 2018
BEST ANSWER: I would order an XL. I was 6'2" 240 and this fit perfectly. It is adjustable quite a bit. Great bcd, lightweight and David at Leisure Pro is great to deal with.
Hello! I am 5'9" 165lb. 34 inch waist. 36 1/2 inch over the shoulder measurements. I usually fit a small bcd, but am nervous to order the xs/s size since it is inbetween. What would you recommend?
A shopper on Jan 25, 2018
BEST ANSWER: I am 5’10’’ 160lb. I bought the xs/s as per mares chart but probably should have bought the m/l because it is a bit too small for me. I can’t confirm that the m/l size is the right fit however, as I haven’t tried it. I think our size falls in between. It is possible that our shape doesn’t fit this bcd, only way to know for sure is to try it.
Is this BCD ok to use in water reaching 40° F? Or should I buy a special cold water one.. I live in Pennsylvania and only want to dive during the summer.
NiCoLe on Jan 13, 2018
BEST ANSWER: I don't see why it wouldn't be ok.
There are special "cold water" regulators, but I've never heard about cold water BCDs
What size for 170cm,63kg, will be good? thx
A shopper on Jun 19, 2014
BEST ANSWER: The Mares Hybrid Pure size chart for 165-175 cm and 50-70 kg is size XS/SM. Bill Grego
Does this BCD have grommets or holes to mount a knife?
Jonathan K on Mar 4, 2014
BEST ANSWER: No, there are no grommets in this model.
I'm 5'9, 190lbs. What's a good size for me? Medium?
Justin A on Feb 6, 2014
BEST ANSWER: I'm 6'1 227 lbs - got a M/L fits me great
What size is good for 6 feet 165 pounds?
Aidan T on Feb 1, 2014
BEST ANSWER: The BCD runs very true to size. A bcd should be slightly fitted so I recommend the Large!
It states in description it can hold 13 lbs, is that each pocket or total ?
Fred D on Aug 31, 2013
BEST ANSWER: According to the manual, it's 13 lbs for each pocket on M and larger BCDs and 9 lbs for S in each pocket. There are also a couple of nonrelease weight pouches in the back on either side of the tank for distribution options other than quick release only.
Does this BCD come with weights to fit in the pockets? What weights should I look for to work with the MRS Plus System?
zingowner on May 22, 2019
BEST ANSWER: No .... both soft bean bag and regular hard metal weights work evenly well... they pull out easy to load with your amount needed.. usually it’s tannks and weights provided by the dive company
How is this BCD for floating on the surface? I currently have a back inflate and find that the only comfortable position on the surface is on my back.
Keith B on Jul 16, 2018
BEST ANSWER: I have scuba dived from shore in Cayman Brac using my Mares BCD for an entire week. I had to use a dive flag. The Mares BCD performed well . We dove the Tibbits Russian ship from about 120 yards off shore. I did not have to swim on my back. Bill Grego
What's the approximate size when folded? Wondering if it would fit in a carry on.
Andrew P on Apr 27, 2018
BEST ANSWER: ok my Mares Hybrid Pure BCD is size XL and with some folding does fit into my 19in x 15in x 8 in deep carry on luggage. Some advice. The most important item to carry on board is the Regulator with octo and dive computer.. This must also fit into carry on with pressurized cabin. I pack my BCD in a Scuba Duffel Bag with my Fins, mask and wet suit, and check this in with air-line baggage. Bill Grego
I am 6ft, 210lbs and waist size of 35". Which size do you recommend for the Mares Hybrid Pure? Also, my intended use if for traveling to mostly warm water places, but also some diving in NorCal. Would you recommend the Mares Hybrid Pure or the Scubapro Litehawk?
Klaus on Aug 20, 2016
Mares Hybrid Pure BCD with MRS Plus Weight Pockets
Mares Hybrid Pure BCD with MRS Plus Weight Pockets
Scubapro Litehawk BC, Black ~ 2013 (discontined)
Scubapro Litehawk BC, Black ~ 2013 (discontined)
BEST ANSWER: I am 6' 2" 180-lbs and went with the X-Large, due to their published sizing chart. The length fits is good, the only part that was obviously XL was the waist belt I think I cut about 24" off it was ridiculously long. Everything else is very adjustable. If I were to do it again I may go with the Large. I can't speak to the Litehawk but I love the Hybrid Pure my only complaint is the lack of a Velcro cummerbund the strap is a little finicky. Overall the fit is very comfortable and it maintains the features of a full size BC while still folding down a travel size. For a travel BC I think its a bit big and heavy but not unreasonably so. Based on the pictures I would guess the Litehawk is smaller but it won't have the same features as the Mares.
i am 5'6, weight 220 lbs, chest 44-45, waist 34.. what size should i buy and what is more important measurement height or waist size?
A shopper on Aug 1, 2016
BEST ANSWER: I am 6 ft 215 lbs and 38in waist. The XL mares hybrid pure is a very good fit for me. With your weight and chest size I would recommend the Mares XL Hybrid. You can adjust the waist with the belt to fit your waist. I would recommend discussing with a scuba Leisure Pro sales rep to confirm. They are very helpful. Bill G
I'm 5'10, 150lbs, with a 31" waist....what size do you guys recommend?
angus on Jul 13, 2015
BEST ANSWER: They have quite a large fit range to them. The straps are quite long. In fact I trimmed both mine and my wife's waist belt down some. I am 6'4" 195 and use the XL, She is 5'4" maybe 130 and uses the SM. My XL is quite big enough. Certainly will fit folks much bigger than me. Her SM fits her very well.
For your size I would go with the Mares size chart and use the Medium. If you were borrowing one say from a friend I would think you could get away with a small in a pinch as they are quite adjustable.
Here again, if you are buying new I would go with a medium just based upon your height and the size chart.
Of course best to try one on if you can. They do seem to have plenty of strap length for lets say bigger folks.
Your svelte waist size might allow you to fit either the SM or Med..
Buy from a reputable dealer and return if what you choose does not fit.
can this bcd be fitted with a left shoulder octo with the inflator side?
A shopper on Mar 24, 2015
BEST ANSWER: Yes, can be swapped left to right. Only challenge is that the velcro used to keep the inflator from flopping around is sewn into the left shoulder strap. There are a couple of dump valve guides sewn into the right shoulder strap. Not show stoppers, just need to know about them. Otherwise the bcd fittings are interchangeable, I just checked them.
Does this BCD comes with two tank stripes?
A shopper on Jul 3, 2014
BEST ANSWER: Yes. A main clip type strap in the lower position and a Velcro only strap in the upper position.
hi is this the BCD that is good if you have back issues ?
Alan K on Aug 23, 2019
BEST ANSWER: it may help because has the silver in his pockets but also be aware the bcd is like a buoy and push you to the front in the water
Will the XS/S size fit a 5'2", torso 17", waist 34" and 150lb?
WAYNE H on May 24, 2019
BEST ANSWER: Yes. I’m 5’5” 150 30” waist. Lots of straps to adjust for a perfect fit. Love this BC.
M\L is sold out, will XL work? I'm 6'1 36 in waist and weigh about 205
Jim L on Jun 17, 2018
BEST ANSWER: May be slightly large... Don't forget that with pressure on the body, gear may seem larger when diving deep.
How functional is the cam buckle waist strap? Can you swap it out for a clip style?
A shopper on Mar 26, 2018
BEST ANSWER: Yes you can
top