Closeout

List: $211.00

Closeout
$189.95

+ wishlist

  • Optimized Pivoting Blade optimizes each kick
  • Foot pocket eliminates parachute effect
  • Technopolymer construction for durability
  • Ergonomic foot pocket for comfort
  • ABS buckles for durability and ease of use

In Stock Free Shipping

Available in 4 colors

Mares X-Stream Open Heel Fins Customer Reviews

Review Summary

 
4.5

(based on 50 reviews)

88%

of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Ratings Distribution

Most Liked Positive Review

 

Amazing fins

I've been using these professionally for 3 years, teaching and leading dives in Lake Mead, San Diego and Isla Mujeres Mexico for the last 18 months. Light ( float ), kick soft, then power up when you kick hard. flick light for positioning when taking pictures. They track very well which takes pressure off the knees. ( I tried another company's hi-tech fins, had to use knee strength to get them to hold a straight line ). Hundreds of dives on them at this point, no problems with the buckle...

View full Review

VS

Most Liked Negative Review

 

Breaks easily

Bought these fins, after i unboxed them i tried them on and one of the straps that came with the fins broke. I ordered the bungie straps that mares sells and thought problem solved. I used my hollis fins and allowed my friend to use these, after we finished diving i asked him if he like them and he said they lacked power. In disbelief because the reviews spoke so highly of the product, i headed out through the surf to try them myself. While donning the fins in the surf a wave pushed the blade...

View full Review

Reviewed by 50 customers

Sort by

Displaying reviews 1-15

Back to top

Previous | Next »

 

10 year old daughter size 3 us

By MARK C.

from Atlanta, GA, US

I have gone through 5 different type of fins for my 10 year old daughter and these finally work. The other fins were two small more for snorkeling or the foot pocket was to big and she would constantly have the fin come off while kicking. This gives her the propulsion she needs and relatively easy to take on and off with the buckle strap.

 

My favorite fin ever. Much better than split fins in every way

By Handyman

from Gilbert, AZ, US

I purchased these on the recommendation of my dive master. Wow, is all I can say. I've been diving with split fins for years. I love their ease of use but always hated that they didn't have any umph when you needed it, like in a strong current or when diving in a river. I purchased a set of stiff fins for when I dive the river and they have lots of thrust but are tiring when you just want to tootle along. These fins are the best of both worlds. Easy going when you are sight seeing the reef, but when you need to get up and go, or fight a current, they deliver the power. The perfect combination. They are the only fins I use not. I particularly like the latch system for the straps. Super easy to get in and out of. Wouldn't even consider adding bungie straps to these. The stock straps are awesome. I love them so much I got some for my wife. Her comment when she used them for the first time was Wow, what a difference. I've had them for a couple of years now and a couple of dozen dives. No problems with them. Seem strong and well built.

 

Mares X-Stream

By GEORGE P.

One of the best fins that I have ever used

 

Fantastic fins

By BENJAMIN D.

from SLC, UT, US

The quick release buckle system is great. They come on and off easily. I have a women's size 7.5 foot, wear a size 6 Deep See 3/5 mm Men's Aqua Purge Slipper and use the extra small Mares x-stream fin. It has been a really comfortable combo.

 

Excellent Fins/No Fatigue/Highly Recommend

By Gumper

from Windsor, ON, CA

I highly recommend these fins. Excellent fins. Comfortable and buckle-style straps make them easy to get on & off. Also, venting in foot pocket eliminates suction when removing; great feature. Provides very good propulsion through the water with no fatigue. very responsive action for quick & forceful kicks or gentle finning. As a testament to the low fatigue factor my buddy and I were left in the water for 3.5 hours after a 30 minute dive. We had to swim toward shore to exit. After 3.5 hours of off & on kicking there was no fatigue build up in my legs. I am 54 years old.

 

BEST FINS AROUND !!!

By SHANE E.

from Castle Rock, CO, US

I absolutely love these fin's. The first pair I bought I wish I would have bought the larger size, but all I had to do was go from my full booties to half ones and then they fit perfectly. Great power, easy on and off and I would also recommend buying the bungy straps for them and get rid of the existing ones. I've since bought another pair and could not be happier with these fins. Highly recommend them, great for traveling, small, compact and easy to pack

 

Love these fins!

By STEVE F.

from Mentor , OH, US

I'm very happy with these fins, very light weight and great propulsion also! I've had them on multiple dive trips and are holding up with no problems.

 

Just what I was looking for

By BOB R.

I have been using Sherwood Trek split fins for several years and absolutely love them...while diving. However they presented me with two problems. First, they are so big they are difficult to fit in the fin pocket of my travel bag. Next and more troubling is that they suction to my boots and are extremely difficult to remove when preparing to get back on the boat. So I tried these X-Stream fins and love them. These are so easy to remove and they fit my gear bag nicely. Although skeptical at first, I like the buckles on the straps. I had to modify my kick slightly, but that was easy and actually fun to learn something new. These provide lots of thrust and are effective against strong current. Overall a very comfortable and efficient fin, highly recommended.

 

Good power and speed when needed

By DARRELL J.

from Rochester, NY, US

Bought these for diving the St Lawrence where there can be strong currents; fins performed well providing power and speed when needed. Recommend these fins.

 

The best Fin i´ve used ever

By Alex C.

wonderfull!!!

 

The best fins i´ve used ever

By Alex C.

Excelent for strong current

 

Great fins

By Colorado D.

I used these fins on a two week trip. Took some getting used to the click caused by the joint but once I got used to that I loved them. I did replace the straps with spring straps. The original straps are pretty difficult to remove.

 

light fin

By vwake65

have not dove with these fins yet but they did accomodate my boots (seasoft size 10) and they are much lighter than my previous fins wich are mares avantis

 

Great fins

By mitton

quick fast delivery as always

 

Great Fins

By Martin

Prompt delivery!

Displaying reviews 1-15

Back to top

Previous | Next »

Questions & Answers

Start typing your question and we'll check if it was already asked and answered. Learn More
Browse 18 questions Browse 18 questions and 104 answers
Why did you choose this?
Leisure Pro Store
livianas , buen desempeño , buenas para un niño o mujer por livianas .
LUDWING G on Apr 13, 2015
My wife had a pair and got tired of me stealing hers.
Michael O on Dec 30, 2014
livianas , buen desempeño , buenas para un niño o mujer por livianas .
LUDWING G on Apr 13, 2015
Online and first person reviews led me to these fins. They do not disappoint
WILLIAM G on Jan 5, 2015
My wife had a pair and got tired of me stealing hers.
Michael O on Dec 30, 2014
nice fins great price
James R on Jun 16, 2014
Excelent, the best fin ever!!!!!
Alessandro M on Nov 16, 2012
Excellent fin!! Powerful but very light weight. I've been extremely happy with this fin.
LINDA H on May 29, 2012
I bought these fins for diving in strong currents.
ROBERT M P on Apr 22, 2012
I choose this fins because mares are great for easy displacing below the water. Colours also are very great and different from the traditional black fins
EMERICH H on Aug 11, 2011
Online and first person reviews led me to these fins. They do not disappoint
WILLIAM G on Jan 5, 2015
nice fins great price
James R on Jun 16, 2014
Do they have good thrust? Are they easy to move around in? I do not want to be doing a lot of work.
A shopper on Jul 7, 2011
BEST ANSWER: These are the most amazing fins - I love them. I can't believe I am writing this about fins as I never thought different fins would make that much difference. I have gone diving with them quite a bit and I found they have excellent thrust and are super easy to move around in. They are also very comfortable. I used to sometimes get foot cramps in my old fins but never these. I am really happy I got them and have made diving even more enjoyable.
Would you recommend wearing booties with these fins ?
John S on Apr 20, 2018
BEST ANSWER: Absolutely, i wear felt bottom booties with mine. The heel on the booties help hold the fins on, and prevent the straps from rubbing against the skin.
Can the straps for these be changed out to accommodate the spring straps?
TARA B on Mar 17, 2012
BEST ANSWER: Definitely. I actually use the spring straps and they work nicely with the fins. The straps are difficult to put on. I had to take them to a dive shop to have them placed on. Well worth the investment.
I am deciding between Mares Quattro Plus, Excel Plus and X-Stream. Which one do you think is best, and why? I see that the Quattro has very good reviews, but they do not have the Optimizing Pivotting Blade, does that really make a difference? Or is it just marketing?
I am a begginer diver, but I am fit and have strong legs (I workout everyday).
Leandro M on Mar 12, 2014
BEST ANSWER: I have been diving for over 42 years with the original Scubapro fins and then with the twin jets. I purchased the Mares X-tremes because of the lighter weight and the great reviews. They are much lighter weight- takes a bit of getting used to after diving with the heavier fins. Also I had to add a pound or two to my weight belt or BC to deal with the less weight. I really like the Mares X-remes- they handle well with straight kicks and frog kicks. At times I thought someone was kicking me or I hitting something, but in stead it was the snapping of the fin on push off.
It does not seem the X-tremes are as sturdy as my old Scubapro fins. I had to return first pair after just trying them on because the clip broke. Overall I like the X-tremes. In 5 years I may or may not have same review- time will tell.
I am a beginner diver and buying my first pair of fins and Im having difficulty trying to find a fin that fits my foot. I know a ware the smallest size fins but my foot is really narrow and so Im trying to find a fin that will work well with narrow feet. Any recommendations?
A shopper on Aug 9, 2012
BEST ANSWER: I have these fins and really like them. the strap set up is really easy to release even with gloves on. I have just the opposite issue because I have a wide foot. I found the biggest thing is to try them on with what ever boot you are going to use. Some of the heavier boots will fill up the fin with no problem. Lesiure Pro has a great return policy and there is no risk at trying something, they take it back with no questions asked.
I wear a size 11 eee will they accomodate for a wide foot? is extra large the answer or will my foot be swimming inside
Cavan H on Nov 3, 2011
BEST ANSWER: I'm not really sure. I am 5'9" 160 lbs with normal width feet but I have never had a problem getting my drysuit boot into the fin but going one size up may not be a bad idea. But as for the fin itself, it is the absolute best fin i have ever used! I used to use an older set of Mares fins and these at least doubled my propolsion through the water. You will love them!!! Hope this helps.
So I'm a bit confused. I wear a size 10 shoe, and wear a drysuit with integrated boots. I purchased these in the regular size and couldn't even come close to getting the boots squarely into the fin. The "stern" of the fin only came to a little more than past my arch. I had a good three inches of space in the toe of the fin, and I just couldn't get any more boot into the foot pocket. The size chart indicates I bought the right size, but my arches were aching post dive. Should I go up one size, or should I just exchange these for a different fin altogether?
Michael W on Nov 10, 2012
BEST ANSWER: Hi Michael, I have a size 12 foot, with a regular zip up dive boot. I bought an X/large fin, Plenty of room. The only issue I have with these fins is their quick on and off clips. Mine for some reason likes to loosen up on its own, and you get that feeling of a loose fin, I don´t like that. Where I dive, the Guide has the same quick on and off clips and loves it. hope this helps.
I have a question about size because I've seen conflicting information online from another retailer. The XL they have rated from size 12-15. Now I'm a size 13 and width 2E/EE, I wear TUSA size 12 boots which fit snug and also size 13s (more room). Would these fins fit me?
Corey R on Jan 7, 2012
BEST ANSWER: best way to test fins is to try them on with your boots on ( you have to consider to if your boots is 7 mm or 3 mm) . even that you have to test them in water. relying on size by internet suggestion wont be of much help. ive used these fins and it makes you kick differently because of its design. it takes time to get used to.
Ordered a small for a women size 7.5. The small was really wide. I am not planning to wear a sock. i am bying these fins for both scuba diving and snorkeling. Would that fit my needs and would an XSmall be narrower? thanks
A shopper on Mar 18, 2014
BEST ANSWER: These fins are meant to be worn with boots. They will be too wide and uncomfortable when used barefoot.
are this blades positive, neutral, negative blades?
A shopper on Jul 12, 2012
BEST ANSWER: positive & absolutely wonderful !!
How do I size these for an 8 1/2-9 women's foot?
A shopper on Nov 30, 2013
BEST ANSWER: They should be no problem. I wear 8 - 81/2 in mans and do not have a large foot. You could use a smaller size. Take the kid of booties you use into affect.
Sizing chart leaves a lot to be desired. I wear a men's 9 m and wear boots. What size should I order?
David S on Sep 30, 2017
BEST ANSWER: I have the same fins. I wear a size 10. My dive shop had me try them on with my dive boots and I ended up needing size 12 fins. I also changed the heel strap for a better, more secure fit.
Anyone bought the pink/white mares x stream fins? Didn't know if the white part became dirty after multiple uses, or if they were "cheap" looking in person.
caitlyn on Sep 9, 2014
BEST ANSWER: I do not have the pink/white, but I do have the blue/white and they get a little dirty, but my main issue is with performance. The Mares Volo Power is so much better on the surface and in the water I don't know why anyone would buy these fins. The Bolo Power are also less prone to breaking because there is no weak hinge point like on the X-Stream. Just my 2 cents.
What is the weight of these fins?
A shopper on May 24, 2011
BEST ANSWER: I was amazed how light they are - much lighter than my Blades. They are great for travel.
Does anyone know if the Mares Attack Fin Bag will hold the Mares X-Stream Open Heel Fins? Thanks.
Victor S on Jan 22, 2016
Mares X-Stream Open Heel Fins
Mares X-Stream Open Heel Fins
Mares Attack Fin Bag
Mares Attack Fin Bag
BEST ANSWER: It will. The attack bag is made for Longer free diving fins.
could you please tell, description says that weight is 2.9 lb . Is it weight of one fin or two fins?
Lena T on Mar 24, 2015
BEST ANSWER: Combined weight of both fins.
What is the speed in mph.?
eldon O on Jul 19, 2014
BEST ANSWER: Fins are not measured in MPH. These are efficient fins, easy on your knees.
top