Top Rated Gear

List: $195.00

Starting at
$175.95

+ wishlist

  • Optimized Pivoting Blade optimizes each kick
  • Larger super channel design from regular Volo
  • Foot pocket distributes pressure evenly
  • Volo design allows alternate kick strokes
  • Durable Tecralene/Thermoplastic construction

In Stock Free Shipping

Available in 5 colors

Mares Volo Power Open Heel Fins Customer Reviews

Review Summary

 
4.5

(based on 68 reviews)

91%

of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Ratings Distribution

Most Liked Positive Review

 

Bitter tears

I sold mine to a friend and I've been kicking myself ever since. These are the most comfortable, most efficient fins I've owned. I have to buy another pair - that's all there is to it.

VS

Most Liked Negative Review

 

disapointing

Be aware that these fin's wont last really long: The black flexible plastic will disconnect from the colored more rigid plastic at the tip of the fin. I bought a first set 4 years ago and thought this was normal wear and tear . But I recently purchased a new set (May2013) and it started to break only 30 days of normal uses (about 20 dives). This is not acceptable, especially for product branded by Mares. Not worth the money spend.

Reviewed by 68 customers

Sort by

Displaying reviews 1-15

Back to top

Previous | Next »

 

Very nice set of fins, can’t wait to use them!

By Benjamin J.

Good fit , good look!

 

Very Nice Fins

By Olav G.

from Charleston, SC, US

Took them on my trip to Bonaire and was very pleased - good fit and well made

 

Leisure pro and mares-volo fins.

By Bryan M.

from woodlawn , TN, US

I had to teturn the fins due to a defect in one of the fin blades. They were on back order, had to purchase them somewhere else. The fins I bought somewhere else were the exact same ones. They are some of the best fins I have owned todate. Bought my wife a pair. Leisurepro's return process is one of best customer oriented and simple processws that I have ever worked with. I purchased other items from Leisure pro. Really like the mares-volo fins.

 

Love the fins

By BURLDENE P.

Love the fins so far. I exert a lot less effort than with my split fins. I purchased the bungee straps one size larger than usual per the recommendations of many on the reviews.

 

Mares Volo Power Open Heel Fins

By Kochakorn T.

from Chicago, IL, US

I purchased these fins after extensive research for a trip to Bonaire. I am 9/9.5W. I purchased the fins in size small. They fit perfectly with my dive boots. The heel straps were easily adjustable. I didn't cramp at all during my one week trip (with multiple dives daily). The yellow looks very cool and the fins are light(er) weight. I definitely recommend these fins!

 

Best fins ever made bar none!

By Ken R.

from Bozrah, CT, US

I've been scuba diveing now for over 40yrs. Iam NAUI AND PADI cirt.diver I've had several different fins over the years. I was visiting a scuba shop in southern fl. And they showed me these fins I thought they look kinda weird but I tried them in the shops swimming dive pool Wow! I had to hardly kick at all and the performance of these fins blew me away!!!! These are my second set my first set of fins my first set were stolen. The first thing I did was look these fins up when I was replacing my Dive equipment. TRY THEM YOU WILL LOVE THEM!!!!!!!!

 

Game Changing

By John P.

from Isla Mujeres, Quantana Roo, MX

My wife had a love hate relationship with diving. She loved what she was seeing but hated trying to keep up with dive groups and really disliked some pushes against the flow. So before our trip to Couzmel I bought her a pair. Let's just say when I get home I will be ordering another pair. For me. These are awesome. I was not once today looking behind me to see my wife. Or yesterday. So much for problems keeping up or wearing out from too much effort. Just order them.

 

love it

By Rachel Y.

A great pair! Not too rigid, and not too soft. Very easy to kick down water.

 

Love these fins!

By Randy

Was using my Scubapro TwinJet split fins when I started my Rescue Diver course. I switched to the Volo Power fins upon the recommendation of my instructor and after havng tried a pair. What an unbelievable difference!! Much less wasted energy with a lot more power!

 

Great Fins, Great Service!

By Shay M.

I bought these for SCUBA. My last fins felt slow and clunky. These were just as advertised! Fast, easy, comfortable. Found them true to size. Don't hesitate... get 'em! :)

 

I would buy this product again and again

By Shellby131

Prompt delievery and very helpful customer service!

 

Love these fins

By scubaNYC16

Awesome fins. My air consumption has dropped. Great power when needed on the surface or in a current. I highly recommend these.

 

Mares Volo fins

By Bigfish8

Great product at a great price and delivered on time

 

I highly recommend this product

By rjb

Easy on and off and extremely comfortable.

 

Love at first dive!

By cold d.

These fins are very efficient and give you a lot of power. Surface swims are a breeze now! Very comfortable too.

Displaying reviews 1-15

Back to top

Previous | Next »

Questions & Answers

Start typing your question and we'll check if it was already asked and answered. Learn More
Browse 17 questions Browse 17 questions and 50 answers
Why did you choose this?
Leisure Pro Store
GRANDDAUGHTER GETTING CERTIFIED.
LYNDA J on Apr 18, 2015
powerful and comfortable. But I would honesty recommend split over these.
RAZ B on Feb 5, 2012
GRANDDAUGHTER GETTING CERTIFIED.
LYNDA J on Apr 18, 2015
I love these fins.
KANDACE H on Mar 20, 2012
powerful and comfortable. But I would honesty recommend split over these.
RAZ B on Feb 5, 2012
I have been using these same kind of fins since 2003, I love them
LAUREN S on Jan 18, 2012
good fit, easy for my wife to use
GARY B on Dec 12, 2011
I am satisfied with how they perform and fit.
GARY B on Dec 12, 2011
.Powerful but fluid kick: never tired: love them
ERIC S on Sep 27, 2011
I love these fins.
KANDACE H on Mar 20, 2012
I have been using these same kind of fins since 2003, I love them
LAUREN S on Jan 18, 2012
I am a size 8.5 in shoes, which I recommend buying in some shoes I am a size 9, the other question is between regular and small blade is the same size? thanks
BONY C on Jun 3, 2013
BEST ANSWER: Since you apparently are interested in the open heel fins, that would mean you dive with booties which add some dimension to your foot, depending on their thickness. I would recommend going for the larger size, i.e. medium. You can always tighten down the straps on the medium (which come on the open heel, as opposed to the closed heel) as opposed to trying to stretch a too-tight small.
However, if you still are not sure, why don't you visit a scuba shop and try some on. You are not obligated to buy. Fyi, I wear a 10.5 to 11 size and purchased the large fin as opposed to the medium.
Is the Power Volo stiffer and better in strong current than the regular Volo?
RALPH G on Sep 11, 2016
BEST ANSWER: YES
I wear a size 10 pair of shoes .. however I wear a size 9 of Mares Classic Boot NG 5mm. What size should I chose when ordering the Mares Volo Powers? Also if I want to add the Mares Bungie straps what size of those should I chose?
Leon D on Oct 6, 2013
BEST ANSWER: Leon, I wear size 9 booties and Volo Power fins size REGULAR. They go together just fine.

I can't advise about the bungie strap size, altho I have "spring" straps from another source mounted on another pair of Volo Power fins. The brand and size aren't marked, but I'd guess they were size medium.

I'd suggest holding off on the bungie straps, tho, because the current Volo heel straps are easy to release, adjust and lock. Try them first. II prefer them to my spring straps, which are hard to grasp and pull back when my fingers are cold.

Benjamin
Ok heres my dilemma I need new fins, my wife has let me use her 11 year old volo powers the last couple of days, while I like the way they feel on my foot in the water they still felt a little soft and if I had to try and swim against a good current I could easliy out kick them. So has Mares made them stiffer in the couple of years or not. The other fin I'm looking at are the mares super channel but no one has a pair I can try. Help me here ?

Mike Welch
A shopper on Jan 22, 2013
BEST ANSWER: Volo Power (my son's, in XL) is a bit stiffer than the original Volo (mine, also in XL). But you can't easily outkick either model, in my experience. You will be able to make powerful enough stokes without fearing crams and fast fatigue, that's how it works with Volo. Having said that, if you really can handle three feet long freedive fins with ease, perhaps you are shopping in the wrong department now. Volo fins designed predominantly for recreational divers and for that use they are made powerful by all means without risk of overstraining your legs. If you read 48(!) reviews of Volo Power, you will find no complaints about them being too soft. The total score is 4.6 -I rarely see better reviews. My next pair, if a need arises will be the same Volo I have now, or, perhaps, Volo Power.
please compare mares volo fins vs. scubapro seawing nova fins.
which one is lighter and more powerful, less efforts?
A shopper on Dec 25, 2011
BEST ANSWER: I have owned both fins. Both are excellent and depending on your style of kick are good choice. Overall, I liked the Scubapros better. I first started on them when my wife needed a new pair of fins. We ended up buying a pair each. Just sayin. They are lighter, shorter, but when I really needed that extra thrust and speed, they performed like champs. Scubapro guarantees them for lifetime, including the spring heel straps. Watch your kick, keep your legs absolutely straight, flick your foot at the end, and you'll find this combo unbelievable to say the least. When gliding, I just flick my foot or dolphin kick. Frog kicks are also easy. You can glide around coral and wrecks without worry. I really didn't understand the need for a slalom fin before, but these are fun.
I have tried my wive's Volos, which I really like, but what is the difference between her Volos and these Volo Power fins?
Reid Konschuh on Dec 11, 2012
BEST ANSWER: I wouldn't call myself an expert and I certainly don't pretend to be one. I am a avid diver and divecon with SSI (dive master/ asst instructer) so I'm not a beginner either. I do own these fins and I am quite happy with their performance. I would think the only difference would be the power fins may be a bit stiffer than your wife's to add extra power and speed. The volo is know as a flexible fin in the industry so I wouldn't worry about it being too stiff. It's certainly not mares stiffest. The difference also may be the name only and you might not find any discernible difference between them and your wife's. My best advice would be not to take my word or any other diver's oppinion alone, call Mares. They have contact info on there site and manufactures are very helpful in general. I do personally like Mares fins and believe the Volos to be high proformance fins. Hope that helps. Good Diving!
volo
power new abs strap- rubber disentegrates. is the new aBS a replacemement and where to buy ? gooey rubber strap if sit in 35 degC and hi humidity. approx 1500 small granules of rubber
thaied on Apr 17, 2017
Mares Volo Power Open Heel Fins
Mares Volo Power Open Heel Fins
Mares Power Plana Fins
Mares Power Plana Fins
Mares Power Plana Fins X-Large
Mares Power Plana Fins X-Large
BEST ANSWER: http://www.leisurepro.com/p-mrsfsap/mares-fin-strap-with-abs-plus-buckle-assembly-black
What is the difference between the volo power open and closed heel?
A shopper on May 24, 2011
BEST ANSWER: An open heeled fin has a foot pocket with an adjustable strap in the back that you tighten around your heel. A closed fin is much more like shoe with a foot pocket that surrounds your whole foot.
I have these fins and would like to get spring clips for them. Do you carry them?
A shopper on May 24, 2011
BEST ANSWER: Yes, you have a few options. Products BLREZQLR, MNTFSB, and MNTFSCM should all fit on the Mares Volo Power fins.
Do the Volo Power fins have the old buckle system with the red switch or the new ABS system where you squeeze each side of the buckle to release it?
A shopper on May 24, 2011
BEST ANSWER: The Mares Volos do not have ABS buckles.
My husband wears a 9.5 or 10. What size, regular? Also, is there somewhere I can see the colors?
A shopper on May 24, 2011
BEST ANSWER: Yes, I would recommend the regular. Here is a jpeg showing the different colors.
I am a size 9.5 in a shoe, what size should I get and how long are these fins?
A shopper on May 24, 2011
BEST ANSWER: I would recommend the small. The fins are approx. 28 inches long.
Note sure what size to buy in Mares Volvo. My shoe size is 10.5 mens.
A shopper on May 24, 2011
BEST ANSWER: A Medium will work out well for you.
could you tell me what weight the mares volo power fin is please
A shopper on May 24, 2011
BEST ANSWER: 4.85 LBS including shipping box.
I have a question about the color of a pair of fins. The fins is question are the Mares "volo power". I purchased the "blue" and its a little on the lite side. Is the "blue fog" any darker?
A shopper on May 24, 2011
BEST ANSWER: The "Blue Fog" is actully very light
top