Top Rated Gear

List: $83.00

Your Price
$69.95

+ wishlist

  • Three channel blade for optimum thrust
  • Compact and lightweight for travelling
  • Orthopedic foot pocket for optimum comfort
  • Durable Tecralene/Thermoplastic Rubber

In Stock Free 2 Day Shipping

Available in 4 colors

Mares Avanti Super-Channel Full Foot Fins Customer Reviews

Review Summary

 
4.5

(based on 69 reviews)

93%

of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Ratings Distribution

Most Liked Positive Review

 

Great Fins - Faster than my previous fav

These fins are over 10% faster in my underwater freediving timed distance testing than my standard Atomic Aquatics open heel split fins (which are considerably more expensive). They also handily beat out the full foot Mares Volo Race and the new ScubaPro SeaWing Nova fins by even wider margins. The Atomic Aquatics full foot split fin is actually a little bit faster than than these SuperChannels, but in my breathold distance testing, I was able to consistently set a personal best using the Mar...

View full Review

VS

Most Liked Negative Review

 

Not Impressed

First the good: These fins are lightweight and not too big, they fit easily in a small backpack, making them a good choice for a streamlined travel fin. The fins snorkel well and are extremely comfortable. The fins would be good for someone with bad knees who is diving in easy conditions. These fins frog kick well. Now the bad: These fins perform poorly in current. The foot pockets are very soft, which makes them comfortable, but they transfer power poorly (the sizing is dead on, ...

View full Review

Reviewed by 69 customers

Sort by

Displaying reviews 1-15

Back to top

Previous | Next »

 

Another solid purchase

By Helen W.

from San Ramon, CA, US

I had looked at other fins when needing to replace my previous fins after 4-5 years. My old ones had lost some rigidity and had been giving me blisters. However, i think it's because they were old, because these were perfect. Gave me enough power in tropical waters, lightweight, fitted in suitcase and were comfy with no blisters!

 

good stuff

By branka v.

this is a good product and it works great for rivers an lakes i use it for snorkeling with my son and the are very comfortable

 

lightweight with penty of thrust. A great travel fin for warm water.

By WILLIAM H.

from Virginia Beach, VA, US

Forget wearing booties. This is a great foot fin. I have been diving for over 40 years and currently dive professionally for a public aquarium. I also dive the mid atlantic and through the Caribbean. I use my Avanti fins on all warm water trips and they are perfect. Lightweight, pack easily and very powerful. I love them. I still have my first pair that are over 20 years old and just purchase a second pair.

 

This was received in exchange for set that was too bit

By Kimberly G.

from Nipomo, CA, US

Perfect fit and quality is good. Haven't been in H2O yet.

 

Good fins for a strong swimmer

By DENISE R.

from Wexford, PA, US

These work well for us. Not too long but have good power. Good size for experienced snorkeler. They fit well in 29" suitcase.

 

Great for snorkeling

By Selena W.

from Central Coast, CA, US

Love these for snorkeling at the Islands. I always use a fin sock but other people don't. They offer thrust, maneuverability, control and comfort. Good little fin to have in the collection for traveling.

 

Great Fin!

By jon c.

Great power and maneuverability for its size. Light weight for travel. Comfortable foot pocket. I use a 2mm sock with them for for protection. Low price is a bonus.

 

great fins

By Dawn T.

from NYC, NY, US

bought these for use in current/drift diving in cozumel and they're excellent. i don't like fins with springs or clasps. these are easy to put on - fold the heel back and slide your foot in as though you're putting on a slipper. they work well with dive socks too. as for handling current, they're excellent. they're great in fast, slow or heavy current.

 

I would buy this gift for any beginner to become efficient.

By Dave S.

Very prompt. Professional and kind.

 

Nice for the price

By Joewhit

Great service with return for smaller size.

 

like fins but runs a little big

By Josh

I usually wear a size 10 shoe. Bought the 9.5-10.5. They are a size to big. Otherwise I am happy with quality aand performance.

 

I would buy this again

By MICHAEL B.

3 days

 

. True to size XXL for my siz 12M feet.

By ChgoDiveBuddy

I have a 12M foot size. I ordered the XXL fin that is for 11.5 to 12.5 sizes. The fin fits nicely but to tight to wear a booty. That's great with Me since I never wear socks/booties with Open heel fins anyways. Great light weight fin for warm water diving.

 

LOVE these fins

By RV

Just used these fins diving and snorkeling in Cozumel and they were great to manuever even in the currents there. Super fast and comfortable and I was able to move quickly and change direction easily.

 

excellent fins

By turbobake

This is a great buy. You get what you pay for. I originally purchased one pair to try out for my son. He liked them so much that I have purchased 2 more pairs for the whole family! Great product. You won't be disappointed. The fin is very comfortable and efficient, not to mention FAST.

Displaying reviews 1-15

Back to top

Previous | Next »

Questions & Answers

Start typing your question and we'll check if it was already asked and answered. Learn More
Browse 32 questions Browse 32 questions and 108 answers
Why did you choose this?
Leisure Pro Store
Advice from a friend
Jean-Francois M on Sep 15, 2019
Great reviews
Bruce Z on Aug 12, 2019
Advice from a friend
Jean-Francois M on Sep 15, 2019
For Travel
PETER M on Aug 22, 2019
Great reviews
Bruce Z on Aug 12, 2019
previously owned
David C on May 16, 2019
Needed new fins and love mares brand
Chevy B on Apr 27, 2019
designn
TEOFILO A O on Apr 18, 2019
For scalloping.
JENNIFER M on Jul 12, 2017
Warm water travel space and weight. Also any full foot fin is more efficient then any open heel boot fin which also has a lot of drag.
MICHAEL B on Feb 8, 2015
Highly rated full-foot fins at a great price!
STEVE O on Dec 30, 2014
underwater hockey fin for my wife
PATRICK H on Oct 5, 2014
I believe this fin will be perfect for my Underwater Hockey practice. a good size blade that will give me good speed and maneuverability underwater.
ARIEL C on Sep 20, 2014
Mares has quality products and Leisure Pro has it at a great price.
THEODORE B on Aug 22, 2014
Good reviews - needed a lighter fin for travel - discovered I could use full foot fins without boots just fine.
ocpaul on Jul 1, 2012
Wanted a fin for diving and snorkeling. I read the reviews on this fin and was very impressed. After using, I was glad I mad the choice. This is an excellent fin for both diving and snorkeling. Great propulsion and maneuverability.
STEPHEN S on Apr 29, 2012
For Travel
PETER M on Aug 22, 2019
previously owned
David C on May 16, 2019
I wear a womens size 8.5-9, what size do I need to purchase?
A shopper on May 24, 2011
BEST ANSWER: I would recommend the 6.5-7.5.
I wear a size 8 ladies shoe. What size fin should I get?
A shopper on Apr 16, 2013
BEST ANSWER: For a women's size 8 you want to order a Medium/Large.
Are this fins good for scuba diving and freediving and how long do they last?
Arby O on Aug 24, 2013
BEST ANSWER: I have had the fins for 3 diving seasons & they are holding up very well. I had a pair of Plana Avanti before and they are still in good shape after over 10 years of use. I use my fins both diving and snorkling and am extremely pleased. I am 66 years old and a former competitive swimmer. They are very easy on my ankles and feet and very fast. I am a recreational diver and have been certified over 30 years.
I wear a women's size 6 and bought this fin in size 5-6. I'm not sure how to tell if it's a good fit or not. Can anyone provide some feedback for what a good fit really is like? Should there be any room or should it fit like a glove? I'm not sure if I need a dive sock or not.
Chelsea B on Apr 25, 2017
BEST ANSWER: I ordered my size 12 and find the fit is not snug. At first that bothered me because I was accustomed to diving with 3 to 5 mil. Boots (cold water diving). It felt as if the fins might come off or cause blisters, but this never occurred. I have tried thin booties and socks, both of which snuged the fit. The socks wanted to come off when removing the fins prior to climbing a latter back into the boat. I think it is what makes for a fit comfortable to you. When bare footed, I appreciate the ease of donning and removing the fins. When diving where I need to walk on rocks for shore entry, or around fire coral etc., I wear boots/socks. When climbing a boat ladder with a lot of tech gear, I wear boots because the weight of my body and gear make it painful on my foot arch when climbing the more vertical ladders found on the sides of smaller boats, which generally have narrower steps. As you can tell, I have put a lot of thought into this over the years. Finally, when walking to shore and on unstable surfaces for shore entry, you can't keep both hands free because one must carry the fins. Fins with straps allow you to hang a pair from your BCD. I really do love these warm water fins, regardless of all the pointers I have shared.
I'm interested in switching from TUSA Zoom open heal to full foot fins. Read many good reviews about Super-Channel. Any advice about picking full foot fins & what you're hearing from customers?
A shopper on Feb 14, 2013
BEST ANSWER: I switched to the full-foot fin, years ago. I got tired of wearing booties and having my feet being wet all of the time, aggravating the athlete's foot condition. I'm currently using the Mares Avanti Quattro Power fins, which are a bit longer than the Super-Channel fins. I purchased the Super-Channel fins for a divemaster friend, so that we could get the XL foot pocket. He originally wanted the Quattro fins, but Mares doesn't make them in an XL any longer, so... We sent the S-C's down, and haven't heard any complaints.

I suggest buying a couple of different sizes (your actual foot size and the next size larger), and returning the ones that don't fit. Mares fins sometimes fit a little "narrow", and you might need the next size larger to accommodate your foot. My Quattro's fit true to size, but I've had others that ran small...
I wear a men's 9.5 shoe and I have a narrow foot. What size do I need?

My wife wears a 8.5 ladies shoe. what size should she get?

We never wear booties so is this a soft comfortable rubber or should I be looking at another brand?

Thanks, Art
on line search on Jan 6, 2014
BEST ANSWER: Art,
I wear a10.5 narrow width & I just followed the size recommendation on the size chart & it fit fine. I had another Mares full foot fin before these & they are very comfortable and soft. I usually dive in warm water & don't wear booties. They are really comfortable, fast and easy on the ankles too. I am very happy with these fins.
Gary
Is this both for men and women?
A shopper on Dec 11, 2013
BEST ANSWER: Of course this is.. Make sure to make an adjustment for a woman size, if purchasing a man's size for a woman.. If you're used to wearing fins with boots, they're a totally different fit.. The user may like to wear a nylon or neoprene sock with Foot fins due to a possible slight rubbing of skin of one's foot against the inside material of the shoe part of the fin. They're comfortable to wear & light to pack in suit case. Great for shore diving & exiting the boat, but one has to remove them to climb back up the ladder to get in the boat.
I wear a men's 12.5-13, depending on the shoe manufacturer. Will the largest size fit me?
James B on Sep 10, 2011
BEST ANSWER: James,

I purchased these fins for a divemaster/shark wrangler that we met on a trip to Guadalupe, Mexico. He has rather large feet, and I'm told that the large size fits rather tightly. I, for one, purchased a different set of fins for doing pool work with my students, and even though I purchased the correct size for my feet, the fin pockets were tight, and to me, that was uncomfortable.

The fins that I dive with are the full-foot Mares Avanti Quattro, size Large. My foot size is 10.5 US, and these offer a rather roomy pocket. At one time, they were available in XL, but they are no longer available.

So... my recommendation is to try the Super Channels, in as large a size that you can get them. If you find that they are too small, you can always return them, unused. Leisure Pro is great in so many ways - but being able to try things in your own home is a wonderful benefit.

Good Luck, and Happy Diving.

Jeff
Everyone is saying these run large. I wear a women's 8.5 sneaker. According to the chart, I should get a M/L but I am wondering if I should go with just the medium. I plan on wearing these barefoot, no socks. Opinions?
Laura J on Mar 8, 2014
BEST ANSWER: I wear a women's 8 or 8.5 shoe, depending on the shoe. It's always been an 8 in athletic shoes. I ordered the 5-6 in the fin and wear them with a very thin sock (not neoprene) to avoid blisters. They fit great this way - neither too tight or too loose. Hope this answer helps.
I wear a mens 9 what size should i order?
Arby O on Sep 1, 2013
BEST ANSWER: That would depend on how you are planning on wearing them. I like to use socks in my fins (either 3mm neoprene http://www.leisurepro.com/p-osbss3/omer-3-mm-skin-socks or lycra socks http://www.leisurepro.com/p-xssls/xs-scuba-lycra-socks). If you are planning to wear the fins without socks I think you should be alright with a size 9. If they turn out too big, you can either get some socks or simply exchange them. Leisurepro is very good about these things. Hope this helps. Oliver
hi,

i wear size 42 EU, what would that equate too?

thanks
Levi C on Jan 23, 2014
BEST ANSWER: Hi Levi, I wear a 44 EU (and usually 10.5 - 11 US) and have the 9.5-10.5 full foot. They're quite snug, a little on the small side if anything, so the fins are true to size; and 42 EU is about 9 US.

I sometimes wear thin lycra socks when using these fins, but these probably don't affect fit.
I would like to get these for my wife. Are they listed in mens or womens shoe size? Or, what is the womens size 7 1/2 equivalent?
Thank you
Steve E on Dec 7, 2013
BEST ANSWER: I believe these are men's sizes. I ordered a pair for my wife who wears a size 7.5. I ordered these fins in one size down (5-6).

They are slightly loose on her so she wears a thin neoprene booty and they fit just fine. We love the full fit fins. You don't even know you have them on as they are so much more comfortable than the heal strap type.

Don't forget if you order them and they are too large or too small, you can get them replaced with free shipping according to Leisure Pro's Free Fit Guarantee. Just be sure to read the Terms and Conditions.
I wear a mens 9 wich size should i get?
A shopper on Sep 1, 2013
BEST ANSWER: I would get the 8-9. You may need to wear a neoprene sock with them. It depends on what kind of fit you want. I am a 10.5 US and I wear the 8-9 with no sock for warm water and it stretches onto your foot a bit. If your using this for cooler water you may want a 3mm sock also. I use the 9.5-10.5 size with a sock for diving in northern california where its a bit cool.
I wear a size 7 in women's shoes. What size find should I get? And also my husband wears a 9 in men's. What size should he get? Our shoe sizes are us sizes.
A shopper on Mar 30, 2017
BEST ANSWER: For a size 9, I would recommend a 42-43. Use any basic US-Euro size conversion chart to get the property size for yourself at 7, because they run pretty true.
Do you think the fin could fit a womens size 5.5/6 with a 2mm sock?
(have a akona 2mm low cut size 5 that fits well)
A shopper on Apr 10, 2014
BEST ANSWER: Yes, these will fit a women's size 5.5/6. I would suggest the Medium. If you don't like the fit please call Customer Service at 800-637-6880 and exchange it for the next size through our PFF Guarantee.
I wear men’s 11 to 11.5 US, what size shall I order?
Eddie O on Sep 2, 2019
BEST ANSWER: Eddie, I have same size feet. I got 9.5-10.5 size for bare feet, perfect fit when wet.
whats the length of the fin???
A shopper on Oct 24, 2014
BEST ANSWER: It depends on the "shoe" size. Mine are 5-6 (38-39) and they measure 23 inches. My husband has much larger feet (I don't have them here to check), and his are a good 10 inches longer. He's an 11.5 shoe size.

Don't hesitate to buy these! We've enjoyed them for years. If in doubt, buy the smaller size. For example my shoe size is 7.5 , and the 5-6 fit perfectly. These things never caused me a blister, and have afforded me ample power under water.

And we bought them red! So when we dive with groups, it's always easy to spot our buddy.

The only downside: if you do a beach dive, and it's rocky, you need extra booties, and then you need to switch once in the water, and cram the booties in your BCD... We mostly do boat dives,so we are completely happy with these things!
I wear a womens 9.5 . What fin size should purchase?
Gail S on Nov 16, 2012
BEST ANSWER: Very hard question to answer. I wear size 8 men's shoe and when I dive I wear a 3-mm neoprene sock. The size 8-9 (42-43), I purchased, fit me well. The one thing to think about is that the rubber of the fin is fairly stiff so do not expect to buy a smaller size expecting it to stretch because it won't. Make sure to wear a dive sock (not a dive boot) when using the fin.
Can anyone who has the mens size 8-9 tell me the total length of fin, need to know for packing purposes?
A shopper on Aug 30, 2019
BEST ANSWER: 25 inches. Will NOT fit into a carry-on luggage. Must use check-in luggage.
How do these fins compare to the Mares Volo Race FF? Does one provide better thrust over the other? Is one more comfortable?
HUAN D on Dec 2, 2018
BEST ANSWER: Avanti, in my opinion, and the 100s of students I have taught, who own these fins, has remained the most reliable, well fitting, and size correct fin on the market, not to mention the cheapest. You cannot go wrong, which is why I would go another route until proven otherwise.
Which fins are faster, Aqua Lung Stratos 3 or Mares Superchannels?
A shopper on Apr 25, 2018
Mares Avanti Super-Channel Full Foot Fins
Mares Avanti Super-Channel Full Foot Fins
Aqua Lung Stratos 3 Fins
Aqua Lung Stratos 3 Fins
BEST ANSWER: I don't think there's a test that will give you the answer you need. Both products are good. I would recommend selecting the one that fits you best - checking for full foot versus those that require booties. I prefer the Mares because I've have them for 30 years. They last and Mares always stood behind them. They are flexible, light and give me the control I want. I use them for warm water diving but prefer booties and strap fins in colder water. My answer is to not use speed as a deciding factor. You will learn how to maximize speed once you use them. Want speed? Get those 3' monsters.
I'm confused! The size chart says a women's US size 8 should get a medium/large but I wear a European size 38-39 and that says size medium. Which should I get? Also, how long is each of those two sizes. I'm looking for something that will fit in my carry on luggage and be light.
Barbara U on Jul 24, 2017
BEST ANSWER: Don't know about sizes. I don't remember how I sized mine. Best to talk to manufacturer. These are long fins and they will fit in s large suitcase.( 28"-30") lLay one down and put the other one on top with the foot part opposite of the bottom fin
Which are stiffer? The superchannels, avanti tre, wave FF fins? I found the tre too floppy... thanks.
Jungho K on Aug 26, 2012
BEST ANSWER: If you want a stiffer fin, try the Avanti Quattro- SKU: MRSFAQ.
I wear a women's size 6.5-7, what size should I buy? How long are the fins?
A shopper on May 24, 2011
BEST ANSWER: I would recommend the 5-6. The fins is aprrox. 22 inches (14 inch blade).
hi i was looking at getting a pair of these for warm water diving. my shoe size is an 11. what size fin should i get. thank you :)
A shopper on May 24, 2011
BEST ANSWER: 9.5-10.5
I wear a 9.5 men's shoe size. What size fin should I order in Mares full foot fins?
A shopper on May 24, 2011
BEST ANSWER: size 8-9
Hello, I am looking into fins for my trip to Cabo. My concern is how does this compare to womens sizes? example, I am tall and size 11 womens shoes. Thank you!
A shopper on May 24, 2011
BEST ANSWER: Men's 9. On average 2 sizes down.
I wear size 9 and 9 1/2 shoes, D or medium width. What size would be best choice in Mares full foot fins?
A shopper on May 24, 2011
BEST ANSWER: All mares full foot fins will work the same for you. Since you mention your foot width it would probably be best for you to go with an XL fin and then a neoprene sock such as sku: BLRNDSS
I wear a womens size 7, what size would I need to purchase?
A shopper on May 24, 2011
BEST ANSWER: You will want the 5-6 fin.
My husband wears a size 10 shoe in US, what size should he get?
A shopper on May 24, 2011
BEST ANSWER: Size 9.5-10.5 should work
top