Sale

Regular: $139.95

Sale
$129.95

+ wishlist

  • Composite materials optimize efficiency
  • Channel Thrust technology for optimum power
  • Foot pocket adds thrust with less fatigue
  • Equipped with durable bungee straps
  • Designed for optimum responsiveness

In Stock Free Shipping

Available in 6 colors

Mares Avanti Quattro + Open Heel Fin Customer Reviews

Review Summary

 
4.6

(based on 76 reviews)

84%

of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Ratings Distribution

Most Liked Positive Review

 

The only fin you'll ever need

I bought these fins right before an internship in Little Cayman, Cayman Islands. Let me first say the folks at LeisurePro were super helpful with the return and shipping me the proper size the day before my trip. I've done it all with these fins- from conducting coral surveys on reef crests barely a foot deep, to pinnacle diving on Grand Cayman at 105 feet and freediving to the bottom of the Kittiwake wreck. They are pretty powerful when you use them correctly, so it definitely takes some ...

View full Review

VS

Most Liked Negative Review

 

Strap came off

I purchased these while on sale in the Spring but did not use them until December. I sought advice using Live Chat for a fin to replace my 25 year old fins but were easier to get ON and OFF. They highly recommended these fins. These fins are easy to get ON and OFF which is a real plus. However I have two issues. Compared to my old Scuba Pro fins these are harder on the legs with no better propulsion. They were not real bad but as I am getting older I did not want to get ones that were w...

View full Review

Reviewed by 76 customers

Sort by

Displaying reviews 1-15

Back to top

Previous | Next »

 

Mares Avanti Quattro + Open Heel Fin

By Despot M.

from Lynn, MA, US

good propulsion, nice fit for my personal preference.

 

Great Fins

By DOUGLAS M.

from WacHachie, TX, US

Mares Fins are the best

 

Great fin to swim in strong currrents

By JAVIER Z.

Tried them in a recent trip to Cozumel, sometimes currents are strong and these performed as I expected. A few kicks would give enough propulsion to effortlessly move through the water. Highly recommend them

 

Mares Finn Avanti 4

By Luciana S.

from Orlando, FL, US

A fantastic finn for different types of dive.

 

love these fins!

By Kathleen H.

from Seattle, WA, US

I love these fins - just the right level of stiffness (medium) for me. Though I had to replace the bungee straps with adjustable straps, since the bungees don't allow for any loosening or tightening of the fins.

 

Good fins

By Tanya M.

Good Fins. I use these for warm water diving.

 

Great and stylish fins

By Rachel B.

Comfortable fit. Good propulsion. Very stylish in the white color.

 

Mares Avanti Quattro Open Heel Fin

By Paul R.

from Woodland, WA, US

Purchased these fins for first diving trip to Jamaica and was not disappointed! Heel strap makes getting them on or off a breeze. And when diving off a boat there's far less risk of dropping one. Performance was also great. Was able to move faster with minimal effort than others based on end of dive air left.

 

Great fina.

By Craig B.

Good fit. Great fins. Highly recommend.

 

great fins

By Robert D.

from Blairsville , GA, US

Not heavy and frog kick great. I use for cave, wreck and open water diving. I got them in black of course. BTW if you plan on doing shark dives the recommend NOT have bright colors.

 

Good fins

By Krzysztof J.

from Schiller Park, IL, US

OK Perfect

 

Another Happy Avanti Quattro Convert!

By JAMES T.

from San Diego , CA, US

I have dived Avanti Quattros for a long time and occasionally would try to get her to try a pair. She is a very competent diver and totally capable of coming to her own conclusions. She has always dived hinged fins and does fine with them. She saw another diver with the same fins in some current here in Cozumel and how they just literally fold under that kind of load. I ordered a pair of Avanti Quattros from Leisure Pro in a small which turned out to be TOO small. Leisure Pro sent me a prepaid shipping label and she soon had her new size regular bright red Avanti Quattros. She just wrapped up her fourth day with them and she could not be happier. I'll mention that she is in great shape, we are daily swimmers, so no cramping issues but imo one needs some decent leg strength to push these fins.

 

Best fins you can get

By LUIS T.

Super versatile, great for open water and fresh water. Impressive mobility because they can be used for flutter kick, frig kick, to kick backwards. The materials are durable and a pur of avanti quattro can last you a lifetime

 

Overall, excellent fin.

By John I.

Great fins, I would recommend them to anyone looking for a all around great fin.

 

Great fins

By Bartley M.

from Rainbow, TX, US

These fins work great with dive boots . I bought a white pair and a yellow pair for my wife . They are very visible underwater and will propel you through the water. they are great for snorkeling or diving . I wear size 10 and my wife a 9 i bought the large. 2nd pair of these i have owned in my over 30 years of diving for the price you cant go wrong.

Displaying reviews 1-15

Back to top

Previous | Next »

Questions & Answers

Start typing your question and we'll check if it was already asked and answered. Learn More
Browse 43 questions Browse 43 questions and 165 answers
Why did you choose this?
Leisure Pro Store
own the older model and love it
Brenda K on Aug 30, 2019
Great reviews!
Kista H on Jul 25, 2019
own the older model and love it
Brenda K on Aug 30, 2019
Have Mares fins now.
C A on Jul 31, 2019
Great reviews!
Kista H on Jul 25, 2019
My Dive shop recommended these, also the color and reviews were very good.
Piotr B on Jul 21, 2019
My wife told me to. ☺😊
Bill W on Jul 8, 2019
Seemed to be one of the better rated fins and had a lot of people that raved about how good they are.,
B M on Jun 3, 2019
Recommendation of colleague
Richard R on Apr 2, 2019
My coach recommended it
SYLVIA W on Mar 15, 2019
I have used these and found them great!
Seth N on Mar 3, 2019
Great reviews; great long time reputation. I initially purchased the Aqualung X Shots, but they were way too flexible and did not have as much thrust as my Aqualung Hotshots, so I am trying the stiffer Quattros to see if they perform better than the X Shots.
JOHN K on Jul 9, 2015
Rated as a Great fin overall
David T on Jul 6, 2015
Great price!
DR. A on Jun 6, 2015
I read a number of reviews and these were rated the highest. Ease of removal is very important to me and I like the oversized bungee and boot space to reduce the suction. Couldn't resist the color and it is supposed to still be seen at 100'! We will see. I'm looking forward to trying these new fins! Efficient, easy, colorful and great price...great!
jacqueline A on Apr 13, 2015
I use these fins with my drysuit rock boots and they are powerful and easy to don and doff. I just needed a smaller size for my regular dive boots. I read a lot of diver opinions as to which fins were best.
CAROL S on Mar 9, 2015
Because of the reviews.
50RWF on Dec 17, 2014
Love the straps on these fins, so easy to get on and off. They are slightly heavy, and stiff in the pocket,as well as a big fin but not to bothered by that, they are extremely fast when needed.
DAVID F on Sep 22, 2014
quality and reputation
albert g on Aug 18, 2014
TO use new bungee Quattro
Daisuke M on Jul 19, 2014
Color and good reviews.
Theresa R. on Jul 15, 2014
Have Mares fins now.
C A on Jul 31, 2019
My Dive shop recommended these, also the color and reviews were very good.
Piotr B on Jul 21, 2019
What size fin would you suggest for male size 8.5 - 9.0 shoe size?
A shopper on Feb 17, 2013
BEST ANSWER: Go for Regular size. Our shoe size is 8.5 to 9.0 and we just bought the Regular and it fits nicely. Good fins except that the wordings fade and the rubber at the sides may stain the fins, functionality wise, it's good.
i wear 36 jananese, and 6us woman shoes, is s size big for me?
sherry W on May 8, 2014
BEST ANSWER: I wear a size 6 1/2 women's with 3 mm surf booties with these fins they work but feel a little loose in the water. If you have thick sole diving boots for these fins it would probably be better.
Hello! What's the correct fin size to use with "Mares Trilastic 5mm Dive Boots size 10"?
Maurício H on Nov 24, 2018
Mares Avanti Quattro + Open Heel Fin
Mares Avanti Quattro + Open Heel Fin
Mares Trilastic 5mm Dive Boots 10
Mares Trilastic 5mm Dive Boots 10
BEST ANSWER: Thank you for your question. I have tried the trilastic 6.5 mm boot in 10 (same sole size... did not have the 5 mm at the store to try at the moment) and it does fit into the regular quattro fin foot pocket (9-11), if it was a boot size 11 i would recommend the next size up fin as the 10 fitted snug but fitted. hope it helps
I decided to buy this fin, but I don't know if I get size R or XL. My shoes are size 11. Which one would be better for me using a 5mm pair of boots?
Leandro M on Mar 13, 2014
BEST ANSWER: I am a size 11.5, and use a 5 mm. I got the XL and that worked out well for fit. However, the foot pocket is quite large on this so if you can try it on before hand that would be best.
I bought a set o f these. They came with a little pouch containing two of some sort of threaded adapters. Any idea what they are for?
EDWARD G on Jun 14, 2014
BEST ANSWER: The fin straps can be 2 lengths. Just add the extension to the existing straps if you desire a little extra length.
I realize that these are open heel fins, but with the bungee straps, would boots really be necessary? If so, do you have any recommendations for open heel fins that wouldn't necessarily require boots? I rented a pair of open heel fins on the last dive I went on that had bungee straps, didn't wear boots, and they felt fine.
A shopper on Nov 19, 2013
BEST ANSWER: This is the first pair of open heel fins I have every purchased, so I can't really vouch for other models, but I do know that these particular fins have little "teeth" (if you will) on the inside of the heel strap to keep a secure fit on your boots. To be honest, open heel fins are meant to be worn with boots, whereas the full foot fins generally have a more snug fit and you can play around with different foot pockets to find one that really fits your particular foot well.

If you're only going to be warm water diving, it wouldn't really make any different whether or not you used open heel or full foot fins. However, over here in NJ, we do all of our training dives at Dutch Springs, PA. I can attest from personal experience... it gets COLD. You would never catch me anywhere near that place without 7mm booties.

All in all, it's really your choice, my friend. I wore these fins in the Caribbean on an internship once or twice without boots, and I definitely noticed a big difference in power output. Your foot simply won't fit as snugly within the open heel pocket.

Hope this helps, and if you have any other questions feel free to ask!
Is Mares Avanti Quattro Plus suitable specialty kickings, such as frog kicks?
Tony K on Sep 21, 2014
BEST ANSWER: They work for me. I use the frog kick sometimes but not always. They are very good. The first time I used them it seemed like quite a workout, but as the swim went on they were great. Worth the buy as far as I am concerned. Wait for a sale as you will be able to find them a little cheaper than regular price.
I am deciding between Mares Quattro Plus, Excel Plus and X-Stream. Which one do you think is best, and why? I see that the Quattro has very good reviews, but they do not have the Optimizing Pivotting Blade, does that really make a difference? Or is it just marketing?
I am a begginer diver, but I am fit and have strong legs (I workout everyday).
Leandro M on Mar 12, 2014
BEST ANSWER: I personally have only used the Quattro Plus, so I can't really vouch for the other two models. I can say that the other models don't have the awesome lime green color available in the Quattro Plus model that I purchased. It doesn't really matter, but if you're going to shell out over $100 you might as well be fully satisfied with your purchase.

I've seen people using the X-Streams, but I'm usually weary of new technology like that. I think most of that sort of stuff makes it easier on your knees and ankles if you have difficulty kicking, tire quickly, or are simply an older diver. If you're in shape like I am, you'll definitely love the Quattro Plus fins. They're made out of an incredibly durable and stiff, yet flexible material that allows you to swim against a strong current with ease and gives you that 'pop' and power. Plus when you're diving in the Caribbean, it's cake. You barely have to kick.

Hope this helps!
I wear a size 13 shoe- what size fin should I purchase?
Edward on Mar 9, 2014
BEST ANSWER: I don't know if this will help you much, but I wear a Women's size 7, and I bought size small. I wear a 3m bootie with a medium (not flimsy/thin) sole, and they fit fine.

I had no issues what so ever adjusting to this fin from a split -- I bought them as an option to use for conditions with more current. Love them. I also REALLY like the bungee straps -- MUCH easier than the 'buckles' on my splits--
I wear a US 10-1/2 shoe and wear a 7mm wet suit boot, will a size regular Avanti Quattro fit?
BARRY A on Sep 3, 2014
BEST ANSWER: I typically wear a shoe in 10 1/2 or 11. I wear a 5mm bootie with my XL Avanti Quattro Plus fins. I think they fit perfectly, just tight enough to not feel sloppy but the strap is snug on my heel. I hope that helps your decision. JE
I'm US Men's 11.5. What size should I get? Also, what bootie for Caribbean diving? Thanks!
bob b on Apr 26, 2014
BEST ANSWER: Hey Bob,
I wear a US 11 , 5 mil bootie, and an extra-large fin. I dive in northern California and I like my fins to go on an come of easily. The Aventis have a deep foot pocket so they feel very secure. If you are adventurous, you might want to wear a full size bootie with a shoe-like sole. You won’t need the thickness for warmth, but I find having a shoe like booty nice when negotiating a craggy beach entry and I feel less worried about stepping on things.

Oceanview Scuba Divers
Bill Field
Hi! My shoe size is 9... Which size of fin do I need wearing Mares Flexa Boots 5mm (hard sole)?
A shopper on Jan 3, 2014
BEST ANSWER: I wear a size 9 or 9 1/2 running shoes. With hard sole boots, I wear a Regular size fin. The foot pocket is wide enough for the wide boots. You can also wear 3mil pool booties with it.
These new ones come with an adjustable bungee cord, which is nice. If you advance in your scuba skills, inevitably, you used to have to buy a set of spring straps ($50) to replace your regular fin straps. (for quick removal and replacement skills) With the Bungee Cords, you do not have to make this additional purchase if you work towards Dive Master or Instructor.
Hi! I'm planning to buy a pair for myself. I'm actually a size 7 and based on the sizes, that's small. Would my size change if I were to wear boots or not?
Marc S on Nov 3, 2013
BEST ANSWER: Since these are open heel fins, they are made to be worn with boots. If you are going to be using 5mm hard sole dive boots as opposed to 3mm soft sole then you may want to consider getting the next larger size. A good fit is important because if the fins are too loose they could shift around on your boots and if they are too tight, they may cut off your circulation and make the fins hard to put on and remove. I would suggest trying your fins on over your boots as soon as you receive them to assure a good fit or otherwise exchange them for a different size.
Are there any other differences between this and the closeout model other than the fin straps / bungees?
GARY L on Jul 22, 2013
BEST ANSWER: I believe the fin blade is made of slightly different materials, but don't quote me on that. If you're debating between the two I would definitely go with the Quattro-plus fins. The bungees make a world of difference. My buddy's buckles cracked on the boat, so he was SOL the rest of the dive. Bungees all the way man
if i use 9size boot, but also a dry suit boot, should i buy regular or x-large?
Andres D on Jul 27, 2016
BEST ANSWER: These should come with two bungee extenders that make the bungee a "tad" longer. The things are really pretty stretchy. Mares also has a conversion to put their adjustable straps on these fins. I think for dry suit boots, that would be a plus. The X-Streme fins come with that strap and buckle standard. I have both, and I like the strap option a lot. They have really improved that system with the latest version. Take a look at that. Light, quick and really adjustable through a big range of sizes. I would also check the width of the foot pocket with your dry suit boots by the way.
What size would I take if I wear a size 91/2 or 10 shoe?
Anthony B on Feb 22, 2015
BEST ANSWER: I returned these fins because they were too small for me. I am a WOMEN's 9 (men's 7) and I bought a small - but I use a large hard soled boot so I needed a medium. Ended up buying a different fin for convenience sake but this is a good deal. Good luck
my shoe size is 8.5-9 depending on the show. i'm planning to get 3mm boots; what size fin should i get?
m t on Jul 17, 2014
BEST ANSWER: That's pretty much my size, and the regular fit fine.
Hi I'd like to buy this fins. I've a old Cressi and my boot number is 8. What's my size? Regular????
Thanks
Rick O on Feb 7, 2014
BEST ANSWER: My dive boot is a Cressi 8, I bought a pair small fins and they fit perfect. Out of the box, dove 18 times in 10 days with these fins. The fit was a tad tight in my right foot but perfect otherwise. A medium would be too large for me. My shoe size is a US 8 1/2.
taking them off,easy or hard ?
A shopper on Dec 2, 2013
BEST ANSWER: Easy. Snaps are hard to put back on place if they come loose.
is the "flamingo" color pink, or more purple?
justin d on Nov 25, 2013
BEST ANSWER: It's absurdly pink! I picked these up for my girlfriend and On land they look slightly red-ish, but in the water, there is NO mistaking the pink!
I am a European 39 with boots would a small be the right size still?
sarah f on Nov 21, 2013
BEST ANSWER: It depends on your booties. I wear the same size and the fins are snug with a relatively small sole. If you are using a 5mm or more with sturdy sole then I would go medium. These are awesome fins - you will love them
Hello, what are the fin pocket with, depth and height for small and medium sizes? Which fin size would work best with size 5 Henderson H2 7mm No Zip Boots (hard sole)? Thanks!
A shopper on Aug 15, 2019
BEST ANSWER: I wear a size 10/11 soft boot with the regular size. I also had an xlarge pair for use with hard soled boot that I used with a dry suit. Those boot required the larger toe box. Since I only dive the warm Caribbean waters now, I sold the x-large pair. I have nothing to measure the regular size model but a Mares size 11 short soft boot fits with my wide feet. I prefer wider toeboxes than the regular provides so these fins are now a backup to my xlarge aegis excell fins.
I wear a US 11 shoe but with widish feet. And the Tusa low shore/reef booties - not neoprene. L or XL?
Michael M on May 10, 2017
BEST ANSWER: Good question. Do you currently use a different brand? I'd try the same size. I think LP has a return policy if they don't fit. However, maybe this is a good reason to visit a local retailer and try on a pair with your booties in hand? BTW, I have 2 pairs of these and love them.
blade width?
techmichelle on Jul 7, 2016
BEST ANSWER: 8 3/8 inches
I currently use Tusa X-Pert Zoom split fins. I am considering switching to a blade fin for the following reasons: floating foot sensation, better power in current, and leg cramps occasionally.
Do you think the Mares Quattro is heavier than the Tusa, and will help with the floating foot issue? Do not want to wear ankle weights, would rather have a slightly heavier fin. Also looking at Scubapro Jets. Thanks!
Erin C. on May 6, 2014
BEST ANSWER: I don't have the Tusa split fins so I can't compare directly. See if you can find a shop that carries both to compare in person.
Jets are heavy and will not solve cramping. I use Jets and the lighter OMS Slipstream fins for travel. I occasionally cramp with both. I found stretching and bananas in the morning help.
The Mares is a fairly light fin. They work well in the water and many swear by them.
We just got back from Cozumel and after 5 days of diving with mostly different divers everyday- @ 70% were using the Mares. They are very popular.
Everybody has their preference, but you have to find what works best for you.
Good luck and happy dives!
It comes with the new ABS straps model?
A shopper on Feb 24, 2018
BEST ANSWER: Yes it does and I really love these fins! I would by them again and I recommend them to you
How is the flex of these fins compared to the Volo Power fins?
T.J. on Feb 6, 2015
BEST ANSWER: I've never actually used the Volo Power fins, personally. However, I can assure you these are definitely some of the best fins on the market today for multipurpose diving. I used the atomic split fins before during my dives in the Caribbean and while they were cool to try and very comfortable, I didn't get the same power I did with these fins. These run a little bit on the stiffer side, but I never saw it as a problem, even in the laziest Caribbean currents...it just means you barely have to kick! Hope this helps!
I am thinking of ordering the Quattro + in the white.....my old fins are black splits and I need a change ...something different than the usual yellow or blue.....the lime and flamingo were just a bit too :vibrant"......seems to be more white fins out now....anyone have these in white??
A shopper on Mar 16, 2014
BEST ANSWER: I have the fins in Black which is my color of choice for all underwater gear. As a photographer I pick dark colors or black as it helps me blend in. Others might have preferences for brighter colors either to make themselves more visible underwater or due to personal preferences ...
All colors however will give you the exact same feel and results underwater. Adequate for diving with wetsuits, might be a bit too weak for the trim of a dry suit.
I need to buy a stiff fin since my Dacor (.83kg) bends too much for dry suit diving. I'll be purchasing Whites EVO dry boots (and Whites suit) and am debating between the Avanti Superchannel OH and the Avanti Quattro+ OH. I'm an advanced diver with 380 dives in varying places and conditions, but am concerned about the strength needed to use the Quattro + since I'm 65. I'm not overweight and somewhat active--but not to the extent of strength training in gyms. Which would be better for me? Thanks.
CAROL S on Nov 26, 2013
BEST ANSWER: These are a stiff fin. They give you a lot of power and speed, but you have to work for it. I do get calf cramps every time I dive (usually once or twice each dive). I'm relatively lean and don't have big legs, so maybe that's a factor. I also have sore feet at the end of the dive (nothing too bad, but you feel your feet and legs working. I do like having the extra power when there are currents, but once again, you work for it. I have used the super-channel full foot fins in warm water and found them to be more flexible but still powerful. I'll keep using the avanti quattro-plus for now, but would consider switching at some point to the super channel in the open heel version or something similar.
usa 8

euro 40/41

my size ?

from taiwan
A shopper on Apr 29, 2013
BEST ANSWER: I wear a women's 8 and bought SM
top