Top Rated Gear

List: $160.00

Your Price
$144.00

+ wishlist

  • Tempered 6063 gold anodized aluminum
  • Stainless steel threaded ends
  • Sling adjusts easily for power variation
  • Hardened stainless steel tip
  • Breaks down for easy storage

In Stock Free Shipping

JBL 6' (183 cm) Breakdown Travel Pole Spear (2D72) Customer Reviews

Review Summary

 
4.8

(based on 20 reviews)

100%

of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Ratings Distribution

  • 5 Stars

     

    (16)

  • 4 Stars

     

    (4)

  • 3 Stars

     

    (0)

  • 2 Stars

     

    (0)

  • 1 Stars

     

    (0)

Most Liked Positive Review

 

Tag and Bag

I purchased this pole spear after going on several lionfish hunting trips in the Caribbean. These poisonous invasive fish need to be "tagged and bagged." This pole spear allows us to easily take multiple fish on each dive. It is light and maneuverable, very good for nailing fish hanging out on coral heads or wrecks.

Reviewed by 20 customers

Sort by

Displaying reviews 1-15

Back to top

Previous | Next »

 

Super Heavy Duty.

By JAMESON B.

from San Francisco, CA, US

Just got back from Maui and wow is this thing killer. So much beefier than the Hawaiian Slings I saw out there. I also love the way it breaks down for packing/transporting.

 

Good product

By jme

The pole and case are very good for a travel set. I would buy again. The paralyzer tip is good for lion fish and that's about it. I can't even tell you how many hog snapper I miss before I switch to my trusty tip from my speargun and start slaying them. I've tried the tips that come with this and cannot recommend them.

 

Great size, quality, and price

By Freshy

It is a great spear. I spearfish fresh water and i can easily take it hiking or backpacking. Its durable and super light. The only downside is the case it comes in is kinda p00py.

 

looks good 2 me

By oldyeller

fits together good

 

Very Happy with this Spear

By UR50

I have had so much fun with this spear. I've used it at full length and with 2 sections, it performed very well. It seems neutrally Boyant filled with air and was really fast. Pretty heavy when filled with water. Fits nicely in my dive bag. The only thing I'm concerned about is I hope the threaded ends hold up, seem fine but aluminum threads aren't that durable.

 

Really nice

By Joaco

Its a very good polespear... And is so easy to use!!!

 

Great spear, very fast.

By Queenster

Great Spear. Perfect for traveling. The 6' measurement is without the tip, so it can be roughly 7 ft, or 5 ft, if you take out a link. It is extremely fast in the water. I love this spear.

 

Great product

By MARK F.

Love this spear! You can make it the full length or two section, and even just the end piece if you would like. The Three prong spear tip is ideal and works well for small to medium fish.

 

Great Product

By Sean

Great product...top quality and great for traveling

 

Tag and Bag

By Mike S.

I purchased this pole spear after going on several lionfish hunting trips in the Caribbean. These poisonous invasive fish need to be "tagged and bagged." This pole spear allows us to easily take multiple fish on each dive. It is light and maneuverable, very good for nailing fish hanging out on coral heads or wrecks.

 

good polespear

By yhhdf

this is a great pole spear when i got it i when out and shot a 9 pound sheep's head it was great very fast i think everyone should get this jbl.

 

travel sling awesome !!!!!

By brdwyjoe115

great item, total quality, and all around use, I LOVE IT !!! used it in florida and the bahamas so far,I am eating like a king.I cant wait for the warmer weather here in long island NY.Some really big black fish,fluke and flounder here.

 

Great!

By Merry M.

I bought this for my husband for his birthday. He loves it! Although he is a beginner, he goes fishing with our nephews that have been diving for years. They have the same spear and love theirs too. I will be buying another soon for our son's birthday.

 

Great Travel Sling

By East G.

Great for travel, neutral buoyancy with water filled chambers is great for accuracy.

 

Travel Compatible, fits in dive backpack

By off g.

Very good quality, collapsible for travel is the plus of this.

Displaying reviews 1-15

Back to top

Previous | Next »

Questions & Answers

Start typing your question and we'll check if it was already asked and answered. Learn More
Browse 10 questions Browse 10 questions and 32 answers
Why did you choose this?
Leisure Pro Store
Quality of gear!
JEFF S on Oct 21, 2014
Quality of gear!
JEFF S on Oct 21, 2014
Depends on where you dive as to what type of spear gun or spear pole you are allowed to use.
SHARON R on Mar 15, 2012
Depends on where you dive as to what type of spear gun or spear pole you are allowed to use.
SHARON R on Mar 15, 2012
Is this made from fiberglass or aluminum?
A shopper on May 24, 2011
BEST ANSWER: The pole spear is drawn and annealed 6063 aluminum.
does this gun come with bag?
A shopper on Dec 5, 2013
BEST ANSWER: yes, look closely at the picture and enlarge if you can ... the bag pictured is unrolled. ... each of the sections and the spear point roll up nicely ... you cannot see the velcro straps to keep the bag closed ... i like my travel spear ... i bought an extra section and the bag and velcro straps can still contain the extra shaft section .... .... a "break away" point is another worthwhile upgrade.
Is this good for a first time spearer.? And besides thread, tips, slings and extentions, what are any other spaer ar lux parts would I have to know for buying and being ready to go in to the water?. First timer
A shopper on Dec 1, 2013
BEST ANSWER: There are different places on this rock that we call home. And regarding most of those places we can agree that we usually visit most of the same places. If they aren't the same places, they have either the same or similar landscapes and prey. This set-up as it is listed is an outstanding beginners' package.

There are different locations on our planet that prohibit multiple band 'spear guns' but at the same time those same locations MAY allow the 'Hawaiian Sling' type of spear.

I have bought this product and used it in different environments. It is pretty awesome. Superb mechanics. Time will tell on the warranty.

Happy hunting!
I am looking to purchase this as a gift for my husband. What other tips or accessories should I consider?
CINDY P on Feb 16, 2015
BEST ANSWER: I havent been in the water much the last couple years, but here was my impression

as a beginner I found that the system was great as it was. if he plans to shoot bigger fish there are tip extensions and break away systems. After some experience myself, I met some other spearos and we added some self almagamating tape from the hardware store to make a better grip, and also created a better system for the band(including stronger band and dycron wishbone cord) so that it could shoot a bit faster. with use and time, the band will have to be replaced eventually. it is not a big affair to change it out

It might be a bit slow for his liking if he is an experienced spearfisherman. There are other faster, spears out there. For the price, not all are as strongly built as this one though
I am comparing the JBL 6' 3 piece spear with the 6'8" 2 piece spear and have few questions. I am going to be fishing to black fish and black sea bass off the CT shore and once more experienced take some trips to RI or NY and go after larger game fish like striped bass. Can the 6' 3 piece spear accept a slip tip? Will this spear do the trick with the slip tip for 28" + stripers? I assume I would need shock line and float assembly? Secondly why is the 6'8" 2 piece spear less expensive than the 6' 3 piece spear? Which one would be the better spear for what I am looking to do? Will adding the two foot extension to the 6' spear make it more comparable in power, range etc to the longer spear?
Oran G on Apr 25, 2012
BEST ANSWER: I used the 6'8" breakdown to get lionfish in the Caribbean. I used the paralyzer tip for fish up to 17 inches. I didn't use it on fish other than the lionfish but I assume it would work as well on any similar fish. In regards to the slip tip and floats I don't know because I didn't use any of it. I did get the 2 foot extension but never used it because I felt I had more control with the shorter spear. A lot of the time I only used half of the 6'8" spear. I would carry an extra tip, sling and sometimes I would carry an extension with me in case the fish got deep in the reef. The only issue I ever had with a fish getting off was due to busted barbs on the paralyzer tip, which is why I carried an extra. I also had a sling break on me but I was able to tie it off, finish the dive and get more fish with it. When I hunt I hunt with a JBL. I think you will be happy with whatever you choose as long as it's JBL.
I live in Michigan and I am wondering if any fellow Michiganders would recommend this pole? I will be doing most of my fishing in inland lakes around the greater Grand Rapids area, and I will also be doing a fair amount near the Traverse City and Empire area.

Any and all input is wanted on other spears that would better suit me as well...

Thanks!
Joel S on Nov 8, 2011
BEST ANSWER: Joel, I've only used this pole in salt water environs, which I would think are harsher than inland bodies of water, but it has served me very well and held up remarkably well: the body and the sling. I would, however, recommend getting a different tip if you think you'll be fishing hear rocks, or shooting under ledges - the included tri-tip is more of a delicate instrument. Hope that helps...
Does the entire length need to be used or can a spear tip be placed on the end of each length? Basically, can the pole spear be used at 2ft or 4ft?
Thanks, Art
Art B on Apr 18, 2016
BEST ANSWER: This is a 6ft pole spear and the spear can NOT be placed on any of the break down sections. So no, you can not make it a 6ft or 4ft or 2ft spear.
Hi, I was just wondering what the thread size is for the spear tips for this setup- most are 3/8 or 5/16 and I want to see whether I need an adapter... Thanks!
A shopper on May 24, 2011
BEST ANSWER: what the max weight can (2D72)caught
Is it possible to add a longer stainless shaft extension to the end? I am looking to add about 12".
A shopper on May 24, 2011
BEST ANSWER: JBL sells 2, 4, and 6 foot extensions for their travel spear, but I don't know of any extension that is only one foot. You can check out the two foot extension here.
top