Top Rated Gear

List: $179.95

Starting at
$129.95

+ wishlist

  • Pneumatic spear gun, Harpoon style tip
  • Robust design, Precision accuracy
  • 8mm Cadmium spear shaft

In Stock Free Shipping

Cressi SL Star Spear Gun Customer Reviews

Review Summary

 
4.3

(based on 41 reviews)

85%

of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Ratings Distribution

Most Liked Positive Review

 

the best so far money can buy

since i bought this gun ive beeen able to catch fish even inside the caves where they are hidding its easy to use and reload and lightweight i would definetily recommend it and cheaper than the dive shops!!!

VS

Most Liked Negative Review

 

Glad to be alive.

Due to the lack of instructions I ended up taking the nozzle of the gun off while trying to figure out how to load the gun when I nearly shot my head off as the nozzle went zinging pass my forehead along with several other parts as well as oil that strayed everywheres.Wouldn't recommend anyone doing that.Make sure you get more info before using.

Reviewed by 41 customers

Sort by

Displaying reviews 1-15

Back to top

Previous | Next »

 

Realible and durable

By JORGE H.

from San Salvador , San Salvador , SV

For the price, the best one

 

Good pneumatic

By J C.

Easy to use great deal for the money

 

Great spearguns

By Michael B.

I like this gun.Easy to load

 

Amazing power and quality and at a reasonable price.

By Walter K.

I purchased the SL Star 40 and 55 , I was amazed at the power of these spearguns and the quality of the gun. I am 63 yrs old and Not as strong as I used to be and the SL 55 would be difficult for me to load in the water , the SL 40 is better suited for me to load while snorkeling . This is my first purchase of a speargun of this type and would recommend it to anyone ! I give it 5 stars for power, quality and performance .

 

Powerful and Accurate

By Herodad68

from Sioux Falls, SD, US

Fantastic little gun, especially for the price! I use it for shooting Walleye and Bass along with various other species in low visibility environments. Powerful and accurate, it gets the job done. A litlle hard to load at times, but still easier and faster than a band gun.

 

Good

By alexey l.

from Miami, FL, US

Muy buena y delivery muy bueno recomiendo el equipo

 

Great product

By Tess M.

from Cheyenne, WY, US

Great product. Good power but still able to load with little effort. Price is fair.

 

Great gift!

By julia m.

My husband is in love with his new toy and canâ??t wait to use it.

 

Cressi SL Star 70 MM Gun

By GEORGE Y.

from Kihei, HI, US

This is my third gun in the last 30 years. My first one will not hold a shaft any more and I gave my second to the sea God. I hunt with this gun in the northwest and it can penetrate 100% of the fish I intended to shoot if it's properly pressured. In Hawaii this gun is not powerful enough to shoot many fish because it's shooting range is only about 7 feet. This gun is easier to load underwater than on land. I customized my gun by changing the spear tip, add on a sea spring and taped on a little weigh at the end of the barrel so it would stand on the bottom after I pulled the trigger. I'm a real believe in this gun.

 

still the winner

By ANDREW Y.

I recently bought the second one. Does it say something? My old one is still going strong, needed new shaft but otherwise fully functional gun and continues taking more fish. This is short, easy to pack for travel, easy to maneuver around reefs, powerful gun. Low, practically no maintenance, and it is cheap as dirt where spearguns are concerned. Oh, one more thing - it is very accurate, shaft goes where the gun points, I am actually using sights on top of the barrel for longer shots

 

Accurate, Simple, and Durable

By JAMES B.

I have two of these guns, the biggest and the smallest. One I've had for 9 years and the other for 7. Both still perform perfect although I've replaced the spear shafts and tips due to a combination of fast Arkansas bass and hard Arkansas rocks. Great guns though, I've buried the shaft to the hilt on a 65 pound grouper in the gulf of mexico with the large gun and the small one has taken any size bass or catfish I've found in fresh water. Still going strong, if you need a reliable speargun don't hesitate.

 

almost three years of fishing, no problem whatsoever

By Andrew F.

delivery was fast, no complains whatsoever

 

Great Buy!

By Jrsculpin

Great value for a great spear gun! Amazingly quick delivery due to lightning fast shipping!

 

satisfied with this product

By Scuba S.

Scuba diving/pleasure

 

i would buy this product again

By Bigdog

awesome the gun i have ever used

Displaying reviews 1-15

Back to top

Previous | Next »

Questions & Answers

Start typing your question and we'll check if it was already asked and answered. Learn More
Browse 28 questions Browse 28 questions and 63 answers
Why did you choose this?
Leisure Pro Store
My grandson has had good luck with his as well as a friend. I have always used Mares guns so I thought I’d give this one a try.
WILLIAM S on Jul 30, 2019
I bought one of these last year and it worked great. This is my second one. Its not easy to cock but worth the trouble when you see the power it has.
Laura Q on Jul 22, 2015
My grandson has had good luck with his as well as a friend. I have always used Mares guns so I thought I’d give this one a try.
WILLIAM S on Jul 30, 2019
404 437 5156
marvin c on Jun 28, 2019
I bought one of these last year and it worked great. This is my second one. Its not easy to cock but worth the trouble when you see the power it has.
Laura Q on Jul 22, 2015
Gift
HAROLD W on Jun 24, 2015
Great price, great gun. Powerful, easy to shoot.
HARRY D on Mar 27, 2012
404 437 5156
marvin c on Jun 28, 2019
Gift
HAROLD W on Jun 24, 2015
Is the Cressi-sub with the power reducer easier to load than the one without?
A shopper on Dec 25, 2013
BEST ANSWER: I love the cressi, its very hard to load with the single pointed tip. i have to push it in against a rock. i stopped using the Cressi because of this.

What works great is the Omer 5 prong tip with the Cressi SL. I hunt close in rockfish and lingcod to around 20lbs. When stuck with the 5 prong the fish never come off and dont move much at all. I hate losing a fish i shot, the 5 prong took care of that. You have to work the 5prong to get it out of the fish but you never lose a fish.

Hit a 20lb fish behind the head and it never moves. The fish are a little tore up form the 5 prong but the Cressi and omer 5 prong is deadly and a sure bet to put every fish on your stringer.
Does the Cressi Star SL come with the air pump used to recharge?
Michael V on Dec 1, 2018
BEST ANSWER: Yes. and in my opinion it comes with to much air pressure so I release some air pressure.
Does it come with line? and how would the shaft hold up against carp?
Sam O on Jun 7, 2017
BEST ANSWER: It does come with line but I personally prefer using 180 lb-250 lb (mono-filament fishing) line or braided kevlar
both of which are easy to find on-line.

As for carp, it's all a matter of fish size (weight / strength) and of course where you hit it (preferably in the spine right behind the head). You should be able to bring in a 40 pounder (well hit). Beyond that it becomes iffy ...
Cressi SL Star Spear Guns, By purchasing this ready to use or have to buy separate accessories?
jorge p on Sep 11, 2011
BEST ANSWER: the gun is ready to use. ;Most serious divers that use pneumatics replace the shafts as none of the standard issue shafts are of the necessary stiffness and can bend while loading or in a large fish. It is a good gun for the price however it is not as sturdily built as many other that cost more
How far can the gun shoot? What's the loading number?
A shopper on Sep 5, 2019
BEST ANSWER: At factory recommended pressure effective kill range is 2' from the tip of spear or less. I have no idea what a loading number is. Gun is fairly easy to cock. I would say anyone who can carry a bag of scuba gear and tank should have no problem. The higher you pump the pressure the harder it gets.
Can you fire the cressi sub on land?
Nathan1691 on Jun 2, 2014
BEST ANSWER: It's air powered with rubber seals , shouldn't hurt it but I wouldn't get in a habit of doing it I have 3 no complaints
Does the smallest of the guns, the 40cm, come with a holster? Also is there a small model with the power reducer? thanks, Denis
Denis P on Oct 22, 2012
BEST ANSWER: It does not come with the holster. It was advertised with Leisurepro as a power reducer gun, but guess what....it's not. You'll have to get into a higher priced model for that. It's still a good entry level pneumatic gun. What part of the world and how big of game will you be hunting for?
How well did it work? Were you happy with it?
A shopper on May 27, 2012
BEST ANSWER: This gun works really well I have purchased four of these guns and still have the first one that I bought they last really well
What all comes with this gun?
COREY A on Feb 12, 2018
BEST ANSWER: It comes with everything you need to get started! It comes with the help lever, spear and the start up kit
I bought a tip with 7mm thread it looks too big fot this shaft, is the thread 6.5?
A shopper on Jul 29, 2015
BEST ANSWER: Hi There,

I have personally tested the Cressi 7mm shaft with Cressi 7mm tip and the system works.
Can I buy a reel to add on this speargun?
A shopper on Jul 2, 2017
BEST ANSWER: You can, but you'll need an adapter as well.
http://www.leisurepro.com/p-slvuc/salvimar-universal-clamp
I'm trying to purchase just the line holder for this gun?
Ryan I on Apr 21, 2017
BEST ANSWER: http://www.leisurepro.com/p-csbsksl/cressi-complete-line-slider-kit-for-cressi-sl-star-spear-gun
http://www.leisurepro.com/p-csbr/cressi-gun-reel
Will the Cressi 5 prong spear head fit the 8mm shaft that comes with the SL Star 55 without an adaptor?
Laura Q on Jul 22, 2015
BEST ANSWER: Hi Laura,

if you are asking about this tip http://www.leisurepro.com/p-csbpish/cressi-5-prong-inox-spear-head

Than yes it will fit.
How does advertised length relate to actual muzzle to butt length? for suitcase fit purposes.
A shopper on Apr 28, 2015
BEST ANSWER: For my gun, the advertised length is accurate for suitcase purposes.. It travels just fine. You may have to turn the gun at an angle to fit properly but the measurement is from the tip (without the spear) to the butt of the handle.
What do you need to add to this gun before you start spearfishing? It looks like you need to add a shock line.

How long does the shock line need to be?

Is there any way to keep the spear shaft attached to the gun without it under power (for safety reasons getting in and out of water), or do you just need to keep the shaft out?

Can you get a five-prong head for this gun? If so, is it a 7mm thread?

Thanks.
A shopper on Apr 20, 2012
BEST ANSWER: the first thing I do, as Im on my third one, is the following:

- replace the shaft with Flexible Stainless steel shaft that has the Hawaiian flopper - i like it best.

- I dont use a shock line with the rubber shock absorber on it as it always tangles! - use regular cord for spearguns and i wrap it 3 times on the gun. this is great to keep store it as i wrap it 3 times then use the loader cord to hold it all together.

- if you are spearfishing in the ocean i would not get the 5 prong tip. use the shaft with the hawaiian flopper
What is the thread size on these shafts?
A shopper on May 24, 2011
BEST ANSWER: This is an 8mm diameter shaft with 7mm threading.
What is the diameter of the shaft?
A shopper on May 24, 2011
BEST ANSWER: Diameter is 8mm.
Does the speargun float?
A shopper on May 24, 2011
BEST ANSWER: The gun is slightly negative while charged. After the shaft is fired, the gun will float.
since this is pneumatic how times can you shoot in a single load?
A shopper on May 24, 2011
BEST ANSWER: Gun comes pre pumped. Gun will need only 2-4 pumps yearly. Each gun size will come with manual on exact pumping instructions for size. Gun can be shot 200 plus times with out pressure loss
What is the main difference between the Cressi Sub Star and the Cressi Sub SL? Also, do both come with line?
A shopper on May 24, 2011
BEST ANSWER: The SL comes with a reducer option meaning you can shoot the gun at half or at full power. The SL Star does not have this option. Yes, both come with line sliders.
Is These Guns Spring Action Or CO2?
A shopper on May 24, 2011
BEST ANSWER: These guns operate by air pressure, not a spring.
Good for quick bass fishing in a lake?
A shopper on May 24, 2011
BEST ANSWER: Yes, should be. Size 55 is a good all around gun.
how is this gun for shooting big stripped bass?
A shopper on May 24, 2011
BEST ANSWER: The SL Star is a good, multi purpose gun. For bigger bass, I would go with the 55 or even 70 inch length.
can cressi-sub sl star spear gun be reloaded under water?
A shopper on May 24, 2011
BEST ANSWER: Yes
hey how far does this shoot thanks
A shopper on May 24, 2011
BEST ANSWER: Each gun will shoot accurately the distance 3 times its length.
Exist any different in power between the Cressi-Sub SL Star 16",24",28"?
A shopper on May 24, 2011
BEST ANSWER: Yes, the larger the gun the more power.
top