Top Rated Gear

List: $249.95

Your Price
$199.95

+ wishlist

  • Highly durable and rugged construction
  • Suitable for rentals and recreational divers
  • Stable jacket style BC
  • Stable and easy to transport
  • 3 exhaust/overpressure relief valves

In Stock Free 2 Day Shipping

Cressi Start BCD Customer Reviews

Review Summary

 
4.6

(based on 71 reviews)

94%

of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Ratings Distribution

Most Liked Positive Review

 

tough to beat

Does exactly what it should: supports the tank and provides floation. Nothing sexy here. Good pockets and sufficent rings to hang your other toys on. Get the 'Pro' if you want W/I. So far I've used it on six dives and everything has worked perfectly. Word to the wise: There's not a lot of adjustablity in the waist area. So get the right size. At 6'1''/185, the (L) is a little loose in the waist for me. The (M) would have probably been a better fit.

VS

Most Liked Negative Review

 

Great starter BC.

Got it a few weeks back and tried it out last week. It's a really good starter BC and worth a shot if your just starting out like me. The only 2 issues I've got with it are when you are under, it gets allittle hard to find the shoulder air dump cord. The other is if you try to sinch it up level with the shoulder straps, it can chafe your neck. But I've got scoliosis, so I'm crooked from the getgo. I recommend this BC for a starter kit then move your way up! Hope this helps!

Reviewed by 71 customers

Sort by

Displaying reviews 1-15

Back to top

Previous | Next »

 

Great starter bcd

By buck S.

from Va beach, Va, US

Great starter bcd. Perfect for external weight belt. I ordered the xl as I’m 250 lbs. Doff and Don with adjustable buckles were easy to do for my open water feet.

 

Cressi Sub BCD

By GERARD C.

I went diving with the Cressi Sub BCD on the 4th of July at the Chesapeake Light Tower spear fishing. It performed very well. It is tough,rugged, functional and easy to operate. Inexpensive and highly recommended. ??

 

I’d recommend

By Jeremy R.

Love this bc is great for starters and at a great price

 

Comfortable and durable

By michael b.

from Lambertville, NJ, US

The BCD is the same as you find at many dove centers because it is simple and durable. The BCD provides good buoyancy and keeps the diver upright, which is good for new divers. The material appears durable and doesn’t seem likely to tear or wear while traveling, but it is rather heavy so you may need to suck it up and pay for the overweight luggage if you bring it. Either that or leave home something else, like pants.

 

Cressida bcd

By James G.

from 33538, FL, US

It is a good durable bcd for the price

 

Cressi Start BCD

By Marcos

from Columbus, GA, US

This is exactly what i had in mind: a simple,solid, low-frills jacket-style BCD, that didn;t break the bank. The reviews I found were almost 100% positive, and I concur. It has all the features everyone but full-blown tech divers need, with no stupid bells and whistles (and I say that as a former avid cave diver.) It's made of 1000 denier nylon, which feels like it will stop bullets. It has a solid plastic backplate, but it's of a minimalist design. I have about a 35" waist and weigh about 210 lbs, and the large is about a perfect fit (a smidge tighter would be ok, but a wetsuit will fix that). IMO, you can spend a big pile more, but all you're getting is the big brand name, and lots of goofy,over-engineered features and ornamentation. This is a very high bang-for-your-buck BC.

 

All around win!!!

By MICHAEL G.

from New York , NY, US

After many years away from diving, my wife and I needed to refresh our gear for an upcoming trip to cozumel. After having been left floating for over an hour on a few occasions by various dive boats, I knew the shortcomings of the typical back inflating travel bcds and determined to go with a jacket style. Criteria would be : not bulky (so we could try to carry it on airplane), durable construction for longevity and resistance to abuse, and low cost because of the potential for theft should we have to check tbem in for the flight. With this in mind we ordered 2 cressi start bcds. They are everything we hoped for and more. Solid and streamlined (compared to other similar bcds) with extra features like a tank valve strap, guage and octopus hose pockets and 3 point quick dump valves, its hard to think of any other features we would need. We lean towards old school, so the lack of quick dump weight pockets is a plus for us not a minus. We would absolutely purchase them again and recommend them to our friends.

 

Worth every penny...

By Andrew B.

from St louis, MO, US

This BC is worth every penny I paid. ( and then some). I am using it now in Bonaire and am impressed with the fit, comfort and quality. I usually take 1-2 dive trips per year and this is a perfect rig for me.

 

Good company

By Frederick H.

from Palm Coast , FL, US

Was a present for my granddaughter and she loves it

 

Cressi Start BC

By brianx

from Visalia , CA, US

This is a great BC. Have probably 50 dives with it and no problems. Quality product and light.

 

Good bcd

By Cheryl L.

from Columbus, IN, US

Good bcd for the price, good lift too. Size small.was.perfect for 160 lbs person.

 

Good product

By GEORGE V.

from Warwick, RI, US

I'm a commercial diver and bought this for my GF, it's nice and light, works well! Don't need anything more than this if you are a recreational diver!

 

good

By Ruben T.

from brownsville, TX, US

nice good nice good nice good nice good nice good nice good nice good nice good

 

Great Starter BC

By David B.

from Dayton, OH, US

As a P.A.D.I. Divemaster I have 9 grandkids and have started my 11 year old on basic skills, This BC is a great economical start.

 

good item

By JIM H.

from Punta Blanca, guayas, EC

used it today worked great and thanks for reshipping it to me at no extra charge> I am very happy.

Displaying reviews 1-15

Back to top

Previous | Next »

Questions & Answers

Start typing your question and we'll check if it was already asked and answered. Learn More
Browse 28 questions Browse 28 questions and 150 answers
Why did you choose this?
Leisure Pro Store
Light weight, basic, reasonable price!
LOUIS K on Jul 3, 2019
Low starter BCD to let grandchildren learn in pool
Walter M on Apr 22, 2019
Light weight, basic, reasonable price!
LOUIS K on Jul 3, 2019
Good ratings
Kerby C on Jun 20, 2019
Low starter BCD to let grandchildren learn in pool
Walter M on Apr 22, 2019
rented one from dive shop during scuba cert. Loved it.
Kelly V on Apr 5, 2019
I was in need of a BCD that was a primary buoyance source instead of just my inflated dry suit. I didn't want to spend hundreds and hundreds of dollars, this was reasonable price and had great reviews.
Scott L on Mar 16, 2019
This BCD is a gift for my daughter. She is small in stature and did not want integrated weights. The price was the lowest I could find for this type of BCD in her size.
MICHAEL T on Nov 23, 2017
does what its suposse to do, no more no less. it works.
sebastian m on Aug 19, 2017
good stuff good price.hassle free.timely arrival.consistantly!
ROSS C on Oct 2, 2014
This BCD is great.Simple and strong.It has every thing you need.I started diving in 1968,and own 3 BCD's.I use this one the most. I even took it to Grand Cayman in April.It is light for traval,yet full inflate jacket.
ROGER M on May 4, 2012
GAVE IT AS PRESENT PERSON LIKED IT SIMPLE
SUZANNE E on May 1, 2012
From viewing the BCD features on your website - Great!
RAYMOND S on Sep 30, 2011
Was the only one left in a Small size with the package I got.
VIOLETA A on Sep 26, 2011
As a new diver, I didnt need a bells and whistles BC to go scuba diving. Now that ive got some down time and looking to advance my diving skills, a new BC is just around the corner. Great starter BC!
EARL T on Aug 10, 2011
Good ratings
Kerby C on Jun 20, 2019
rented one from dive shop during scuba cert. Loved it.
Kelly V on Apr 5, 2019
How much does it weigh?
A shopper on May 4, 2012
BEST ANSWER: Dry, without any lead in the B.C. it should be under 5 pounds. I have been using this BC for my college scuba class for several years now, I have about 10 of them and have been very happy with them! I will probably buy several more in the coming fall.
how much does this Cressi start BC weigh? Does it have any places to carry weights?
Jim M on Sep 25, 2011
BEST ANSWER: I bought the Cressi Start BCD to replace my Seaquest Preditor - I love it - even better than the old Seaquest - I use it for hunting trips to the Channel Islands - streamlined - minimum drag - perect for us hunters - no place to carry weights - except in the pockets - No problem wearing a weight belt - because I also enjoy freediving with the same belt - when we are conducting classes I wear a BCD with all the features in front of students - because that is what the diver center wants to sell - but - for me - I love the Cressi Start - guess it all depends what you what from a BCD - And of course - Leisurepro service is fantastic -
Does this jacket have shoulder dump vents?
A shopper on May 24, 2011
BEST ANSWER: Yes, there is a pull dump on the right shoulder, as well as one on the left when you pull on the inflator hose.
I have a back inflatable BC. When inflated on the surface it tends to push my face into the water. Does this BC have infatable sides so that when inflated on the surface it keeps you in a vertial attitude with your head out of water?
Oly R.
Oly R on Oct 31, 2011
BEST ANSWER: I bought the Cressi Start BCD for my wife this summer and she used it on 16 dives in Cayman Brac in August 2011. The side pockets inflate as does the back of the BCD around the tank. The design of this BCD is similar to most of the the newer BC's on the market. My wife likes this BC, it has good construction and it was an excellent value. Only draw back is that it's a little heavy and could use a couple of D-rings. On the surface she didn't have any trouble keeping her face out of the water, but as I recall, the BC does tip her forward a little in the water. This BC is not weight intergrated. Some BCD's have non-ditchabe pockets in the back of the BC to compensate for the tendancy to pitch you forward in the water after a dive when your tank is lighter. - Bill J.
With this BCD, are there weight pockets behind your back?
Felix B on Aug 18, 2013
BEST ANSWER: There are no pockets for trim weights behind your back. This is a rugged, simple, light weight, no frills BCD intended for use by dive shops as a rental or for lessons. I recommend the BCD for travel and it is also good for any normal use. It does not have integrated weight pockets -- weight belt only.
Does this bcd have pockets to put weight in? And how many tank band straps in back?
A shopper on May 13, 2013
BEST ANSWER: There is one tank band strap in the back.

I've used BCD's in the past with the integrated weight pockets and did not like them...as a matter of fact, I lost weights do to that and so it makes me uneasy to use them anymore. There are 2 VERY large pockets on the BCD, although they are not specifically designed for weights, they could be used for it.
I use a weight belt and it works just fine with this BCD.

For the price - this BCD is fantastic ! It's comfortable, lightweight and fits like a dream. I highly recommend it !
I'm new to buying dive gear so this is more of an overall question but do you buy the regulator seperately?
A shopper on Jul 24, 2013
BEST ANSWER: When I was first certified back in 1990, I bought used rental equipment from the dive shop. I replaced gear as it wore out or needed up grading. Leisure pro has great package deals if you are looking at new equipment. I would consider a package deal if you need a regulator, BCD, dive computer. I would use your local dive shop for chosing a mask since fit and comfort are important. You can also do research on eqipment on Leisure pro's web site and on the web in general if you want to buy a little bit of your equipment at a time to fit your budget.

The Cressi Start BCD is a good entry level BCD. It doesn't have integrated weights but the overall quality is good. My wife has used it on 3 dive trips (over 50 dives) without any issues.
does this BC come with the hose that goes from the first stage to the low pressure inflator?
Daniel P on Nov 8, 2011
BEST ANSWER: Yes it does come with the hose. I have not used it though. The Reg set I purchased came with the BCD hose. I love this BCD in general. It is simple and does the job. I have 32 dives on it and it is perfect for me. It has just enough storage room for the basics.
Is it weight integrated?
KRISTOPHER S on Apr 12, 2017
BEST ANSWER: I'm not sure if I am understanding what some of you are saying. Are some of you actually suggesting that people put weights in pockets or secure them otherwise in the vest? Though an emergency ascent is rare you don't want to be on a deep dive and have to deal with opening pockets when your life is on the balance. This vest should be used with a quick release belt ONLY. Anything else is simply foolish and adds undue risk to a sport that already has plenty.
does this required a weight belt or is it weight intragrated?
A shopper on Mar 5, 2012
BEST ANSWER: The Cressi Start BCD requires a weight belt - Not weight intregrated - Is a rental BCD - We supply to students at the dive center where I teach Open Water - Is my favorite BC - For two reasons - I also freedive - So I have a weigh belt anyway - And for SCUBA I want a streamlined - no drag BCD - As many will say - I all depends on what you want - For me - This BCD is perfect - And the price - Is Great!
can I add a air 2 to this BC?
A shopper on Jul 27, 2014
BEST ANSWER: No, will not fit due to the non-standard corrugated hose on Cressi BC's. No Integrated inflator will fit.
Are these BC's size chart with wet suit or naked chest?
A shopper on Jul 10, 2014
BEST ANSWER: Well that depends on the thickness of your wetsuit. Here in Hawaii most people wear 3 mils or less. I'm 5'11 196lbs & I fit into a Medium BCD. We use these for our "Rental" BCD's... All our Suits are 3 mil.
Hope that helped
Aloha,
JC
I’ve seen the Cressi Start BCD on cressi’s Website & the pictures show an octopus compartment on one side & a Guage compartment on the other side. Does this one have those compartments or is it exactly what this picture shows?
Matt R on Dec 19, 2017
BEST ANSWER: I'm not exactly sure what you mean when you refer to a "compartment", but the BCD has pockets on both sides. The 2 side bags with the Cressi logo on it are also pockets with velcro flaps. I wouldn't recommend putting anything in them that you would need quick access to during a dive though (like an octopus or gauge) since the pockets get squeezed by the BCD as it inflates, making it difficult to retrieve anything from while in use. I use it to store weights in.
What size should I get?
A shopper on May 4, 2014
BEST ANSWER: Impossible to answer ... but as a point of reference ... I am 5' 10" and @195 lbs -- the "large" size fits fine. The sizing chart on the Leisure Pro e-catalog page seems pretty accurate
Picture(s) of tank strap? Cam lock or velcro?
J K on Jan 26, 2018
BEST ANSWER: I will have to look as mine is storage. Contact me at jfdodd1 at aol
I'm reading conflicting info on sizing. There seem to be guys my size wearing M,L and XL !
I'm average build, 5-11", about 210#, waist about 35 and chest about 41-42, and i prefer a firm fit. Is a medium ok, or too small?
Thanks......
Marcos on Jan 15, 2018
BEST ANSWER: I am about your same size and I got a medium that I had to exchange for a large. The medium was a little too snug
Is this Nitrox compatible?
Adam L on Apr 10, 2014
BEST ANSWER: Yes -- all BCDs are nitrox compatible. The slightly elevated exposure to oxygen will wear rubber and plastic parts marginally faster -- but that is probably measured in years with the differences we are talking about. "Nitrox Compatiblity" is an issue for regulator and tank parts if your nitrox fills are not "pre-mixed" air and added oxygen. Compatibility is not an issue for BCDs. Once the gas is in your tank, it is "mixed."
There are supposedly 3 dump valves on this BCD. One on the right shoulder, One on the left shoulder integrated into the inflator and one on lower right (near right hip) where is the dump string mounted for the rear valve? Is it mounted on the right front like other Cressi BCD's (AuqaPro 5) or does it just hang in the back requiring you to reach back to dump air.
A shopper on Sep 4, 2013
BEST ANSWER: The dump string comes off the center of the valve,then there is a velcro strip it can run through to keep it more to the right.It will hang in back of the right pocket two to three inches. You have to reach back to dump air.It has a plastic ball to grab. Hope this helps.
Does this bcd have trim pockets?
A shopper on Jul 18, 2019
BEST ANSWER: Hi There,

This BC does not have Trim weight pockets, but you can add weight pockets to the tank strap.

https://www.leisurepro.com/p-csbtwp/cressi-tank-strap-weight-pocket?origterm=tank+strap+weight+pockets&searchredirect=true
How Much Does the BCD weigh? I am looking at XS size but if anyone can post their size and weight of the BCD (eg. size M Weighs 5lbs 2oz) that would be amazing. I see this question has been asked before but the answer was only that they think it should weight under 5lbs, but it would be very helpful if someone cost post a true weight and size. Thank you in advance
A shopper on Dec 7, 2018
BEST ANSWER: Thank you for your question:

XS- 2.40 kg / 5.29 lb
S/ 2.50 kg / 5.51 lb
M 2.60 kg / 5.73 lb
L 2.70 kg / 5.95 lb
XL 2.80 kg / 6.17 lb

hope it helps
How does the genius BC unit compare with the cressi BC?
A shopper on Apr 6, 2017
BEST ANSWER: Not familiar with the genius BC. The Cressi BC I bought I used on one trip and found a long rip penetrating the air cell after unloading gear from a dive boat. Felt outer shell should have been sturdier and junked it and never bought another.
I am 6' tall with a 32 - 33 inch waist and weigh about 180 and am not sure what size I need because I seem to be between several of the size ranges?
A shopper on Aug 5, 2016
BEST ANSWER: This is now an old question, but for the benefit of others currently considering this, I'm thinking that a 'medium' might be best suited for a user of this size. I just received one of these in large, and I'm 5-11" and currently about 210 pounds with a 35" waist, and I've secured the straps and velcro cumberbund about as tightly as they'll go to get a decent fit. If i weighed 30 pounds less, like the guy asking the question, I'd probably be wishing I'd have gotten a medium.
I have all of my gear together and the tank is the last thing that I need. I am interested in these HP117s but I want to make sure they are compatable with my current gear. I have a cressi Start BCD, Atomic SS1 safe second, and an Aqua Lung Core Supreme Regulator.

Can anyone tell me if these are all compatible, and how I would go about hooking up the DIN tanks to a Yoke regulator? Thank you
A shopper on Jun 21, 2016
Cressi Start BCD
Cressi Start BCD
XS Scuba Faber High Pressure Steel Tank
XS Scuba Faber High Pressure Steel Tank
Atomic Safe Second Inflator (SS1), Titanium
Atomic Safe Second Inflator (SS1), Titanium
BEST ANSWER: I have one Steel 117 tank and I use the Atomic SS1 with a Zeagle BCD. I recommend that you purchase the tank with an XS Scuba pro valve which would allow you to use a Yolk first stage. You can unscrew the cap in the valve and convert the tank for DIN use. You could also look into obtaining an adaptor but I would go with a pro valve. Note that the 117’s have a thicker girth than an aluminum 80 so you will need to adjust the tank straps if you are switching between tank sizes. Other than that, you should not have a problem. I hope this helps.
XS Scuba Pro Valve
XS Scuba Pro Valve
the medium size takes 18 liter air bottle?
A shopper on May 4, 2014
BEST ANSWER: sorry don't know, we only use 80cu ft tanks
Does it have a loop strap to hook on the top of air tank?
A shopper on May 24, 2011
BEST ANSWER: Yes, there is a loop "tank saver" on the back of the BCD that slips over the neck of your cylinder.
Does this bc have pockets for weights?
A shopper on May 24, 2011
BEST ANSWER: No, the Cressi Start BCD does not have integrated weight pockets. Check out the Cressi Aquapro 5 or the Cressi Start Pro.
Does it have a carrying handle?
A shopper on May 24, 2011
BEST ANSWER: Yes, there is a rigid carry handle.
top