Top Rated Gear

Cressi Apache Spear Gun

4.6
10 reviews
Ratings Distribution

SKU: CSBCSA

List: $109.95

Your Price
$99.95

+ wishlist

  • Entry level, Small and compact design
  • For fishing in holes, around rocks, shallows
  • Closed muzzle for easy loading
  • Tahitian style tip flopper barb
  • Aluminum barrel, Ergonomic molded handle

In Stock Free Shipping

Cressi Apache Spear Gun Customer Reviews

Review Summary

 
4.6

(based on 10 reviews)

100%

of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Ratings Distribution

  • 5 Stars

     

    (6)

  • 4 Stars

     

    (4)

  • 3 Stars

     

    (0)

  • 2 Stars

     

    (0)

  • 1 Stars

     

    (0)

Most Liked Positive Review

 

Awesome Gun

I know it is very hard to find a review on this gun since it is so new, but I thought I would help you guys out. I bought the 75cm version and absolutely love it, I live in San Diego so the majority of spearing I do is relatively close to shore and in the kelp beds. The gun has about 7-9ft of range with the one band on it to make an effective kill, I would recommend adding another band though which will add power at those longer distances. It is very easy to control and move in the water as w...

View full Review

Reviewed by 10 customers

Sort by

Displaying reviews 1-10

Back to top

 

As advertised

By JASON M.

I bought this as an upgrade from a sling. its perfect for snorkeling reefs and has a solid 10 ft kill radius. I was impressed with the power of the single band. Would definitely recommend as entry level spear gun.

 

Compact great little gun

By MICHAEL K.

from Newburgh , IN, US

Great little spear gun. Compact. Only complaint is that it does not come with rigging instructions.

 

My first speargun. Couldn't ask for more.

By Bsnith

This is my first speargun. I purchased the 75cm gun. It is simple to operate with a simple and effective safety. Very accurate. It is fairly hard to load. I would recommend a loading pad for your chest. It is quite painful without one. So far I have speared mangrove snapper, spadefish, sheepshead, and lesser amberjack. I was able to hit them anywhere I wanted. Just point and shoot. Longest shot so far was about 6-7 ft and was no problem. Everything you need is in the box. Except crimps for the shooting line. The gun floats when the spear is not attached.

 

great great great buy

By powerful s.

it works great and was easy to figure out. i loved using the speargun.

 

Great product

By freedivescott

Great gun, shockline is a little long but that is easily remedied.

 

Awesome Gun

By Nolan

I know it is very hard to find a review on this gun since it is so new, but I thought I would help you guys out. I bought the 75cm version and absolutely love it, I live in San Diego so the majority of spearing I do is relatively close to shore and in the kelp beds. The gun has about 7-9ft of range with the one band on it to make an effective kill, I would recommend adding another band though which will add power at those longer distances. It is very easy to control and move in the water as well. Very sturdy but light gun, great for any beginner, and for that price you can't beat it.

 

Can't go wrong for the money

By Anthony R.

from Minneapolis, MN, US

This gun does not come with a shock cord or line. The line attaches to the butt-end of the shaft, so the best solution I found was a 2mm mono, looped and crimped to the shaft, with shock-line attached to the mussel. All said, tack on an extra $30-$40 dollars to the price for rigging. As far as performance, it might be a single-band, but it has true-aim and still has good power. It's probably best for smaller reef fish like snapper. If you shoot a decent sized grouper, aim well because a glancing shot might not penetrate far enough for the barb to go through, and no one wants to injure fish that aren't harvested. This would make a great 2nd gun for your float as well. It's light and positively buoyant. I was very happy with this as my intro-gun to spearfishing.

 

Reef and rock gun

By Papa

Good for close reef and rock formations. Hard hitting and extended flopper holds fish well.

 

Good reef and rock gun

By Papa

Fast,accurate,good for close reef work.

 

Good Starter Gun

By sawkamechanical

Good starter or occasional gun

Displaying reviews 1-10

Back to top

Questions & Answers

Start typing your question and we'll check if it was already asked and answered. Learn More
Browse 28 questions Browse 28 questions and 45 answers
Why did you choose this?
Leisure Pro Store
cause i want it
James S on Aug 31, 2019
reviews
Brian C on Apr 24, 2019
cause i want it
James S on Aug 31, 2019
twas good
Paul P on Jul 17, 2019
reviews
Brian C on Apr 24, 2019
Great price point. Found out shortly after buying it that there is no way to attach a reel. I ended up using a hose clamp and some neoprene to attach one and it has worked well.
MICAH B on Dec 24, 2014
To kill Lionfish
JOHN A on Nov 28, 2014
twas good
Paul P on Jul 17, 2019
Great price point. Found out shortly after buying it that there is no way to attach a reel. I ended up using a hose clamp and some neoprene to attach one and it has worked well.
MICAH B on Dec 24, 2014
Can you add more than too bands?
Is this a good beginner gun that can be upgraded?
A shopper on Mar 22, 2013
BEST ANSWER: The Cressi Apache Spear gun is a great beginner gun that will allow you to grab some small to medium sized fish with a reasonable cost to get started. As far as whether or not you can add another band, this spear gun body only has room for one band on the gun, however, the band that is included with the gun is a little weak and will only give you about 3 feet or so of reach with any power, so I would recommend grabbing a higher tension band to replace the factory band and that should provide a much better reach and more enjoyable experience due to more efficiency and flexibility.
What is the total length of the 60?
A shopper on Jan 5, 2015
BEST ANSWER: Gun 78 cm gun with shaft 105cm
What is the length of the spear that comes with the 45cm gun? I saw that the gun measures ~25" and that loaded it is around 33"...but if you remove the spear from the gun, what is the length of the spear alone? Inquiring for transportation purposes...
A shopper on Dec 8, 2014
BEST ANSWER: 30"
What size is the stock sling, I lost mine?
ed m on Aug 11, 2014
BEST ANSWER: This is the sling you need, http://www.leisurepro.com/p-cscba/cressi-circular-13mm-band-for-apache-gun.
Silly question , but it comes with a line on it right? So you don't lose the spear? Haha
A shopper on Dec 3, 2018
BEST ANSWER: Yes, it does come standard with the shaft tether. (not a silly question btw)
Does the spear itself (the tip?) come with the purchase of the gun
A shopper on Dec 2, 2012
BEST ANSWER: Yes, but there is no tip, just a normal spear and flopper.
It coming with the spear?
A shopper on Feb 15, 2019
BEST ANSWER: Yes, comes with the spear.
What length band does the Apache use?
Jeff on May 5, 2016
BEST ANSWER: Sorry I really couldn't say off the top of my head. I've only played with that a couple of times in the water. Seems to work well, but I have no practical experience with it to be honest.....
what is the length of the speargun ?
A shopper on Aug 31, 2014
BEST ANSWER: The gun is about 3 feet from the tip of the spear to the butt of the gun. I've had mine since last summer and
really enjoy the light weight and relatively small size for swimming in kelp beds here in Central California.
It seems a good price for such a good gun.
how do you add a second band?
A shopper on Mar 17, 2013
BEST ANSWER: It takes a lot of strength. Its really just a musle issue. Just need to stretch it until it can fit in the slot, the last one in is a bugger.
Can a second band be added?
A shopper on Mar 12, 2013
BEST ANSWER: Yes ,and a second band gives it more power and the shaft goes faster
Is the shaft for this threaded? Or is the point sharpended?
A shopper on Oct 30, 2011
BEST ANSWER: Its a sharpened tip,but there is no shock cord just line that you have to assemble yourself
need aline reel with fishing line ?
A shopper on Jul 29, 2019
BEST ANSWER: not unless you want it
What is the diameter for the muzzle of the Cressi Apache? Mine broke and I need a replacement.
Mac V on Jan 2, 2019
BEST ANSWER: Are you referring to the shaft diameter? It is 6.5mm.
how long is the shaft in the 60 cm speargun? I am asking for transportation purposes. I found the length of gun + shaft, but I want to know if the shaft itself would fit in my duffel bag.
A shopper on Nov 30, 2017
BEST ANSWER: The shaft for this gun is 36" long.
What is Cressi apache 45 total length?
Clayton X on Aug 30, 2017
BEST ANSWER: Hi Clayton,

The overall length of the gun with the shaft in the trigger mechanism is 32.5"
The length of the shaft is 27.75"
The length of the gun is 26.5"
What is the length of the barrel on the 75cm?
A shopper on Apr 30, 2016
BEST ANSWER: Hi There,

The barrel length is 70cm or 27inches.
Anyone know the details of the shaft? Looking to get a replacement/spare...also, a good place to get one?
Nathan S on Dec 23, 2014
BEST ANSWER: Style is Euro Mech. size is 6.5mm shaft. The length you will need is approximately 40cm longer than your gun size.
Is this a good gun for use in cold water off the Channel Islands? Can I catch halibut? What about calico bass? Can I attach a reel to this if so which reel would you recommend?
Daniel C on Jun 28, 2013
BEST ANSWER: It really depends on the size of the fish more than the temperature of the water. The larger the fish, the larger and more powerful gun you will need. This particular gun does not have a reel mount, but I believe a Cressi Comanche Speargun does, and the Cressi Fishing reel should fit it just fine.
The Apache 45 gun itself is 25" and the gun with spear loaded is 33" The Apache 60 gun itself is 30" and the gun with spear loaded is 39" The Apache 75 gun itself is 36" and the gun with spear loaded is 46" Since the gun is brand new, I do not have any performance info.

How do you know what size gun to get?? We are beginners and just staying in shallow water.

And in the questions it suggests getting another band other then the factory band; do we have a name or recomendation?? I have no idea what i'm looking for.

Just supporting a hobby,
thanks
Suggestions??
jamie s on Jun 12, 2013
BEST ANSWER: I like my gun, easy to use and compact. As for a size it, it depends what your after. The 60 is about right for most. The range is about 25 feet. My suggestion is the 60 and have someone set up the line.
What is the largest fish this gun can handle weight wise. I'm planning on using it on 15LB or under fish in about 10ft visability. Will this gun work?
Charles on Oct 29, 2012
BEST ANSWER: Yes it should work fine with a sharp tip and full draw tho catfish need to be close due to their thick skull works vey well overall
How does the length affect the guns overall performance?
A shopper on Jun 17, 2012
BEST ANSWER: I like it long, gives it more power and increases accuracy. Great buy!
what r the specifications on the gun?
A shopper on Jun 2, 2012
BEST ANSWER: New and easy to use gun for the beginner spear fisherman
Circular bands
Comfortable rubber loading pad
Ergonomic rubber hand grip
Sure lock saftey similar to the Comanche
Automatic line kepp

Includeas: Speargun, Shaft, Sling, Spearpoint , Shockline

This product has a limited warranty of 12 months.

Comes in Sizes: 45cm, 60cm, 75cm
What is exactly is the "Automatic Line Keep"? I can imagine what it means; however, I wish to know the physical mechanics behind it. And has anyone found this technology advantageous?

Many thanks in advance,
Stean
Stefan L on Feb 28, 2012
BEST ANSWER: The automatic line keep just keeps the line wrapped up around the shaft and the gun until you fire, when you fire the line releases. This is a standard feature that comes on all band style guns
Can you put a strongher band than the one giving?
A shopper on Feb 21, 2012
BEST ANSWER: well it will be until summer when it might be used to see how it will hold up in the water and in use, so far i have got not much to say on this ,
How long is the shockline on the 45cm?
A shopper on Aug 1, 2011
BEST ANSWER: Dont know have the 75cm im guessing the same over twice as long as the gun
What is the total length of this gun and how does it perform?
William C on Jul 13, 2011
BEST ANSWER: The Apache 45 gun itself is 25" and the gun with spear loaded is 33"
The Apache 60 gun itself is 30" and the gun with spear loaded is 39"
The Apache 75 gun itself is 36" and the gun with spear loaded is 46"

Since the gun is brand new, I do not have any performance info.
top