Buy the Kapitol Reef Snorkel on http://www.leisurepro.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Kapitol Reef Snorkel image
 
(based on 11 ratings)
Brand: Kapitol Reef
Located in: Essential Equipment, Snorkels
Kapitol Reef Snorkel

The world's first pressure-regulated snorkel.
This revolutionary dry snorkel uniquely regulates exhalation pressure and separates fresh ready-to-inhale air from exhaled carbon dioxide.

What's wrong with my regular snorkel?

Conventional snorkels simply do not facilitate normal human breathing in the pressurized underwater environment. The re-breathing ofexhaled carbon dioxide combined with water pressure against your chest wall creates what we call snorkel panic. As a result, inhalation muscles fatigue quickly, lung volumes decrease, and breathing patterns become erratic.

Why Kapitol Reef?

The Kapitol Reef snorkel cures snorkel panic and shallow breathing problems with the employment of Kadence Technology. This revolutionary science behind the Kapitol Reef snorkel provides support for your inhalation muscles, preserves lung volumes, restores a normal cadence to breathing and maximizes comfort and confidence by ensuring a fresh, dry breath every time.

Kapitol Reef Benefits

To create a truly innovative product, Kapitol Reef's team was forced to question some long-standing conventions and develop different, and ultimately better, components and technology. Here are some of the benefits that sets Kapitol Reef apart from others in the snorkeling industry:
- Regulates Exhalation Pressure
- Maintains lung volumes
- Separates inhaled air from exhaled carbon dioxide
- Stays amazingly dry
- Reduces snorkel panic
- Perfect for all experience levels and ages.

Click here to view the owner's manual.

Click here to view an animated presentation of Kadence Technology.
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
3.2 stars
(based on 11 reviews)
50% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Sizing:
Feels true to size(4)
Pros:
Comfortable mouthpiece(8), Ergonomic(6), Purge valve(4), Resistant to flooding(5)
Cons:
Difficult to purge water(5)
Best Uses:
Pool(6), Snorkeling(5), Spearfishing(3), Vacation(5)
Describe Yourself:
Recreational diver(6)
 
Great Snorkel!
By Jim the gearheadVerified Purchaser from Guilford Ct. on 4/6/2011
Sizing:
Feels true to size
Pros:
Comfortable Mouthpiece, Ergonomic Design, New air every breath, Resistant To Flooding
Cons:
Difficult To Purge Water
Best Uses:
Pool, Scuba Diving, Snorkeling, Spearfishing, Vacation
Describe Yourself:
Advanced
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kapitol Reef Kapitol Reef Snorkel:

I use the snorkel in the pool for fin training with the identified masks. The Kapitol Reef design is one that I had thought of thirty years ago but they actually did it, and it works! Due to the separate inhale and exhale passages, every breath is fresh air. Even with hard finning for 1/2 mile there is no sensation of air starvation. This feature alone makes the product worthwhile despite the need for double clearing if fully flooded.
I also use it scuba diving and consider it a piece of safety equipment. If you get stuck with a long surface swim with an empty tank it would be great to have.
I give them out as gifts.

 
Finally, a snorkel that works!
By Sara G.Verified Reviewer from Southern California on 3/1/2011
Pros:
Comfortable Mouthpiece, Ergonomic Design, Purge Valve, Resistant To Flooding
Best Uses:
Pool, Snorkeling, Vacation
Describe Yourself:
Advanced
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kapitol Reef Kapitol Reef Snorkel:

After years of being a great diver but a horrible snorkeler due to uncomfortable and flooded snorkels, I have finally found the snorkel that sets me free! Kapitol's unique design allows me to comfortably swim around with absolutely no worry of inhaling water. I cannot wait until I get to take this beauty to Aruba. An added bonus for those who enjoy being fashionable in the water is that Kapitol offers this snorkel in a variety of colors. I couldn't be happier with another snorkel.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
HORRIBLE!!
By jim from nc on 11/16/2009
Sizing:
Feels too large
Cons:
Causes Jaw Fatigue, Difficult To Purge Water, Floods Easily, Restricted Airflow
Best Uses:
None
Describe Yourself:
Advanced Diver
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kapitol Reef Kapitol Reef Snorkel:

this product will fatigue you in a matter of minutes. i do not recommend this to anyone.

[3 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Kapitol Reef Snorkel Disappointing
By JayVerified Purchaser from Atlanta, GA on 7/9/2009
Sizing:
Feels true to size
Pros:
Comfortable Mouthpiece, Ergonomic Design
Cons:
Difficult To Purge Water, Restricted Airflow
Describe Yourself:
Recreational Diver
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kapitol Reef Kapitol Reef Snorkel:

I bought the Kapitol Reef Snorkel based on the description and thought it would provide very free airflow, both exhaling AND inhaling. Wrong. It is a very hard pull to inhale, and besides it quickly develops a water rattling sound that is annoying.

The comfort level of this snorkel is excellent. The mouthpeice fits very well and does not require hard clamping down. The look is great, the color is great and the mask hasp works well. Although it only clears fairly easily, exhaling is easy. Unfortunately, the effort required to inhale negates all the positive features. It simply is a pain in the neck to deal with. Above water you cannot tell there's going to be trouble. Inhaling and exhaling are equally easy. Once submerged in a snorleling mode, however, you wonder what happened. The inhalation effort really limits your level of exertion so any real swimming is out of the question.

I'm really disappointed. This was an expensive snorkel, relative to other snorkels, and it does not deliver the advertised performance. I would not recommend the snorkel. I'm totally sorry I bought it.

[5 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

 
kapitol reef rocks my world
By scuba steveVerified Reviewer from columbus ohio on 4/28/2009
Sizing:
Feels true to size
Pros:
Comfortable Mouthpiece, Ergonomic Design, Purge Valve, Resistant To Flooding
Best Uses:
Pool, Snorkeling, Spearfishing, Vacation
Describe Yourself:
Recreational Diver

Comments about Kapitol Reef Kapitol Reef Snorkel:

I cannot believe how easy the kapitol reef snorkel is. I read the directions on how to use it and jumped in my pool and practiced for fifteen minutes and got the technique down to a science. Since my pool session i have taken it out to the local lake and have used the kapitol reef 4 times since and it keeps getting better every time. I love the new technology and highly recommend this product to every kind of diver. Give it a try and you will be on cloud 9 like me.

[5 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

 
A Pleasant Snorkeling Experience
By snorkelingfanVerified Reviewer from Las Vegas, Nevada on 3/29/2009
Pros:
Comfortable Mouthpiece, Dual Tube, easy breathing, Pressure Regulation
Cons:
Gurgle
Best Uses:
Pool, Snorkeling
Describe Yourself:
Recreational Diver
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kapitol Reef Kapitol Reef Snorkel:

I've read some of the reviews, and while I noticed that it gurgled, that was easily cleared by going under and clearing it on the way back up. I don;t know if that helps the others, but it was an easy fix. That issue was minor compared to the enjoyable experience that I had on my vacation both Hawaii and in Miami. I enjoy snorkeling, not so much diving, as I am able to enjoy the sport of snorkeling with my wife and kids. They all have one, and especially for the beginning / novice snorkel, there is not a better one on the market. the kids adapted to it more quickly that other snorkels, because it is more like normal breathing. It stays extremely dry, and provides for extended time in the water. The mouthpiece is comfortable, the dual tube is unique in that you don't re-breathe dirty air, and if you read the little manual that comes with it, the science behind the pressure regulator is fascinating. It actually balances against the negative pressure that the water places on your lungs. Leave it to a doctor to consider all these aspects. Seemed like he knew what he was talking about. So, in my opinion, if you want a great snorkeling experience, then this is the equipment you want. Even my wife had a nice experience, and normally I couldn't get her to use a snorkel because she was scared of inhaling water. Go figure, finally I knew what I was talking about:)

[3 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Product
By snorkel foxVerified Reviewer from Hatch, Utah on 12/11/2008
Sizing:
Feels true to size
Pros:
Comfortable Mouthpiece, Ergonomic Design, Purge Valve, Resistant To Flooding
Best Uses:
Pool, Snorkeling, Spearfishing, Vacation
Describe Yourself:
Recreational Diver
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kapitol Reef Kapitol Reef Snorkel:

This is a wonderful product for me I've used several different dry snorkels. I took the time and learned how to use it such as not blasting to clear it, I have had to explain this to sevral of my friends a few times before they got it but once they did they loved it. Deffinitly worth the money try it yourself[...]

[9 of 15 customers found this review helpful]

 
Forever blowing bubbles
By IwannasnorkelVerified Reviewer from Catskills, NY on 12/9/2008
Cons:
Bad Value, Expensive, Poor Engineering
Best Uses:
Blowing bubbles, New Year's noise maker
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kapitol Reef Kapitol Reef Snorkel:

Okay...here's the lowdown:
This snorkel is noisy. Other snorkels make noise. This one is only a little worse...not that bad really...as long as you keep it DRY on the inside. On the inhale...it's fine. No problem. On the exhale, your air opens a valve on the bottom so that it can exit up the center tube. Your exhale pressure opens that valve against simple air pressure when held out of the water...and against much greater water pressure when the bottom of the snorkel is in the water. So, when the snorkel is in the water, the valve doesn't open much unless you blow hard. Back to my comment about DRY. As long as the inside of this snorkel is dry...your air pushing open the valve and going out the exhaust tube...not that noisy. If it gets wet in there...different story! You can do your own little experiment to get an idea of the noise. Take a straw and a cup of water. Hold one end of the straw well above the water and blow into the other end...not much noise, right? Now hold the far tip of the straw just under the water and blow. Fun...maybe. Noise...up substantially. Get used to it if you use this snorkel. You can't really blow all the water out once it gets wet in there...at least not well enough to reduce the noise. Since the gap that opens between the exhaust tube and the valve when underwater is so small, it only takes a little water to make this snorkel noisy.

As for diving with the snorkel...it fills with water. The suggestion they give to blow air out on the way up is excellent...it works. If you don't do it and surface...you need to blow much harder to clear...or get a mouthful of water.

Other points: Superdry...this snorkel is not. Water can come over the top and get in...nothing to stop it. Also, no purge valve on the bottom. To blow water out, you have to blow it out the exhaust tube, which means out the top.

I use the Ocean Master 3D and the Mares Hydrex which I bought from Leisure Pro. I would recommend either over the Kapitol Reef. But if you plan on keeping this snorkel dry inside by not diving or using in rough conditions, it may work out for you.

[0 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Save your money
By Tony the anesthesiologistVerified Reviewer from Arizona on 7/18/2008
Sizing:
Feels too small
Pros:
Comfortable Mouthpiece
Cons:
Difficult To Purge Water
Best Uses:
Paper weight
Describe Yourself:
Advanced Diver
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kapitol Reef Kapitol Reef Snorkel:

Almost daily diving, Fatigue easily, difficulty purging exhalation tube, too much airway resistance on inhalation. I get better results from $20 snorkel from local dive shop. Don't waste your money on the hype, your life isn't worth gambling with this inferior snorkel.

[4 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

 
Gurgle, Gurgle, Gurgle - pause - Gurgle
By Sharkb8Verified Reviewer from Redondo Beach, CA on 6/16/2008
Sizing:
Feels too large
Cons:
Causes Jaw Fatigue, Difficult To Purge Water, Gurgles constantly
Best Uses:
Scaring away fish
Describe Yourself:
Recreational Diver
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kapitol Reef Kapitol Reef Snorkel:

I used the product on 5 snorkel sessions in ideal glassy conditions. Snorkel gurgled at lower valve constantly. Nothing would make it stop including purging, draining and starting over, following the directions in the instruction manual, nothing. Scared all wildlife away and drew comments from boaters moored 50 feet away. VP from company never resolved the issue, nor has he offered to refund my money. Do not waste your money.

[8 of 13 customers found this review helpful]

 
A Wonderful Snorkeling Experience
By Dexter RileyVerified Reviewer from Long Beach, CA on 4/11/2008
Pros:
Comfortable Mouthpiece, Ease of Breathing, Ergonomic Design, Purge Valve, Resistant To Flooding
Best Uses:
Pool, Scuba Diving, Vacation
Describe Yourself:
Recreational Diver
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kapitol Reef Kapitol Reef Snorkel:

Took these snorkels on vacation in on Grand Cayman. My whole family used them, ages range from 30+ down to 9 years old. We were able to snorkel for extended periods of time without the usual fatigue and anxiety that accompanies this sport. Truly the best dry snorkel. My wife enjoyed snorkeling for the first time!

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Leisure Pro All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.