Buy the Apeks XTX50 Regulator on http://www.leisurepro.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Apeks XTX50 Regulator image
 
(based on 12 ratings)
Brand: Apeks
Located in: Essential Equipment, Regulators
If you want a great regulator setup that won't break the bank, then look no further than the Apeks XTX50.

The Environmental Dry Sealing System will keep your regulator from icing up in cold water and will protect your regulator from the all-too-common silt buildup. In addition to being a great safety feature, the Environmental Dry Sealing System eliminates the need for using silicon and grease to keep your regulator in working order. Say goodbye to those messy lubricants when you bring home the XTX50.

Its over-balancing feature means you'll be breathing easy, even as the pressure around you changes as you increase or decrease your depth or as the pressure in your tank changes. This means you won't have to exert yourself in order to fill your lungs as your dive progresses.

Because the Apeks engineers wanted to give you as much control over your underwater breathing, they included the Diver Changeable Exhaust system. This feature allows you to switch between a large and small exhaust tee before your dive. The large tee disperses your bubbles more efficiently, but the small tee is lighter and more compact that its large counterpart. They also included a second stage that allows the diver to regulate the venturi flow. Finally, the medium pressure ports are 3/8-inch, which allows the 2nd stage to be mounted to either side of the 1st stage. These features are just another way of displaying how Apeks keeps the divers at the apex of their decision-making process.

Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.9 stars
(based on 12 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Adjustable(10), Comfortable(10), Effortless breathing(9), Nitrox compatible(8)
Best Uses:
Cold water(12), Extreme depths(6), Warm water(10)
Describe Yourself:
Advanced diver(6), Recreational diver(3)
Diving Type:
Drift diving(3), Night diving(4), Open water diving(6), Outdoor professional(3), Wreck diving(3)
 
Lives up to the hype.
By OregonDiver from Portland OR on 5/1/2010
Pros:
Adjustable, Comfortable, Effortless Breathing, Nitrox Compatible
Best Uses:
Cold Water, Extreme Depths, Warm Water
Describe Yourself:
Advanced
Diving Type:
Drift Diving, Night Diving, Open Water Diving
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Apeks Apeks XTX50 Regulator:

I own the TX50 (the prior generation), and have used it since 2001. I have used quite a few regulators (mostly rentals), and this one is by far the best I have ever used. Easy breathing in water from 44F-78F, and at depths up to 130ft. Mine has been absolutely trouble-free and I would certainly buy another if I ever needed one.

 
Best buy I've ever made.
By RN underwaterVerified Purchaser from Poor Knights, NZ on 2/19/2010
Pros:
Adjustable, Comfortable, Effortless Breathing, Nitrox Compatible
Best Uses:
Cold Water, Extreme Depths, Warm Water
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Diving Type:
Cave Diving, Drift Diving, Night Diving, Open Water Diving, Rescue Diving, Wreck Diving
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Apeks Apeks XTX50 Regulator:

I've only had it in the water a few dives but already this reg has me convinced I'm leaving my lungs at the surface! It's just so easy to draw breath, this is my first new primary for 10 years and I was sceptical considering all the hype surrounding Apeks gear but I've been converted. Amazing performance!

 
amazing reg
By spit-jVerified Reviewer from MI on 7/7/2009
Pros:
Adjustable, Comfortable, Effortless Breathing, Very lightweight
Best Uses:
Casual diving, Cold Water
Describe Yourself:
Recreational Diver
Diving Type:
Open Water Diving
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Apeks Apeks XTX50 Regulator:

i haven't used it much but it still works quite well

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good, but Oceanic Delta 4 is better
By BluegillVerified Reviewer from Michigan on 4/5/2009
Pros:
Adjustable
Best Uses:
Cold Water
Describe Yourself:
Advanced Diver
Diving Type:
Open Water Diving, Rescue Diving
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Apeks Apeks XTX50 Regulator:

I own the XTX 50 and the Delta 4. The Delta clearly outperforms - particularly in breathing resistance. I have dozens of dives on both to 100 feet plus in cold water. When diving with my son, he always takes the Delta. When diving without him, I always take the Delta. The Apex is a good reg, and the LDS insisted it would outperform the Delta, but that isn't the case. People that dive Apex will tell you I'm wrong. People that dive Apex and Oceanic are the only ones that can tell you if I'm right or wrong. I own both, so have no vested interest either way.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great breather at 100 plus
By KS DiverVerified Reviewer from Kansas on 11/15/2008
Pros:
Comfortable, Effortless Breathing, Nitrox Compatible
Best Uses:
Cold Water, Extreme Depths, Warm Water
Describe Yourself:
Advanced Diver
Diving Type:
Night Diving, Open Water Diving, Rescue Diving, Wreck Diving
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Apeks Apeks XTX50 Regulator:

This reg will out breath much more expensive rigs at depth every time. I have been diving this reg for over a year, 122 dives Could not ask for better performance.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Love this Reg!
By .Niky.Verified Reviewer from boston, MA on 8/24/2008
Pros:
Adjustable, Comfortable, Effortless Breathing
Best Uses:
Cold Water, Extreme Depths, Warm Water
Describe Yourself:
Recreational Diver
Diving Type:
Drift Diving, Night Diving, Open Water Diving, Wreck Diving
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Apeks Apeks XTX50 Regulator:

I love this reg. For the price this is the hands down best reg on the market. It is adjustable which i love as I dive all yearround from warmer water to cold water in the winter. This is excellent for keeping it from free flowing on the surface but once at depth its great to help with effortless breathing. I would buy this reg over and over again and wuold recommend it to anyone. Do yourself a favor and buy this reg!

[4 of 13 customers found this review helpful]

 
Best Regulator
By witold362Verified Purchaser from Torrington CT. on 5/18/2008
Pros:
Effortless Breathing
Cons:
none found
Best Uses:
Cold Water, Extreme Depths, Warm Water
Describe Yourself:
Advanced Diver
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Apeks Apeks XTX50 Regulator:

High performance regulators open big, and expect the tank to fill your longs. Most valves and manifolds today have ridiculoulsly small air channels to prevent rapid air loss, in that manner protecting the diver who is assummed not to be smart. Apex 50 seems to have internal space, and I can hear it chrge its reservoir as I exhale. I understand that Apex 100 and 200 have enlarged airways and lesser assistance, for more stability on dives to 150+. You have to give those some depth, they say. My experience with Apex 200 shows that it needs a lot of depth, than it opens big and hopes for the best. I think that Apex 200 is the best regulator for people who need it. My Apex 200 was just to much gun and it went to Ebay. Zeagle Tech 50D (Apex50) I will always keep. For almost all divers anyware in the world, I find Apex XTX50 as the best regulator available today.

Images shared by: witold362

Image Thumbnail
 
Superior regulator
By justmeVerified Purchaser from Ontario, Canada on 5/14/2008
Pros:
Adjustable, Comfortable, Effortless Breathing, Nitrox Compatible
Cons:
None I've found
Best Uses:
Cold Water, Warm Water
Describe Yourself:
Advanced Diver
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Apeks Apeks XTX50 Regulator:

This a truly superior regulator at a more than reasonable price.

 
The Perfect Regulator
By ScubaKeith from Marlborough, CT on 2/28/2008
Pros:
Adjustable, Comfortable, Effortless Breathing, Nitrox Compatible
Cons:
None
Best Uses:
Cold Water, Extreme Depths, Warm Water
Describe Yourself:
Recreational Diver
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Apeks Apeks XTX50 Regulator:

Adjusts easily for effortless breathing. LOVE IT!

 
Another great Reg from Apeks
By DMITVerified Purchaser from Bethesda, MD on 2/19/2008
Pros:
Adjustable, Comfortable, Easy setup, Effortless Breathing, Nitrox Compatible
Best Uses:
Cold Water, Warm Water
Describe Yourself:
Divemaster
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Apeks Apeks XTX50 Regulator:

Great product for the price. Sure there are cheaper regulators, but I highly suggest this one as a balance between inexpensive and overly expensive.

 
Nice regulator!!!
By RIdiverVerified Purchaser from Ontario, Canada on 10/10/2007
Pros:
Adjustable, Comfortable, Nitrox Compatible
Best Uses:
Cold Water, Recreation, Warm Water
Describe Yourself:
Advanced Diver
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Apeks Apeks XTX50 Regulator:

This reg appears to live up to the hype that Apeks regs receive. It's a wonderful and easy breather.

 
Best regulator on the market!
By eng8captVerified Reviewer from Archdale NC on 10/10/2007
Pros:
Adjustable, Comfortable, Nitrox Compatible
Cons:
No Down SIde
Best Uses:
Cold Water, Professional, Recreation, Warm Water
Describe Yourself:
Advanced Diver
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Apeks Apeks XTX50 Regulator:

This is an outstanding product. This regulator almost breaths for you.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Leisure Pro All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.