Buy the Mares Morphous Pro Airtrim BCD with MRS Weight Pockets, Black on http://www.leisurepro.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Mares Morphous Pro Airtrim BCD with MRS Weight Pockets, Black image
 
(based on 25 ratings)
Brand: Mares
Located in: Essential Equipment, Buoyancy Compensators
The most important revolution in the design of buoyancy compensators since the introduction of the jacket style BC, Morphos is a convergence of technology that offers maximum freedom of movement and unparalleled comfort, the supporting structure is independent of the buoyancy bag, which, thanks to its unique shape, allows for an optimum distribution of air and supports divers on the surface as comfortably as in their living room armchairs, all of which folds into a compact, lightweight "cocoon".
The pro is the evolution of the Morphos concept in a single-bladder BC.
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.3 stars
(based on 25 reviews)
96% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Comfortable(20), Durable(16), Easily adjustable(18), Lots of features(20)
Best Uses:
Cold water(11), Professional(5), Recreation(19), Warm water(14)
Describe Yourself:
Advanced diver(11), Divemaster(3), Recreational diver(10)
Diving Type:
Open water diving(3)
 
Good
By pooohyoVerified Purchaser from Arcadia CA on 3/9/2009
Pros:
Comfortable, Easy to use
Best Uses:
Recreation
Describe Yourself:
Recreational Diver
Diving Type:
Open Water Diving
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Mares Mares Morphous Pro Airtrim BCD with MRS Weight Pockets, Black:

Very Nice and Easy to Use.

 
Great BC and there is a story
By MerovechVerified Reviewer from Santa Barbara, CA on 10/1/2008
Pros:
Easy to use, Good Value, High Quality
Best Uses:
Fresh water, Low profile entrance, Salt water
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Mares Mares Morphous Pro Airtrim BCD with MRS Weight Pockets, Black:

Awesome product, AirTrim is very convenient and here is a little story: I bought this BC from leisurepro, use 8-10 times, 3 months ago noticed a leak from the valve. Mares after holding it for 2 months (buuuu) couldn't service it so they replaced it for a new dragon/at, sweeeet. Mares rules, leisurepro good stuff for low price,[...]

 
Good product!
By LehaVerified Reviewer from Sydney. Aus on 9/7/2008
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Easily Adjustable, Lots Of Features
Best Uses:
Cold Water, Extreme Depths, Recreation
Describe Yourself:
Advanced Diver
Diving Type:
Cave Diving, Night Diving, Open Water Diving, Wreck Diving
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Mares Mares Morphous Pro Airtrim BCD with MRS Weight Pockets, Black:

Overall it's a great unit. Back pockets are there for you to balance weight however you want. Only thing they are a bit hard to access (to adjust weights BCD has to come off) and Main MRS pockets have the guide slides. I seem never can get them in if I already put BCD on.
Otherwise it is a great BC. Big pockets lots of D-rings to hang everything you want to take down with you.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
great BCD
By The KingVerified Purchaser from Rehoboth Beach, DE on 8/1/2008
Pros:
Comfortable
Best Uses:
Recreation, Warm Water
Describe Yourself:
Recreational Diver
Diving Type:
Open Water Diving
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Mares Mares Morphous Pro Airtrim BCD with MRS Weight Pockets, Black:

I bought this BCD to do my DMT in Thailand, and I have to say that I could not have made a better choice. It was my first back inflation BCD so I had my doubts about sitting face down on the surface, but as long as you put weights in the back pockets (yes there are back pockets contrary to what some people say) you are fine. I actually ended up floating on my back with the vest fully inflated. the pockets are not huge but they are easily accessible, and all of the straps are easy to reach as well. Now to the main reason I bought this BCD. It is a travel BCD with no compromises. Its comfortable thanks to all of the back padding and the whole thing zips up into its self forming a compact and easy to carry cocoon. Lastly a little info for those thinking about taking the leap to airtrim. First of all its convenient. I have had moments with other BCDs where I'm about to hit coral and I am frantically searching above my head for my inflater hose. Well, airtrim eliminates this problem by keeping everything in one place. Both buttons are big and easy to find and after about five dives everything just becomes second nature. Now, my one little gripe about the airtrim, and the whole BCD, is the air dump. when you push the airtrim button the air dumps out of the BCD really fast. This can be controlled a little better by quickly tapping the button but I think mares could have designed this part a little better. Bear in mind though this is just one small thing that is a slight inconvenience on something that makes diving much easier. Overall if you are a diver that is going to be moving around and is looking for more mobility up front and eliminating any air bladder squeeze than the Mares Morphous Pro is definitely something to look at.

 
good idea
By nina18509Verified Purchaser from scranton on 6/2/2008
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Easily Adjustable, Lots Of Features
Best Uses:
Cold Water, Recreation, Warm Water
Describe Yourself:
Advanced Diver
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Mares Mares Morphous Pro Airtrim BCD with MRS Weight Pockets, Black:

bought this for my 13yr old nephew.easy to use. impressed with quality.

 
Great BC. Would recommend to anyone
By bailsVerified Reviewer from Brisbane, Australia on 5/18/2008
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Easily Adjustable, Lots Of Features
Best Uses:
Professional, Recreation, Warm Water
Describe Yourself:
Advanced Diver
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Mares Mares Morphous Pro Airtrim BCD with MRS Weight Pockets, Black:

I bort this BC about 2 years ago. Have made about 35 dives with it now from the Barrier reef to Hawaii. Was funny to get used to at the start but now I think its one of the best BC's on the market and would recommend it to anyone. Very easy to travel with as its light and zips up into a cacoon

 
Nice BC
By kanoVerified Purchaser from Carbondale, Colorado on 5/14/2008
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Easily Adjustable, Lots Of Features
Best Uses:
Cold Water, Recreation, Warm Water
Describe Yourself:
Advanced Diver
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Mares Mares Morphous Pro Airtrim BCD with MRS Weight Pockets, Black:

All claimed I have found to be true. However I like a little more streamline in the water. I am very thin and find this BC to be more bulky then I was hoping. Larger people would probably not notice.

 
on your own?
By al palVerified Purchaser from Melbourne, Austalia on 4/24/2008
Pros:
Lots Of Features
Cons:
Does Not Work Well
Best Uses:
Cold Water
Describe Yourself:
Beginner
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Mares Mares Morphous Pro Airtrim BCD with MRS Weight Pockets, Black:

Will your buddy be able to help? Only if he also has one. Despite the Air Trim, I still use the manual dump valve to descend quickly. There is no fast ascent either(just in case). It does admit water into the bladder. The belt goes over my stomach casing some breathing restriction. While I wont throw it away I'll buy a more conventional jacket next time.

 
Takes some getting used to but otherwise
By LarryVerified Reviewer from Davenport, FL on 2/3/2008
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Easily Adjustable, Lots Of Features
Best Uses:
Recreation
Describe Yourself:
Divemaster
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Mares Mares Morphous Pro Airtrim BCD with MRS Weight Pockets, Black:

Bought this as a backup BCD, however, use it now as a primary. Agree with other reviews to use back weight pockets helping stability of unit. Love how is packs small.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Take the elavator down
By Lobster King from Boston Ma BRRRRRRRRRRR! on 12/25/2007
Pros:
Comfortable, Cutting edge, Durable, Easily Adjustable, Lots Of Features
Cons:
Weight system
Best Uses:
Cold Water, Extreme Depths, Professional, Recreation, Warm Water
Describe Yourself:
Divemaster
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Mares Mares Morphous Pro Airtrim BCD with MRS Weight Pockets, Black:

I loved this BC out of the box. I use a weight belt instead of the integrated system. The system works but a belt gives me more control and easier dumping if necessary. I'm old school but love the up and down button. Everyone that sees it work wants one too.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Enjoy the Ride *Amended*
By Alex A.Verified Reviewer from NYC, NY on 12/4/2007
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Easily Adjustable, Lots Of Features
Best Uses:
Recreation, Warm Water
Describe Yourself:
Advanced Diver

Comments about Mares Mares Morphous Pro Airtrim BCD with MRS Weight Pockets, Black:

After Logging over 100+ Dives with the BC I decided to come back to the site to see how others liked it and noticed that many are saying this BC does not have back mounted weight pockets, which it does, however, they are not too easy to find, it took me more than 20 of those dives to find them myself. They are small and on the back, on both sides (Under the back plate), but I would recommend using the larger of your weights in those as they will not hold a 3 lbs or less too snug. 4 Lbs or more will fit perfectly. You can tighten the pocket with either the strap the older ones came with or the Velcro mine came with, but by looking carefully both models have the back-mounted weight pockets available, which greatly helps reduce the awkward position of the front integrated. Still I love the BC!

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great product I would buy again.
By PIR8Verified Purchaser from North Carolina on 11/8/2007
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Easily Adjustable, Lots Of Features
Best Uses:
Cold Water, Professional, Recreation, Warm Water
Describe Yourself:
Recreational Diver
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Mares Mares Morphous Pro Airtrim BCD with MRS Weight Pockets, Black:

This item has lots of great features.

[1 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Nothing special...
By MJRVerified Purchaser from MGA on 10/29/2007
Pros:
Durable
Best Uses:
Recreation
Describe Yourself:
Advanced Diver

Comments about Mares Mares Morphous Pro Airtrim BCD with MRS Weight Pockets, Black:

It works just like any other BC, but it doesnt have the option to put weight on the back of it. Since it is integrated you would have all the weight on the front of the BC, and it will pull you forward when you are in the surface. So, you would have to fight all the time against it, to have you head off the water when you are in the surface.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
comfortable but bulky
By Chuck the old guyVerified Reviewer from St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands on 10/10/2007
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Lots Of Features
Cons:
Bulky
Best Uses:
Cold Water, Warm Water
Describe Yourself:
Divemaster
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Mares Mares Morphous Pro Airtrim BCD with MRS Weight Pockets, Black:

My wife bought this for me for Christmas. The weight system is excellent but not mainstream. It is important to add weight in the back inside pockets to maintain good balance. It adds some warmth in cold water and is comfortable in warm water. The airtrim system takes some getting used to and the bulk will change your bouyancy. Not good when working with student/novice divers because the inflator/deflator is not mainstream, YET.

 
Great BC, easy to use and Durable
By AdrianVerified Purchaser from Cambridge, MA on 10/10/2007
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Easily Adjustable, Lots Of Features
Best Uses:
Cold Water, Professional, Recreation, Warm Water
Describe Yourself:
Advanced Diver, Recreational Diver
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Mares Mares Morphous Pro Airtrim BCD with MRS Weight Pockets, Black:

Great B.C.

 
Great BC
By DerfVerified Purchaser from North Carolina on 10/10/2007
Pros:
Comfortable, Easily Adjustable, Lots Of Features, Self contained travel bag
Cons:
Can't use bc hose octopus, Had to download manual
Best Uses:
Recreation
Describe Yourself:
Over 1000 dives, Recreational Diver
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Mares Mares Morphous Pro Airtrim BCD with MRS Weight Pockets, Black:

This is a great BC. Easy to use with quick on and off. Lots of integrated weight capacity. Very streamlined. My unit came without literature or a warranty card except the sellers (gray market?
I had to download and print the manual off the internet at Mares website. Only minus is I can't use my BC hose mounted octopus regulator and needed to go back to a regular hose mounted octopus.

 
Excellent BC, only minor annoyances
By toadfishVerified Purchaser from Myrtle Beach, SC on 9/27/2007
Pros:
Easily Adjustable, Lots Of Features, Trim control
Cons:
Comfort
Best Uses:
Recreation, Warm Water
Describe Yourself:
Recreational Diver
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Mares Mares Morphous Pro Airtrim BCD with MRS Weight Pockets, Black:

Only negative is comfort. The edging at the shoulders/collar rub roughly against my neck. after a week of diving 15-25 dives, it gets pretty irritating.

 
overall sweet.
By KanoVerified Purchaser from Carbondale, Colorado on 9/25/2007
Pros:
Durable, Easily Adjustable, Lots Of Features
Cons:
Too bulky
Best Uses:
Professional, Recreation, Warm Water
Describe Yourself:
Advanced Diver
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Mares Mares Morphous Pro Airtrim BCD with MRS Weight Pockets, Black:

works great but just not streamline enough. The waste belt is up around the belly and is sized for the BIG man. I would refer it too a friend with a few insightful words.

 
Great Performance/Small Package
By MikeVerified Purchaser from Vermont/Florida on 9/25/2007
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Easily Adjustable, Lots Of Features, Small packagetravel
Cons:
Hard To Adjust, Tighter chest adjustments
Best Uses:
Cold Water, Ease of travel, Recreation, Warm Water
Describe Yourself:
Moving up, Recreational Diver
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Mares Mares Morphous Pro Airtrim BCD with MRS Weight Pockets, Black:

Would like easier adjustments for chest tightness. Make sure you fill the back weight pockets. Liked so much I bought one for my son

 
The best BCD!
By HawkingVerified Purchaser from Sweden on 9/21/2007
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Easily Adjustable
Best Uses:
Cold Water, Warm Water
Describe Yourself:
Recreational Diver
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Mares Mares Morphous Pro Airtrim BCD with MRS Weight Pockets, Black:

I have only tried it once i Philippines and it was the best BCD I ever had.

 
Mares Morphous BCD
By John G.Verified Purchaser from Seattle, WA on 9/20/2007
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Easily Adjustable, Lots Of Features
Best Uses:
Cold Water, Recreation
Describe Yourself:
Advanced Diver, Recreational Diver
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Mares Mares Morphous Pro Airtrim BCD with MRS Weight Pockets, Black:

Overall this BCD is very comfortable and stows away easily. [...]

 
Tring something new
By RobboVerified Purchaser from Melbourne Australia on 9/12/2007
Pros:
Comfortable, Lots Of Features
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Mares Mares Morphous Pro Airtrim BCD with MRS Weight Pockets, Black:

Took a few dives to get use to where to add and purge air . But once I got use to it I found it easier to handle than the older styles. [...]

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Mostly Great
By Harliquin74Verified Purchaser from Signal Hill, CA on 7/31/2007
Pros:
Comfortable, Easily Adjustable, Lots Of Features
Describe Yourself:
Recreational Diver
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Mares Mares Morphous Pro Airtrim BCD with MRS Weight Pockets, Black:

The only problem I have with this BC is that the valve used by the Airtrim control is not both of the top valves and as such you occationaly have to use the purge cord to release all the air in the unit. Other than that the unit is well ballanced and in my opinion works very well.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Enjoy thr Ride
By Alex A.Verified Reviewer from Down the block from the showroom on 7/18/2007
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Easily Adjustable, Lots Of Features
Best Uses:
Recreation, Warm Water
Describe Yourself:
Advanced Diver
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Mares Mares Morphous Pro Airtrim BCD with MRS Weight Pockets, Black:

I have never dived with a design that was so user-friendly. It may take some getting accustomed to at first, but that comes very easily and quickly. Keeps you perfectly buoyant under water while facing either upright (looking to the surface) or down in a head first, neutrally buoyant position. Works great on the surface and under water. Once ready to go down - all you have to do is press the yellow lever with your index or ring finger or pull one of the manual deflate cords on either the top front or lower back (right side) and enjoy the ride.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
You can't go wrong!
By SoCalDiver43Verified Reviewer from Santa Barbara, CA on 5/2/2007
Pros:
Comfortable, Easily Adjustable, Lots Of Features
Best Uses:
Recreation
Describe Yourself:
Advanced Diver
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Mares Mares Morphous Pro Airtrim BCD with MRS Weight Pockets, Black:

I have been diving for the past five years and in that time i have used several bcd's. however after buying this one diving has never been so comfortable. The bc keeps your body perfectly boyant in the water and is adjustable to a perfect fit. The airtrim system kept me hesitant at first but after diving it for the past six months I have come to love it. No more grabbing around trying to find an inflator hose cause its always in the same spot no matter how your positioned. Absolutely love this bc and the price is even better.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Leisure Pro All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.